Larkin Street Youth Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough place to work but learned lots
Bilingual Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 8, 2016
Tough area to work in. The youth shelter was in the tenderloin district in sf. had a great time though and learned a lot of what it takes to do this type of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice organization to work for.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 27, 2015
I case manage 35 at risk youth in a transitional living program. I enjoy my work because I'm helping to make a difference in someone life. I work with a great team of people. the hardest part of my job is not being able to hold the youth accountable for their action, because of upper management believing that these youth has been dramatize enough. When a youth get a job, enroll in school, reunite with their family makes all struggles worth while.
Pros
Great Managers
Cons
under staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission Poor Execution
Special Events Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 9, 2015
Management is out of touch, disorganized and overly demanding with no real direction. Work, life balance is not considered. Talked about, but NEVER executed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive educational place for teens looking for employment
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 16, 2014
i would check the teens in get them set up for the daily meeting or prepare for workshops. i answered phones and prepped teens for job interviews .
Pros
very educational successful job placement
Cons
didnt pay enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work environment
RESIDENTIAL COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  san franciscoAugust 23, 2014
disorganized mess of a non-profit. very high turn over rate is a big part of the problem.the culture of staff vs management is toxic for both employees and clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with adequate space for the employess and the clients to engage and create a safe work space for everyone involved.
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 30, 2014
A typical day at work is about the clients. Engaging and finding out how we can better serve the consumer. Making sure that the clients have a safe space to make a better change in their lives. Some of the consumers are high functioning and are able to do daily activities with ease. The lower functioning consumers the counselor helps with a plan of action to help the consumer reach daily activities and goals.
Pros
Staff meetings with personal check in for the employee, understanding of the employees situations.
Cons
sometimes can be short staffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 3, 2014
I loved the mission statement, my coworkers, passion of counselors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great dynamic place to work but salaries are low.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 31, 2013
I enjoy working at LSYS a great deal. The atmosphere is supportive of deepening one's skills and there is great commitment and passion for the mission of the agency at all levels.
Co-workers are wonderful; dedicated, passionate and supportive. The hardest part of the job is the low salary and the most enjoyable part of the job is that I work for 18-24 year-old's and this age group is quite inspiring and dynamic.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed stress free work environment
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  SanFranciscoSeptember 11, 2012
I enjoyed working with the staff and clients
I learned about the seriousnes of at risk teens
Management is very hands on
The most enjoyable part of the job was making a difference in at risk
teen lifes
Pros
working with at risk youth, giving back to the community
Cons
not enuf hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic experience working with youth and an experience with upper management that leaves much to be desired
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 2, 2012
Awesome co-workers, really fun working with the youth; Huge disconnect between upper management, middle management, lower management and counselors; Highly fragmented, hierarchical management system; Micromanagement.
Pros
generous sick time and vacation time
Cons
upper management and expensive healthcare plans
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 12, 2012
Dealing with youth funny and joyful, loving, good, helping others.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Striving to get youth off the streets!!!
Overnight Residental Counselor (Former Employee) –  San FranciscoMarch 9, 2012
Excellent company with outstanding core values. Multiple residential, and transitional housing units.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working advancement, and working tables
Larkin Street youth services (Current Employee) –  San FranciscoSeptember 19, 2011
Yep this is me so if any of you would like to contact me then so be it...
Pros
i am working
Cons
5-6
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Larkin Street Youth Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Larkin Street Youth Services Reviews by Location