Find companies:
Lansing Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Lansing Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working here
Adjunct Professor/Business Department (Former Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 12, 2014
Great school, but my department was eliminated. I really helped to build up the program and worked with some great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college and place to enhance clerical skills
Clerical Student Staff (Former Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 3, 2014
A typical day at LCC consisted of ordering office supplies, scheduling appointments, answering phones, sorting mail, sending faxes, and making copies.

I learned basic clerical skills and how to work independently.

The hardest part of the job was trying to fix the copy machine when it got jammed. The most enjoyable part of the job was being in a quiet – more... office setting where I could work independently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment, supportive leadership
Articulation Intern- K-12 Relations (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJune 25, 2014
Wonder place to work, doing ground-breaking works that assist kids on a need basis help pay for college. Multiple programs, lots of personal growth both as a leader and team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchasing Student Aid/Clerk
Purchasing Assistant, office assistant (Former Employee), Lansing, MIApril 8, 2014
Pros: free holiday lunches, and great hours.
Office duties including cleaning, computer skills, vendors and customers.
Assisted the Director of purchasing in research and meeting agenda.
Advanced in computer skills such as spreadsheet, Microsoft, and Dreamweaver.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Lansing, MIApril 8, 2014
Pros: office parties
Cons: working lunches
Resources were plentiful. IF you need help fellow staff members were more than willing to aid. I love the environment and the team work by management to get things accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Access Services
Access Services & Technical Guide (Current Employee), LibraryMarch 11, 2014
Great management, repetitive schedules, flexible hours, and great working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am glad I studied at this College
NURSE AIDE STUDENT (Former Employee), Lansing, MIFebruary 22, 2014
The instructors are helpful and willing to work one on one with the students. The classes are fast paced and help get people out into the work force quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very ptoductive
-Case Manager/Part-Time Faculty (Former Employee), Lansing,miFebruary 16, 2014
Great educational learning experience and able to help others in a meaningful way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretentious at best
Instructor - Adjunct (Former Employee), Lansing, MINovember 22, 2013
Pros: the ability to leave at the end of the day, if someone remembered to unshackle you from the wall first.
Cons: everything
HR very rarely has their act together, so be prepared not to be paid at first (took a good two months before payment was received for services, and that was after taking legal action). Want to move up through the ranks? Think again. Most of the inner-office politics leans more to the rear-end kissing of the higher ups. Want to go above and beyond your – more... call of duty? Don't. You'll be ripped apart at the seams in front of your peers. The deans (or as we called them, the "Pretentious Few") will overlook you on a common basis. Want to make a few people smile? Think again. Laughter is forbidden in the work place. For the pay, you're better off selling a kidney. Or your first born child. Or you could always make a pact with some diabolical force from the depths of hades. Either way, you're doing the same thing, should you step foot in this atrocious organization. My advise? Run. Run as far away as possible, lock the door behind you, and wave good bye to any sense of humanity or the human experience should you step inside the doors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.
Welcome Center (Former Employee), Lansing, MINovember 17, 2013
Pros: 4 credits per semester paid for and great people to work with.
Cons: registration periods, very little communication between departments, and parking is impossible to find most days.
Good place to work, especially if you're a student. Registration season is crazy and stressful for any job at LCC, so be prepared for huge lines and no time off during this time. Decent management and some advancement (mostly from student employee to part-time employee). LCC rarely offers full time employment and part time employment is at least 30 – more... hours a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job, great expierences.
Campus Dining Student Employee- Cleaning, Food (Former Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 10, 2013
Pros: coworkers, bosses, discounts, schedules
Cons: running out of things we needed
I had more than one task with this job. I prepped food, cleaned, worked cash register, worked the coffee stand making different espresso drinks. I enjoyed the job, managers and coworkers. The pay was great, discounts were handy and I felt comfortable in the work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at help desk.
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Lansing, MIAugust 1, 2013
Loved it, didn't love getting laid off. Was a great job though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LCC Review
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJune 14, 2013
Pros: great benefits / advancement opportunities
Cons: unknown
Responsible for meeting the college‚Äôs obligation to compensate, on a biweekly basis, approximately 2,500 college employees in an accurate and timely manner. Fulfill all obligations mandatory and statistical as result of the biweekly pay. Assist Director of Accounting and Payroll by compiling, analyzing, and assessing data. Furnish and instruct other – more... departments on campus with information regarding the use of the Human Resource system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job EVER!
Support Staff (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJune 13, 2013
Pros: diversity of work
Cons: compensation
I never expected to gain so many skills from this job. Since working here I have worked with every vulnerable and under-represented population you can think of, I have worked with the homeless, veterans, ex-offenders, older generations. I have had to make myself familiar with all issues involving those communities in order to understand their needs – more... in relation to using education to increase their job-readiness. In addition I have been able to extend my office management experience, upon hiring I was challenged with re-organization of the office filing system as well as streamlining office processes to increase efficiency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great introduction to the Enterprise-level Information Technology field
Computer Technician (Current Employee), Lansing, MIFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: great learning experience, eight free credits per semester for college courses
Cons: poor compensation, no chance for advancement
I am responsible for entire West Campus computer infrastructure, including phones and networking. I have learned volumes of information on the ways to correct problems in a timely and sometimes complicated situations. Scheduling repairs in busy offices or classrooms involving multiple users and faculty.

The management of the IT division is efficient – more... and respectable, however the administration of the company does not allow any way to advance to higher positions or provide fair compensation.

I most enjoyed the community feeling of the campus as well as the responsibility and trust to keep everything running smooth. The hardest challenges I faced involved drastically short periods to repair a problem involving multiple classrooms of computers. However I always manage to find a reasonable solution for my clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Work
Peer Mentor/Orientation (Former Employee), Lansing MichiganJanuary 27, 2013
Simple and easy. In and out. Not that much is expected of you in student positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why I needed employment elsewhere
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Lansing, MichiganJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: i was able to help people, tuition was paid
Cons: salary
I loved working for the College. I was able to help and provide direction to other students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Employment
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: learned everyday
Cons: bad management
This was a student employment position I held and learned a great deal about my advanced skill in technology through. The management was not driven for a better practice of business but a if it gets done then do it attitude and that was hard to deal with at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn as well as work.
Student Employee (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: enjoyable staff.
Cons: low compensation.
A typical day would include answering phone calls, retrieving and delivering mail, filing, photocopying, and other office assignments.
I learned to multitask and I was surrounded by professors who would freely give their knowledge.
The management here was encouraging and friendly. Always positive and showed their enthusiasm for students learning outcomes.
The – more... hardest part of the job was the start of each semester. Students would flock to the office to change their schedules frequently.
The most enjoyable part of the job was listening to students praise their instructors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college to attend
Student (Former Employee), Lansing, MIDecember 19, 2012
Pros: wonderful instructors
Cons: parking ramp is very crowded
Instructors are the best in the Health and Science department. Always willing to answer a question twenty four hours a day. They are the tops in their field.