Lamar University Employee Reviews

Showing all 106 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 16, 2016
Graduate Assistant (IT services), Lamar University
• Supported professors in updating the college database.
• Creation of users and granting the users required privileges
• Troubleshooted software installations for students and resolved hardware related issues.
• Assisted undergraduate students in computer labs on LINUX environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working and Education Together
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXAugust 25, 2016
Lamar is a great place to work which allows people to work and learn all at the same time. The people are great and care about your advancement and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only worked for 5 months, but was a great time
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXAugust 7, 2016
only worked for 5 months, but was a great time. Short time working for the university, but I went great. I enjoyed my time being there. Time was flexible and professor I worked for was a great guy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for entry-level work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXAugust 4, 2016
There are opportunities to learn something new here. I worked with several technologies that I had never been introduced to before. Management is OK. Excellent chance to work on customer support. The work can be fast paced. Night shifts can be very quiet if you do not mind mostly working by yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative environment that promotes student design experience.
Water/Wastewater Treatment Term Project (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 5, 2016
Enriching experience for any engineering student to be involved in completion of Student Government Association funded projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Texas job
Secretary in each Department (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 28, 2016
Part-time to start then advanced to full time
Benefits started first day of employment
Holidays off from Christmas till New Years
Salary not that great.
Cons
Had to pay to park to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Administrative Associate Senior (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 22, 2016
Really enjoy my coworkers and the students here. Relaxed environment. There is a twenty words minimum for this review and this website is forcing me to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience to work with people.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 14, 2016
Everyday is a great chance to work and be a useful resource of the team. Environment is so friendly staff are so encouraging teaching every individual laying their paths for future . Co-workers are good and management of stress and other works was always made easy and learning new ways of management in job. The staff and co-workers were encouraging and never made us imagine how hard the job was and almost every part was enjoyable during the working period.
Pros
Caring staff
Cons
Nothing .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience..
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 20, 2016
It was great experience..Nice atmosphere and nice facilities...
Many things to learn and many other advantages also..

Thank You.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 12, 2016
Happy to assist students with their lab work. Sometimes there will be long experiments to complete at work place and assisting students to get proper results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time work
Student Records Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 20, 2016
worked here part time right after high school and wasn't here long enough to form any strong opinions one way or the other
Pros
good pay easy work
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Blackboard Technician (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 20, 2016
When working for Lamar full time one receives great benefits. Don't expect a raise or any promotions, also you will be underpaid.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Financial Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 15, 2016
They work around my schedule, making it super efficient for me since i have another job and school. Also the pay is very good! and I love my job here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing workplace filled with youthful members.
Corporal (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 3, 2016
Lamar University Police Department is a great place to work for a young, new police officer who is leaning in the direction of becoming a great police officer in his/her mere future. The management/supervising core is extremely young, therefore, it takes some time to get used to this form of environment.
Pros
One can quickly move into supervising fairly quickly.
Cons
It is tough to find time to spend away from work and with family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy enviroment to work in
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 1, 2016
I enjoyed helping people. Learned things that were possible be the best at my job in processing payroll and wage garnishes. Was a team player.
Pros
Free to work independantly
Cons
rules were bent to many times pertaining to department deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and experienced professors
Senior Solar Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 29, 2016
A unique and friendly atmosphere. Full array of tools. Great environment and location. Very experienced scholars. Diversified group and very dynamic activities along the year.
Pros
Availability of ALL development tools
Cons
More technical Labs needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great platform to serve yourself as a teaching assistant
Graduate Assistant, Computer Science Department (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 9, 2016
Feeling really good that me being student, I am able to help other students in their homework assignments, lab tutorials and even in their project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new every day.
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 7, 2016
Here at Lamar University, I am working as a Graduate Research Assistant under Dr. Stefan Andrei.

I am working on a Virtual Campus Tour within a team of 8 people, using Unity Technology and C# as backend scripting language.

Everyday is fun-filled with the team as we have to learn something new each and every day about Unity technology. It is very vast.

Being the oldest in the team, I have taken some responsibilities to resolve the issues and also resolving day to day problems faced by team. I try to manage the work process by distributing the work as per their efficiency and knowledge.

I got to work with some good and very well cultured & behaved people. Trying to develop the team-work in such a way that will not lead to at least a deadlock.
Pros
Awesome Exposure
Cons
Vast variety of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting students in Mathematics is fun
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Texas City, TXFebruary 17, 2016
I work as a teaching and student assistant in department of college readiness .My job is to help students solve problems related to Pre Algebra,Intermediate Algebra ,College Algebra and Pre-Calculus.
Work atmosphere is really fun for someone like me who loves to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with students n learning new laboratory skills n practical everytime
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 27, 2016
It was very great experienced working in laboratory in my department every-time learning new lab skills from students and professors .i was able to work on time so i learned a lot new things from my lab manager and teachers.my co-workers are very good in co-operative nature.sometimes learning new equipment is very hardest part for me .The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new apparatus n equipment and also learning new skills from teachers.
Pros
free lunche n coffee
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lamar University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 106 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2

Lamar University Reviews by Location