Find companies:
Lawrence General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Lawrence General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Licensed Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAApril 6, 2014
Great people to work with, good benefits.. Hardest part of job is patient passing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to learn Lawrence General is the best place to do so hands down.
Secretary / Aide (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAFebruary 26, 2014
I loved working at Lawrence General Hospital. My experience there was great there wasn't a i time that i can remember where i was not learning something new. While working on Russell 4 Medial surgical I experienced a bit of everything. I able to work with patients with mental instability to diabetic patients on dialysis. I very thankful that opportunity – more... because it taught me who deal with difficult patients, who to be supportive of families with dying loved ones. Overall if had to go back to Lawrence General i would do i in a heart beat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent community hospital
Cardiac and Emergency Room Nurse (Current Employee), Lawrence, MAJanuary 6, 2014
I believe of all the community hospitals in this area, Lawrence General exceeds in patient care and health care delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sadly, this place is not the same
Emergency Center Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Lawrence, MANovember 26, 2013
Pros: staff employees
Cons: management, administration, a lot of inexperienced nurses working in the ed.
Huge disconnect between management and staff. The atmosphere is cold. It used to be a place I would love to come to and now I get a stomachache every day I walk in. Looking to move forward and out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Medical Assistant (Practicum / Externship) (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAOctober 7, 2013
Since I love working in the Medical Field it was extremely wonderful to do my internship at the Pedi Clinic at the Lawrence General Hospital. I loved working with the patients, especially the children. It was great to know that you were helping in making them feel better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Food and Nutrition Supervisor (Current Employee), Lawrence, MASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hours
I am currently the night time supervisor at Lawrence General Hospital. I resolve customer complaints regarding food service. I am also able to train employees in food preparation, and in service, sanitation, and safety procedures. Some of my other duties included observing and evaluating employees and work procedures to ensure quality standards and – more... service, and completing disciplinary write-ups. I assign duties, responsibilities, and work stations to employees in accordance with work requirements, providing employee orientation and training, and conducting supervisory activities, such as creating work schedules or organizing employee time off sheets. I also perform financial activities such as cash handling and deposit preparation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprfessional mangemant team
MEDICAL CODER (Former Employee), Lawrence, MASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: close to home. great place to lern right out of school
Cons: very unprfessonal management with too many politics
The job itself was great.It was a nice place to learn from coming right out of school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy, wonderful staff
Telemetry/RN Nurse (Former Employee), Lawrence, MASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: costly benefits
Worked on very busy unit, staff was very great, helpful and knowledgeable. Benefits are costly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Great place to grow
Retail Grill Cook (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free fountain drinks
Responsible for prepping Breakfast and Lunch.
Prepared food items consistently and in compliance with recipes, portioning, cooking and waste
control guidelines.
Verified proper portion sizes and consistently attained high food quality standards.
Maintained smooth and timely operations in preparation and delivery of meals and kitchen sanitation.
Properly – more... labeled and stored all raw food ingredients including produce, meat, fish, poultry, dairy and dry
goods in the appropriate storage room, walk-in refrigerator, freezer or cooler.
Changed and sanitized all cutting boards, benches and surfaces when beginning a new task to avoid
cross-contamination.
Cooked and served food and meals in accordance with planned menus, diet plans, recipes, portions,
temperature control procedures and facility policies.
Practiced safe food handling procedures at all times.
Promptly reported any maintenance and repair issues to Executive Chef. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAAugust 4, 2013
You need to be flexible to adapt to the many changes in an ever changing hospital environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work, but things have changed
Staff Nurse, RN (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: good pay, good bene package
Cons: short lunch breaks, unfair assignments and no support from management
Get your assignment, receive bedside report, do your assessments, document findings,do discharges when approriate, do admissions when approriate, takes off orders, look up lab work, medicate as ordered,do hourly rounding, assess patient everytime you entered the room, treatments, dsg changes,etc, educate as needed,document.

Learning of different cultures, – more... and different ways of doing things and time management.

Management does not stand behind their nurses. If a problem arose, the nurse was always to blame. There is a big problem with some levels of management and "clicks".

Most co-workers were awesome. We would work as a team when possible. If one was having a bad day or assignment, we would try to ease the load and help out.

The hardest part of the job was having a really tough assigned and having others just sitting around talking or on their phones/ipads, etc.

The most enjoyable part of my job was my interactions with my patients and their families and my colleagues. Taking the time to spend with that one patient who just needs someone to talk to, or who needs a hug or a hand to hold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Volunteer/ Seasonal Assistant (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAMay 11, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and experiencing different things.
A typical day at work consisted of stocking/preparing rooms for examinations and procedures. Running Laboratory Analysis as wel as checking vital signs.Transporting patients from department to department. I learned how to maintain a comfortable patient flow for employees as well as patients. My co-workers were helpful as well as reliable. Fun group – more... of people who had oustanding work ethics and morals. The hardest part about the job was going home and the most enjoyable was knowing that I mad someones day better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the hospital.
Staff Nurse/Rotating Charge (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 22, 2013
It is s great place to work. Small community hospital. Great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Emergency Department Medical Interpreter (Current Employee), Lawrence, MAFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: busy
Cons: managers
Always busy, great co workers and good compensation. Lawrence is full of violence and drugs so the hospital is always busy and you are never bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
Census Controller (Current Employee), Lawrence, MAJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: set schedule, able to learn on a dad to day basis
Cons: not able to take breaks, at times not able to take lunch, no coverage/backup, personal days lost
I love my job and what it intales. It has been overall a very great learning experience. The job can be abit overwhelming. I get along with my co-workers. the hardest part of the position is not getting the support from upper management. I enjoy very much working wth the nursing administrative staff and supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospital
Payroll Coordinator (Current Employee), Lawrence, MAJanuary 3, 2013
I work in a hospital setting witt wonderful people.

Managers are good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too good
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Lawrence, MANovember 14, 2012
Cons: our words dont matter
the words we speak as employee have no meaning whatsoever to upper staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Transportation Aide (Former Employee), Lawrence, MASeptember 11, 2012
great place to work and good environment. Everyone is very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAAugust 29, 2012
It was always my dream to work at LGH. I found that I loved working there when I finally got the job. The pay was great, I had a great group of people that I worked with and an awesome manager. I only left because I went on with my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support Patients with Insurance Services
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Lawrence, MAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: help patients, meet new people, fast tracking system
Cons: micro management, eat lunch at your desk, no breaks, no advancement and company growth.
Help selfpay patients obtain insurance benefits, collect balance and Hmo payments. I learned that a smile can change someones whole day because no matter how hard you think your life is, there is someone out there who has it worst. Management was unfair and mostly concern about gossip, not real life issues, Most didn't know how to use the system. Coworkers – more... where like family. The hardest par tof this job is seeing someone die and hearing their family cry. The most enjoyable part of the job is making someone smile. – less