Find companies:
Landstar Global Logistics, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Landstar Global Logistics, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked Customer Service
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJune 5, 2014
I learned a lot about the transportation industry with this company, It was a small family owned company that was sadly bought out by a big corporation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where I can grow with the company
broker (Former Employee), 111 Houston tx n.post oakJune 1, 2014
Pros: lunch at my desk
Cons: short breaks to restroom
I came in at 6 30 am
I stay late if there was un finish buisness.
I am skill in communication and customer service.
Im bi-lingual .
And I can work with anyone and Im teach able.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Company
Software Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 18, 2014
Pros: bco days
Cons: management style
Learned a lot about the SDLC process.
Drive was worst part about job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Specialist
Account Analyst (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 11, 2014
A typical day at work was for me to provide Customer Service for our clients by helping them implement a payment plan for their ongoing bills. Management and co-workers were a joy to work with. The job was so suitable to my skills, that no part of it seemed difficult. I enjoyed interacting with and assisting the customers with their specific issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Days
independant agent (Current Employee), Allentown, PAMarch 10, 2014
A typical day starts out by posting freight on my load board and matching up trucks that can run these lanes. I have to coordinate all pick ups and deliveries. The hardest part of this job is the troubleshooting when drivers break down or roads are closed due to in climate weather.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office atmosphere was OK, did not like the freight brokering business
Freight Broker (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
I did not enjoy being middle man, searching for freight and then convincing drivers to take it for much less just to make a buck on their driving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Logistic Coordinator (Former Employee), Wheaton, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: learn a lot
Cons: salary
The coworkers are very nice and like to help the new employes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production is the name of this job
Freight Dispatcher (Current Employee), Alpine, CAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: i get paid as hard as i work
Cons: sometimes, there is no freight worth presenting to drivers
A typical day would start out about 6:30am. I will go to the loading boards and locate good freight. If I know of a driver in L.A. let's say as an eg: I will find the lanes that he wants to run, put them in the computer and if I locate strong paying freight, I will call him and present it to him. I have learned to spot the best paying freight and go – more... after it aggressively. I work all alone and I am not in contact with others during my business day, except on the phone. The hardest part of the job is finding my own book of business. It takes alot of rejection and hours spent on trying to get someone to take a shot with you. Once customers are established, you have residual income .coming in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck driving
Owner Operator (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: see lots of places
Cons: but want to be home with family
Coordinated daily delivery schedules based on customer schedules, peak delivery times and
alternate routes.Processed shipment documents neatly and efficiently for each load.Obtained
and maintained proper delivery authorization and pickup documentation.Conducted daily
DOT pre-trip inspections according to a set checklist.Balanced and handled expense – more... accounts
for each trip.Retained valid proof of insurance and registration in vehicle at all times.Hooked
and unhooked trailers from the tractor and converter dollies.Loaded and unloaded trailers
with mechanical freight handling equipment.Submitted reports on the condition of the truck
at the end of each trip.Maintained records required for compliance with state and federal
regulations.Delivered customer orders to homes and places of business within established
time frames.Interacted with customers and vendors in a friendly and timely
manner.Transported freight from origin to destination in a safe and timely manner.Checked
load accuracy and stability before each trip.Lifted freight and other objects of various
shapes, sizes and weights up to [] pounds.Operated tractor-trailer combinations, including
doubles and triples.Picked up customer loads in a timely and accurate manner.Picked up
customer loads in a timely and accurate manner.Certified that waste, supplies and material
handling equipment were secured prior to operating vehicle on public highways.Notified
supervisor of any customer or delivery problems.Submitted a daily mileage log with trip
sheet, fuel, maintenance and delivery documentation.Fulfilled back haul orders and spotting
trailers in the yard.Operated a tractor-trailer combination in urban, suburban and rural
environments and in all types of weather conditions.Wrote receipts for loads picked up and
collected payment for goods delivered and for delivery charges.Connected air hoses and
electrical lines, installed and removed tire chains and manually cranked dolly
wheels.Maintained telephone and radio contact with supervisor to receive delivery
instructions.Conducted emergency roadside repairs, including changing tires, replacing light
bulbs and installing fuses and tire chains.Recorded expenses and maintained receipts – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from home
Transportation Agent (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: terrible pay
Came into the business during a recession and transportation needs were extremely limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
otr driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, Fl.August 19, 2013
Pros: understanding, helpful, encouraging
You work with company brokers,and they work well with you, They try not only to have lot of loads, but also to encourage all drivers to bee safe and keep up their spirit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Professional OTR Driver (Former Employee), Minneola, FLJuly 30, 2013
Excellent company to start your own business, and drive your own truck. Offers many great opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with a good group of employee's
Load Broker (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ARJuly 17, 2013
Pros: very easy going.
Cons: no training, comm sales only.
I would arrive each morning and check my voice mails. check my emails. Start calling all my drivers that were under a load and check in with them and get a status update. call all my customers and give updates and get new load info and start trying to get the loads filled with drivers.

Good management. Nice

The hardest part was there was no real training. – more... They gave you the basic fundamentals and then threw you to the Wolves.

Very laid back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company did not give you enough assistance to get started on your own
Self Employed Broker (Former Employee), Oxford, NYJuly 17, 2013
Need better training, Was hard to get started with companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Logistics broker (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 6, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: brokering
Typical day at Landstar is speaking with clients and answering calls. This is a very competitive job you spend most of the day brokering loads and sending out quotes to clients. The hardest part of the job would entail bids. Basically pricing out 2 or 3 pages of different lanes and crossing your fingers to see if you at least get one. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is the is working as a time and the accomplishment you feel when you walk out after a great day of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Heavy Haul / Driver (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 5, 2013
Pros: good money, alot of home time
Cons: coming to a end
Talk with the agent

Order Oversize permits & Pilot Cars

Go to load destination

Check in load & secure

Transport to destination

Unload & Put trailer back together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freedom
Owner/Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, MSApril 26, 2013
Pros: freedom
Cons: low rates
good company lots of freedom and i was able to dispatch my self. ............
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Lacking more than you get
Agent with inrodes to the corporate structure. (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 11, 2013
Pros: solid business model. but they execute it poorly
Cons: management is out of touch & their failures are blamed on the lower level employees
Solid overall business model, but there are so many "political factions" working on the corporate level that you get virtually no corporate support. The management have very little to do with the bulk of the agency base, and are pretty much only on speaking terms with the small section of multi million dollar agents. Senior management has no real grip – more... on the day to day market and focuses nore on the trending of the business rather than what an agency really needs. Great in some areas.... quite poor in other even though they say they "can do it all". Good place to work if you want to kiss someones backside to get ahead and get noticed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only good if you like to stay on the road for a month
Owner Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 4, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: meetings, they want to get you in debt, so that they own you, and you have to stay out for long periods of time
lots of meetings,work off load board.dipatchers are not 24 hours. dispatchers are terrible. treat you like badly,at least most of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dispatch, accounts payable, billing (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: working hours
Cons: i have moved up as far as i can go.
Come in at 8AM start working with phone calls comingfrom drivers. Giving fuel payouts along with booking loads for drivers. We have a high volume of loads that come in from customers as well as rate request. Its an high temp day most days. I have learned how to multi task meeting many customer request. As well how to manage the company the way they – more... like it to be ran. I love transportation everything about it. I like the challenges it brings as well as talking to people. – less

About Landstar Global Logistics, Inc.

Truckload freight carrier Landstar System has hitched its star to an asset-light business model. The company's fleet of more than – Read more