Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Employee Reviews

Showing all 78 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll
Payroll (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CASeptember 11, 2017
Very poor management--slow to move. The business wants change however they do not accept change well. Controller and Payroll Manager are both impossible to work with. A lot of red tape--HR was no help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Administrator / Facilities Division Director (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAAugust 28, 2017
Great benefits, friendly staff. Just an overall great place to work. Safety culture and health conscious, really cares about the staff. Highly recommend.
Pros
Excellent Benefits and Pay
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice research place
GUEST PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 27, 2017
Nice people, very interesting research projects, helpful management, positive work environment and everyone's attitude. Pleasure to work there. Recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Research Affiliate (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 25, 2017
Great with great people who work there. The working hours are flexible. Management is committed to the safety and well being of all who work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to learn and develop as a scientist
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 20, 2017
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is a great environment to develop as a scientist. I have been surrounding by outstanding scientists and mentors in Bissell lab.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Principal subcontract administrator (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJune 30, 2017
LBNL is a great place to work. Employees are helpful and considerate, management is there to help you when needed, and the atmosphere is great. It is a stressful place to work because of the scope of what you work on, but the people and views make the stress manageable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
WAREHOUSE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJune 14, 2017
The atmosphere here is wonderful. Everybody is helpful and friendly. The pay is also good. The view is amazing and it such a wonderful place to go to every time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn Real-World Skills in Information Tech
Software Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAMay 16, 2017
I loved coming into work each day at the lab. I learned more as a software engineering intern here than I did in school! My mentors were each excellent and very patient with me. At the time I lacked a lot of confidence. I can honestly say my time at the lab was among the most enjoyable and meaningful of my life.
Pros
meeting scientists and engineers, flexible schedule, educational
Cons
lack of structure, too easy at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, stressful and fun.
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAMay 15, 2017
Productive, some time stress full. workplace culture is good. management needs a little improving. There is not a lot of communication with management with there employees.
Pros
Supervisor was good
Cons
a lot of people taking days off. so you had to help out alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasoned Executive Assistant
Senior Administration Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAMay 5, 2017
I prefer not to comment at this time
Will elaborate in interviews

I am looking to go back to the corporate side - and away from a Government job going forward with my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good life/work balance
Postdoctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAApril 30, 2017
Research topics at LBL are focused on DOE priorities. Mature and highly qualified staff that understand demands on those with children. Beautiful location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive Work Environment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAApril 16, 2017
When I worked at LBNL, I was an entry level lab assistant performing lab work nearly all day. Everyone I worked with was very nice and helpful. It also gave me exposure to PIs and post-docs who were more than willing to engage with me about their research and give me advice about my future in scientific research.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission and Challenging Work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAApril 11, 2017
Constantly challenging and rewarding work opportunities towards to mission of scientific discovery

The people here are of the highest caliber. Good resources and a focus on results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high-level research place
exchange visitor (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 12, 2017
It is a wonderful experience working here, the co-works are smart and top scientists and engineers. learned a lot of laser things, especially high harmonic generation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Mail Sorter (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJanuary 11, 2017
it was a fast pace company but very excited to work there I sort mail and make copies and answer the phone and pick up the mail from the post office .
Pros
lay back
Cons
more money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratoire et personnels ultra compétent
Developpeur Web (Former Employee) –  BerkeleyNovember 2, 2016
Très bon laboratoire à la pointe de la technologie, beaucoup de prix Nobel et un département spacial très actif.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaboration and organization
Research affiliate (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAOctober 18, 2016
The work at LBNL was very organized and well managed. The collaboration is one key point of my experience. The time schedule is flexible. Offices quite small.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable job but not for non-PhD
Senior Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CASeptember 21, 2016
it's hard to have a developed career if you don't have a PhD at national lab. Stable but salary can't be high. You will have good health insurance and pension plan which is rare now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting Edge Science
EH&S Manager - Materials Sciences Division (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CASeptember 9, 2016
Good place to work. Good benefits, and a great view. Opportunities depend on the Division you work for. Culture is improving daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career, but little room for advancement
Postdoctoral Researcher Majorana Experiment Group (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 15, 2016
I moved to the Bay Area for a postdoc position at LBNL. I love working there and have good colleagues, but the culture of LBNL is different from most other national labs in that there isn't a well-defined track for advancement. You either get one of the rare staff scientist positions, or your out looking for jobs in 2-5 years. Overall, it was a positive experience, but I would have liked more stability.
Pros
Great colleagues, excellent research experience
Cons
Limited healthcare for postdocs, little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 78 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Reviews by Location