Landair Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for...
Driver (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNFebruary 25, 2017
A lot of false promises. Trucks are pathetically slow and under-powered. Breakdown dept is horrible. If you breakdown expect to sit on the side of the road for several hours. If you don't report mechanical issues you could get written up and suspended, but when you do report problems it takes several breakdown reports to get the mechanics to fix the problem. If you have a minor problem with your truck, breakdown usually tells you that it'll get fixed next time the truck goes into service and when it goes into service it doesn't get fixed. Then you have to waste your time and money to go back to the shop to get them to do what they should have done in the first place.
Pros
The office crew in Kingsport. They were great!!!
Cons
Breakdown dept, upper management, equipment..
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I ever had
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Columbus OhioJanuary 25, 2017
No load no miles no money they ask you to run eligle all the time if you do money is there you don't you get no loads that pay unorganized rude people and I would not refer anyone to work there just a awful company
Pros
If you run eligle make money
Cons
Everything about the company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Greeneville, TNDecember 28, 2016
Good miles if you want to work, if your lazy you will be compensated for that. Work hard. Left because of home life. Need more home time, Truck its not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and safe environment.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIAugust 1, 2016
I learned that building things aren't hard as long as you have a great instructor. Landair provided a great hands on experience for me.
Pros
Great workers
Cons
Unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work for.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Ardmore, OKJuly 23, 2016
I was a forklift driver in the Ardmore facility that handled Michelin products....you aren't allowed to make ANY mistakes in your learning process....if you do...it's immediate termination....I was employed 5-6 months and in that time I had an EXTREME family emergency that called for me to leave middle of my shift and miss the next day.....which I add was.the only discrepancy I had at all....upon returning next shift I was informed I had been terminated.....NO REASON,NO EXPLANATION,nothing.... the management team are completely biased and favor employees greatly....they have such a huge turnover rate....4-5 people came and went on my shift alone...I literally was worried about losing my job for every little tiny thing wrong.....
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
EVERYTHING other than weekly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of talk
driver (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 19, 2016
Was told $200 a day average not if you're on nights I asked for more work and there isn't any we were told we would have our own truck but I was bounced around cleaning up each truck there's no maintenance system is place for the trucks and bad communications between office people and drivers
Pros
the other drivers were very nice and helpful
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fork truck driver
Fork Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  JasnesvilleApril 10, 2016
awesome job it is fast paced and it is fun and great hours. the management Is there to help and the on the job training is a great part of this job.
Pros
hours are good
Cons
not much room for advancment
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fleet Manager/Dispatcher / Load Planner (Current Employee) –  Hartsville, SCApril 1, 2016
I enjoy every day at my job. Our drivers are great to deal with. The management is great and will support you to grow in your position. Sonoco Account Manager is a great guy and a very hard worker. I'm glad to be here,
Pros
Ever changing workload.
Cons
Weekends required
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMarch 29, 2016
They need to be more clearer about job duties and times. My schedule has been different each day. If they were more truthful, they would be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Company
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Greeneville, TNFebruary 22, 2016
Good Company, but a lot of false promises.I had the worst freight this past summer. I averaged $1,000 a week, but some weeks I made $400.
Was this review helpful?Yes39No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Driver (Former Employee) –  Greeneville, TNOctober 27, 2015
upper mgmnt not the smartest .great dispatchers ,real people .great pay package/detention/layover.good miles ,when freight is moving.overall a good company.also good benefits 401/insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIOctober 22, 2015
Wouldn't recommend this job only work 3 hours a day before sent home company tends to run out of parts on a daily basis I say the best part of the jobs is you have a lot of down town.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Counter associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, vaSeptember 15, 2015
Management is poor they do not care about most employees. High turnover rate. In Richmond Virginia. Overall terrible place to work for don't waste your time with this one. Bring in friends and everyone else is left stuck in the same position.
Pros
Paid for lunch breacks
Cons
So favortisom, management doesn't work
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like driving trucks
Driver (Current Employee) –  Greeneville, TNSeptember 2, 2015
like going home, I get up and get my load and take it to get it unloaded, or drop and hook. And I do not see the other two drivers. The most thing I like about my job is I start early and get off early, and I am salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a number
forklift (Former Employee) –  Ardmore OklahomaAugust 7, 2015
Management is poor they do not care about any employe. High turnover rate. In ardmore oklahoma. Overall terrible place to work for don't waste your time with this one
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Hartsville, SCJuly 27, 2015
great people and company ....needed a position closer to home. Management met the needs of employees and was always there.
Pros
great pay
Cons
short home time
Was this review helpful?Yes27No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as promising as told
Regional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Greeneville, TNApril 24, 2015
The money is good, the miles are plentiful, but the equipment is complete trash.....over 30 trucks in the shop. Fleet managers are unorganized. I used to get home the day I put in for. Now I go home 1-2 AFTER I the requested home time and end up working during my home time. Won't be long before I let this go
Pros
Good pay some friendly staff
Cons
raggedy trucks, unorganized fleet managers
Was this review helpful?Yes48No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job basically
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Hartsville,SCFebruary 23, 2015
Landair promises the world and delivers nothing.. Promise advancement but give you nothing.. Operations Manager is a trained puppet with strings being pulled by the higher ups. No respect for drivers.. Load Planners have no clue where anything is ? Sending trucks crossing paths everyday.. Lowest paying Trucking company in the area by far..
Pros
Steady Paycheck
Cons
Poor Managment, No Respect, Opinion is not heard much less valued...
Was this review helpful?Yes48No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your just another number on the payroll
spotter (Former Employee) –  ardmore oklahomaSeptember 18, 2014
I worked in ardmore oklahoma spotting trailers on receiving docks for michilen tires the work part of the job was super great the supervisors was on the other hand not very great people we're treated poorly even when they were doing a good job i had 3 checks that were shorted on hours and it would take three weeks to get paid back from mistakes they would make and know this $15 dollars an hour is max pay you will never grow in pay or position but hey if you like to punch a time clock and be home every night day after day after day this is the job for you
Pros
great employees
Cons
poor management and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes47No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and ever changing workplace
Dedicated Regional Planner (Current Employee) –  Hartsville, SCAugust 11, 2014
On an everyday basis you find yourself faced with new circumstances and opportunities for success. Very focused on Safety compliance and adherence to policies and procedures.
Pros
Potential for growth
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes21No9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Landair. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.4
Culture
2.5