Find companies:
Laser Quest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Laser Quest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with a nuturing family culture
General Manager (Former Employee), Fresno, CAMarch 9, 2014
A great environment that encourages personal growth with training support from all Home Office Departments. The autonomy allows your potential to flourish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you're under 20 years old
part time (Current Employee), USANovember 16, 2013
Pros: great place for a first job if young, 2 game passes every month. discounted games, small bonus every 3 months, good training methods
Cons: very underpaid, never any opportunity for advancement, home office is a pain to deal with
Typical day at work varies by day of the week, as weeknights tend to be slow (unless there's a private off-hours event, only salaried management work during weekday hours) and weekends tend to be very busy. Generally, you'll be taking phone calls from customers, mostly calls for information or birthday party reservations, and running the POS and game – more... computers at the front desk - Mission Control. You'll also be running laser tag games.

You learn patience. Dealing with gangs of children can be tough when your job requires making them listen to you but still creative a fun, energetic atmosphere. Sometimes parents can be a nightmare when their expectations are not met - for example, they almost never get their party rooms right away (typically games are played first, then the rooms open up) but if they forget or misunderstand this fact they will not be happy, and you have to learn to deal with it. You also have to learn to deal with the occasional outburst of rage, something you might not expect at a place that's basically an arcade, but it happens. You also learn various technical aspects of the job, and to be quick thinking and light on your feet - if you have a game of 33 players starting in 5 minutes but several of your packs have technical issues rendering them unusable, which packs do you fix first? WHO fixes them when both phone lines are always busy and there's a line of people out the door who want in on the next available spot? Etc. Time management is a massively important thing here to grasp!

the center managers are usually pretty great, and often terribly underpaid. (But who isn't at this company? Other than corporate bigwigs, of course.) Most of the people who run a Laser Quest are young college or high school students, so they know to be flexible with kids they work with, especially with the knowledge that turnover can be high - when you make less than $10 an hour part-time, that's not enough to pay bills, let alone tuition. Despite the fact that they're tasked with a LOT of work to take care of, management generally do a good job of running the place, though it might vary from center to center. You can usually expect to have a good boss at a Laser Quest center, simply because LQ is meant to be a fun place, and an overly-serious, stressed-out jerk of a boss would not be a good fit for the company...but it can happen. Though, they don't tend to last very long, thank goodness.

Co-workers likewise vary. Typically for crew and part-time assistant managers, really fun, outgoing people are sought out to fill spots. However, they do tend to be young - 16 to 24 years of age is the typical age range, usually leaning towards the younger side (older employees usually have the experience and education to seek more serious, better-paying jobs). Thus, you might be dealing with some rather immature people, but it's pretty fun to watch them grow into adults, too. Most employees are fun to hang out with and work with.

The hardest part of the job, other than the occasional explosion of rage from the occasional customer, is the lack of hours and low pay. This company tends to be really cheap. Because of the ACA's implementation, to make sure they don't spend a penny more on their employees and do not allow anyone who isn't salaried to be scheduled more than 25 hours unless it's urgent, with 30 being a sort of hard maximum - anyone who averages over 30 hours a week for the year must be provided with health benefits, and, well, this extremely profitable company just can't afford that! Investing in your employees' well-being is just too expensive. Another hard part is having any task that requires communication with anyone outside of your local center. If you have a technical problem that you can't solve on your own and need to contact the corporate tech guys? Expect it to take awhile. Possibly a LONG while. I understand the need for consistency and control across every location, but man, Corporate makes it really difficult to run a business as it needs to be run sometimes.

The most enjoyable part is that usually the job itself is fun, and flexible, making it much easier to stick for a longer time. You get to practice public speaking, play games with employees and customers (both in laser tag and little mini games), and interact with all kinds of people. It's great to see people having fun.around you and be part of it.

My summary: It's a great place to work if you've never held a job before, or if all you've done was something like Quizno's. It's entertaining and fairly easy to do. However, if you are looking to start a career, look elsewhere. The pay is peanuts, the openings are sparse, chances to move up in rank are non-existent, and if you need serious work, this is probably not the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the LQ
Crew Member (Current Employee), Norridge, ILOctober 13, 2013
Pros: co-workers, management, bonus checks, and free games!
Cons: closing, customers (sometimes)
I started working at LQ during my senior year of high school, two years later I'm still in the sam position I was in, except I'm making about 30 cents more an hour. I love working there, my coworkers are amazing and the customers aren't so bad. As far as management, its more of a touch and go sort of idea. I love the GM and the assistant managers. Customers – more... can be real a-holes sometimes even when you're providing the best service you can. Very flexible hours and it works great with your schedule. The hardest part of the job is probably closing down the whole center at the end of the night. The most enjoyable part of the job is the bonus checks we receive quarterly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome starter job
Crew, Birthday Coordinator (Former Employee), Newington, CTAugust 16, 2013
This was my first job! It was really a blast working here. The customers are awesome, and it's like a big party at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Corporate Company to work for
Marketing/Operation Manager (Former Employee), Midvale UtahJune 15, 2013
Pros: great benefits, paid vacation, flexible hours, monthly bonus and retention bonus
Cons: night and weekend hours
My typical day at Laser Quest would include verifying funds daily, Preparing weekly schedules. Weekly ancillary maintenance and tech maintenance. I have learned how to better manage a business and more important manage employees to better themselves. Being part of a management team that comes together to find solutions instead of throwing someone under – more... the bus instead of taking responsibility for ones actions. My job was never hard and the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing you were part of something bigger. With our Home Office in Toronto I was always recognized for my anniversary and even birthdays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, dynamic work environment
General Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: excellent culture, work life balance
Cons: a very broad skill set is required to excell
Laser Quest was a great place to learn management skills. I started as a crew member in December 2007 and was General Manager of the Memphis location in December 2011. The senior management at LQ recognizes ability and does everything in their power to foster growth from the ground up.

A typical day as a GM involves marketing calls, running some operations, – more... training, and taking care of any facility issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Crew member (Current Employee), Mountain View, CADecember 10, 2012
Laser Quest is a high energy, fun and exciting place to work. Patrons of Laser Quest are always excited to be there which makes our job fun and easy. The managers treat employees with respect and they work very hard to accommodate our needs while making sure the company runs smoothly. While Laser Quest is a fun place to work, it can be frustrating at – more... times because sometimes we do get customers that are not happy with our service or customers that do not understand the process of what goes on at Laser Quest. The most enjoyable part of my job is making sure the kids that are there for birthday parties have a great time as well as making sure adults there for corporate events or birthday parties feel that their event went smoothly and that Laser Quest is worthy of their business again in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company - fun and fullfilling
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Rockford, ILAugust 28, 2012
Working for Laser Quest - Rockford, IL was a great experience. I learned a lot about customer service, sales and the game of laser tag. Management at Laser Quest was outstanding. They taught us about the business and were very well structured. My co-workers were like family and we worked together to make sure our guests had a fun experience every time. – more... The hardest part of the job was staying up for the over nighters since I'm not a late night person. Overall, I loved working for Laser Quest and would recommend the company to anyone interested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Newington, CTJuly 22, 2012
Pros: gained essential managerial experience
Cons: little to no communication with district managers
Typical Day at work:
Working at laser quest there is always something different happening each day. A normal day it is always busy constant contact with customers. Marketing, and sales meetings.

What I learned:
Is responsible for opening/closing credit card transactions and cash management duties
Played a key role in reaching sales goals and staying – more... within budget constrictions
In the years I’ve been employed at laser quest I have learned vital managerial, marketing and customer service skills.
Experience with troubleshooting & diagnosis laser tag equipment
Responsible for running a team on a busy day, making sure tasks are delegated and get done in a timely manner
Multi-tasking and time management along with organizational skills

Management:
Through the five years I worked at laser quest we have gone through several GM changes. We where the only location in CT and district managers only called once a week at most or sometimes once a month and would only be in to location 3 day every 4 months.

Co-workers:
Built essential relationships with co-workers and still to this day have kept in contact. Staff members where supportive and a great part of the job.

Hardest Part of Job:
unstable and inconsistent when it comes to policies and procedures. No communication with district managers. Only persons on management team that had contact with them is the General Manager. Dont feel that area managers can really get a full understanding of the center if they are never there or have little communication with anyone at that center. Only had one persons point of view on how things are running, there was no stability.

Most enjoyable part of the job:
Working with the customers and learning valuable skills that can be used at every job. I like to marketing and I feel it is something I am good at. It was not a job to me because I enjoyed going to work daily and working with customers of all different walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 1, 2012
Pros: people, free/discounted pizza, incentive bonuses
On a typical day I dealt with children, parents, teens, and senior citizens from all walks of life. I learned for to balance paperwork and how to deal with different life situations. Management is AWESOME, the best I could ever imagined; coworkers were enjoyable likewise. The hardest part of the job were the older kids when the became over excited;nothing – more... to hard to handle. Another hard part was leaving. The most enjoyable part was the crew;everyone was like family! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Creative
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 26, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: summer ended
Laser Quest was amazingly fun. I had the best fun.
There was always a party to supervise, or some group to tell to settle down. Laser Tag was an exciting game to learn and I enjoyed it. My co-workes and managers were all so amazing to get along and work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Marketing needed to build business.
General Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 7, 2012
Pros: having fun = success.
Cons: must be strong in marketing skills to succeed.
Great company who is all about family entertainment. They want all employees to be "ambassadors of fun", and stress having fun at your job to enhance the customer experience. Behind the scenes, they are looking for management to spend a lot of time building business through warm and cold calls. They stress sticking to their assigned marketing objectives. – more... In my case, business was awesome, but they did not agree on the way I was building the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Memphis,TNJanuary 16, 2012
Pros: been with the company for 7 years
Cons: this is a partime position.
I enjoy Working in this fun environment. This place never has a dull moment. From The Employees to the customers the place makes you want to come back. The experience is always an adventure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager/Keyholder (Current Employee), Trafford CentreJuly 10, 2014
On a day to day shift, I man the desk, book people in for games, set up games, cash up the till, finding discrepancies, resolving complaints, running my team, organising breaks around games, and I fix pack problems. Between all these responsibilities, I fit in my other responsibilities, such as performing and maintaining the health and safety checks, – more... heading staff training and development, as well as I assist in counting and managing stock levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Customer Service (Former Employee), Warrington, ENGOctober 6, 2013
Pros: short hours
Cons: boring days
in my experience it isn't a fun place to work.
it pushes you to do things that are beyond your experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn how to be the life of the party.
Marshal (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: fun environment, most of the time. good management.
Cons: hours of the week change too much. one week i'll have 20, the next week i'll only have 9.
This is a fun place to work at, if you're a shy person, this isn't the job for you. Especially since you have to hold the attention of a group of people, sometimes as large as 35! Having this job, you come across very different types of personalities and you learn different ways to handle different people and situations. You also learn how to work under – more... pressure and a tight time deadline, all while maintaining a party like atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace, "Never a dull moment"
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 15, 2013
Pros: lots of fun, hosted birthday parties, participated in games
Cons: short hours, under-staffed
I really enjoyed my experience at Laser Quest, as I found it enabled me to work with many types of co-workers and clients of all ages and backgrounds. What I really enjoyed was that there was always something to do, a client to greet, a game to run or simply a chore to be finished. I was able to work very fast and efficiently during busy hours, and – more... even got recognized for all my hard work. The management was great and always ensured our days ran smoothly, and it made a great difference to know first hand how sincere our patrons really were. Unfortunately, the hours were not there and it was not the type of workplace I had wanted to continue working in which eventually led to my resignation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place, great people
Crew (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 13, 2013
Pros: free games
Cons: far location
A typical day at work was fun, and great to work with the co-workers at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace that leaves a lasting impression
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 12, 2012
Pros: incentives, fun games, you get to make your briefing "your own", fun overnighters
Cons: not much time for breaks, not much flexibility on hours (mostly evenings/weekends)
Laser Quest was a great place to work. A typical day at work would be going in and jumping right into things. Laser quest is very fast paced and on the go. Between games and taking codenames there wasnt much time for anything. I learned how to manage my time effectly, how to be more outgoing and brought out my silly side. The people with whom I worked – more... with were great aswell, everyone always had an upbeat attitude and a smile on their face (which isnt hard when there are so many kids happy and excited to play) I think the hardest part of the job would have been when you would have to clean party rooms asap if we were on a very tight schedule and the next party was arriving aswell as making sure games were on track. It would make things a bit stressful to fall behind. The most enjoyable part was definitely seeing the kids, and adults really enjoy the whole experience. – less

About Laser Quest

Laser Quest offers a professional teambuilding program, developed by a corporate training professional which involves a unique – Read more