Find companies:
Lamps Plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Lamps Plus Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive yet very fun
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee), Plano, TXFebruary 24, 2014
A typical day at work consist of me clocking in at 7:30 on truck days which are Tuesdays and Thursday. Once I am clocked in I scale the stockroom aisles to make sure we have enough room to bring in the stock off the truck. Once that is completed we move forward to unloading the truck which usually takes about a hour or so depending on how big the truck – more... is. Once the truck is completely unloaded stock has been put on the aisles and special order is ready to be put up as well. Depending on who is there sometimes i have to check in the truck and the special order. Once everything is checked in we continue on by putting the stock up and the special order in the designated areas. During this time i am also being called to do carry outs for customers, carry ins, take fixtures down off the floor, pull orders off the shelf, pull stock from different aisles for customers in store, wrap items, fix items that are defected, and deal with returns from customers. At the end of the day trash is done then I lock the door and hit the lights and that is a typical days at Lamps Plus. My co workers are great when I first started I was not trained on anything but do to my quick learning ability i caught on quickly instantly becoming the favorite "stocker" if you will. Hardest thing about my job is the pay as a young man who goes to school i feel as if I should be rewarded for the job I do. The pay I make is barely enough so I need a job that pays more and a job that will allow me to advance as my skills do. Management is surely a team I will never forget all smiles Greg and Stephanie are two of the best. The most enjoyable part about my job is for sure my co workers and the smiles i put on my customers face. I love making people smile so countless times I go out of my way to make that happen. A satisfied customer is a returning customer and that is key in customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours, friendly envirement
LIGHTING CONSULTANT (Former Employee), West Covina, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: great commision based pay
Cons: short breaks
greeted customers, introduced my self and volunteered my services. sales, upselling and set up delivery and installation. made follow up phone calls to invite customers to come back to store to sell more items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Installer/Stocker/Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Plano, TXSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: free lunch on saturdays, bingo games cash winnings
Cons: short lunch
Excellent place to work for, ups and downs just like anywhere.
Management really easy going enjoyable to be around at work not a lot of pressure do your job and get a lot of respect.

If all employment was like this you would not have unemployment issues in the world.

Learned good bit while I was there installing light fixtures and balancing ceiling – more... fans, Making deliveries to custom home builders and contractors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting place for sales training
Bookkeeper/Cashier (PT) (Former Employee), Oceanside, CAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: training for sales
Cons: management
Open the store, turn off alarm, open registers and balance. Prepare back deposit(s) Complete payroll every two weeks. Contact customers on their orders, cashier, assist on the sales floor, and the store manager. I learned retail, sales, and electrical components, lighting, fans, and the difference between bulbs ans shades. Management the bottom line. – more... Co-workers worked hard and to learn to move on to bigger places.The hardest part of the job was to make a change for a better place. I enjoyed learning, training, and the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Employee (Current Employee), Chatsworth, CAAugust 12, 2013
My boss is great. He let's me work outside of my department on special projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides good sales experience
Assistant Manager II (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 27, 2013
Pros: positive management, challenging situations
Cons: heavy time constraints, multiple projects can almost be overbearing at times
Commission based sales. Pay widely varies from check to check. Overall good people to work with and management works to provide a positive work experience. Very deadline oriented when it comes to providing customers with product on time. Logistics weigh heavily on keeping the customers happy. Multi-tasking is A MUST!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent experience
Management / Sales Training / Builder Sales (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJune 15, 2013
excellent training.
great opportunity
learned all aspects of light8ng industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a great group of people in my department. It has been a great training ground and the people who work there are wonderful.
Writer/Editor/Camera Operator (Current Employee), Chatsworth, CAJune 14, 2013
Pros: great holiday parties.
Cons: the subject matter of the projects i worked on was very dry.
I worked 8am to 4:30pm everyday. I learned how to use Final Cut Pro and how to operate a Panasonic HVX-200 camera. My co-workers were great and always helpful. The hardest part of the job was meeting our weekly deadlines when we were behind on a video project. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to exercise my camera and editing skills and – more... see them develop over time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company, intelligently operated, Job Security
Remote Sales Agent (Current Employee), Chatsworth, CAMay 17, 2013
Pros: stable workplace, compensation is decent in sales (those who work hard make sales), corporate environment is not stressful, good people, lp website is award winning, i actually like my hmo
Cons: chatsworth ugh, owner is a bit unfriendly and socially maladjusted, the coffee makes you want to quit drinking coffee
Days are comfortable, was trained in several areas that I had no prior experience in, quite a lot of managers (some work hard, others lazy), hardest part, sitting in an office with bad lighting (lighting company), I truly enjoy the people I work with. Very down to earth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun co-workers, enjoyable work place
Display Supervisor (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 28, 2013
Pros: laid back environment
Cons: pay could be a bit more for experienced employees
assemble display merchandise, create displays, train assistant, track merchandise stock levels, difficult some days to accomplish goals with lack of sales people on floor to help customers, fun co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best!!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chandler AzApril 16, 2013
Pros: not many
Cons: way many
Commission based....very iffy income. Lots of internal BS...find somewhere else to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, intense work atmosphere.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Northridge, CAApril 1, 2013
lamps plus is a very fun, intense place to work, i enjoyed helping customers add, change, and locate their orders through tracking, making sure their products are available in stock and ready to ship, i really enjoyed working for the managers and supervisors during the time i was employed by lamps plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
put go backs in the corect place. bring in the shopping carts and restock the the shelfs.
Order Clerk (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAFebruary 5, 2013
clean up the the shelves. help customers find what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with.
Stock and Inventory (Current Employee), San DiegoJanuary 16, 2013
Good people to work with.
Enjoyed working with the public.
Looking for more pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lighting design
Lighting Designer (Former Employee), Glendale, CADecember 10, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
working as light designer and retail services. customer services and . Opening creditor for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lamps plus Redlands distribution center is an okay job
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee), Redlands, CANovember 8, 2012
Pros: day goes by fast
Cons: alot of changes all the time and possible employee cuts
The management and supervision team have been working with each other for a long time so they support each other 120% no matter if they are wrong or right. For example, if a supervisor does not have any civic skills or interpersonal skills they will send him or her for training over and over again. In the meantime, employees work environment is very – more... hostile and uncomfortable but not enough for an official complain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mostly worked remotely - good people to work with
SEO Manager (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 15, 2012
Commercial and residential lighting fixture manufactures and retailer
- best company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Lighting Specialist, Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fair Oaks, CAOctober 9, 2012
Pros: family working environment
Cons: commission
I like working here but I feel pressured to be something I'm not and to act a certain way. The training is not good and I am expected to sell on the floor with little product knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous change of product and assortment, a great place to work for 21 years
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Rafael, CASeptember 6, 2012
Pros: very professional support from the corporate office, from loss prevention to computer support.
Cons: retail sales, being tied to the economy, made for tense times more and more as spending got less exuberant.
Each day had a different focus. Monday I worked the bookkeeping for the weekend. Tuesday needed computer input. Wednesday I prepared special order paperwork for Thursday's truck. Thursday the customers needed to be called and any orders that didn't come were investigated. Friday was given to filing. Amid these duties were the phones, handling customer – more... problems, sales floor help and general managerial assistance.

There were many types of business machines I learned over the years. I also learned my own ability to appease the most irate customer.

There were many managers over the years, all of whom gave me great reviews. Due to the corporate insistance on Equal Opportunity, the co-workers were an interesting mix of nationalities, which gave Lamps Plus a very good rapport with vast swathes of the buying public and a very interesting group of people with whom to interact.

The hardest part of the job was having my position eliminated after 21 years.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to offer the health benefits to my very ill husband, who was kept alive due to constant health care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and numbers driven!
Manager (Former Employee), Oceanside, CAAugust 28, 2012
Love to sell....This is a Great place to SELL!!!! You can make money if you work well with the other salespeople and be aggressive!!!

About Lamps Plus

Hey buddy, gotta light? Sure, but not that kind of light and for a price. LAMPS PLUS sells more than 10,000 lighting products – Read more