Lawrence Merchandising Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have integrity this is NOT the job for you
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 29, 2016
Besides not getting paid for travel, you get to go into stores that are a mess and you are expected to restock them, do an inventory, take pictures and complete a survey all in 1 hour - impossible. If you need more time and you call in and ask for it you are told to use the allotted time given. However, if you use more time trying to finish everything that is required of you to do then you are scolded for utilizing additional time. I thought this would be a great, flexible job that I could perform as simply as stated on the videos. However, for my area where stores are numerous, as well as, the traffic, it did not turn out to be a good fit for me. At the end of the day, I was unable to complete each task and was reprimanded for using additional time.
I spent 8 hours in the field to only be paid for 4 1/2 - the other 3 1/2 hour was in traffic which I was not paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with all employees I worked with. Enjoyed having settings to close to perfection as close as possible
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaApril 9, 2016
I enjoyed working for Lawrence but was unhappy to never receive a raise after being there 8 yrs. All my work was sent on the computer.I would go to receiving to get all my materials unpack them read pog. to put product on the right panel.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you want to work for 45 mins once a month
Field Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  WVApril 11, 2016
They advertised positions available in my area. Been here two months and have yet to see one job in my area. Best thing about this company is they give you plenty of time to work in other part time positions.

Just can't understand why they even advertised in my area.
Pros
Haven't seen any yet.
Cons
No work
Was this review helpful?Yes25No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Supplement Income
Merchandising Representative (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MN 55441February 6, 2016
Working here would be great for a retired person looking for something to give them a LITTLE cash and get them out of their house. When reading the job description I know it would be part time but I didn't realize how few hours there would be. It was a great opportunity to gain experience in the field and add more to my resume.
Pros
Flexible work schedule, Work at own pace, Experience
Cons
Too few hours, poor instructions
Was this review helpful?Yes31No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 21, 2016
Great place to work if you want to manage your own hours and have flexibility. Pay is quite low unfortunately.
You get to chose how much and how often you work.
It is all set up on their website and once you accept a job you get all your instructions to print off and go and complete the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours, Worked 2 hours a month.
field service representative (Former Employee) –  Canton, PAJanuary 21, 2016
Could not get enough hours to compensate tracking jobs on the website and driving to locations, printing instructions and planograms, and using your cell phone. Automatic termination notice sent for 1 late report in LMS. Only got offered 2 locations at 1 hour intervals a month. Not worth the hassle and time you spend driving and using your own materials.
Pros
Meeting new people.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Vendor Representative (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNFebruary 15, 2016
I like working for Lawrence Merchandising because it is different from my normal full time job. I get to go into Target or other stores depending on where they need me and stock Jewelry and/or Sunglasses. I also do relabeling of different products when needed.
Pros
Make my own hours.
Cons
work away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COJanuary 21, 2016
I had been with the company six months and have had three different supervisors. Although you can make your own schedule, there are weeks where there are no jobs and you have no income. FSC's sent out "desperation" emails to fill jobs at the last minute but were never posted on the opportunities board. One week you can work 60 hours another 10. They do not pay any overtime, or actual drive time, they pay what google maps says during slow times. Sometimes they will pay a bonus but it does not cover hours travelled AND gas. They pay .10 an hour worked for printing directions but some of the directions can be up to 20 pages (color). Management does not care about the employees at all. You usually work alone but occasionally work with another person. The worst part of the job is the pay but the best part is you can make your own schedule and move things around.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
treat you poorly, nickel and dime you
Was this review helpful?Yes46No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible pay
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Lompoc, CAMay 27, 2016
They pay for travel, but not enough. You got to meet others occasionally when resets were performed which required several employees to complete the project
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, Flexible hours.
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 2, 2016
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time working with Lawrence Merchandising Services and would recommend this company to anyone who feels flexibility is important.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Field Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  MDFebruary 4, 2016
This company constantly changes management. Pay is very low and travel time is not paid unless it causes you to fall below minimum wage. Field staff is treated very poorly considering they are the face of the company.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay, travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
joke
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  St. Marys, PAJanuary 13, 2016
This place is a joke. Was on payroll for 3 weeks with not one job to do in my area. Training was ridiculous...all about working in a Target store. There isn't a Target within 100 miles of me!! Never bothered to pay me for the training either. Don't waste your time if you want a REAL job.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes34No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very flexible company
Merchandising Representative (Current Employee) –  New Market, VAMarch 28, 2016
Lawrence is a very flexible company to work with in the realm of your time management. The training is through and directions to each job are easy to understand.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility
MERCHANDISER (Current Employee) –  Kosciusko, MSDecember 9, 2015
I like having the flexiiblity of the jobs and the different types of jobs given. I have learned to do nail polish resets, formula resets and have done various different jobs. Some jobs I work in work and some I do alone.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistant
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Lenoir, NCJanuary 5, 2016
Available work in my area is very inconsistent. The online training is easy and self explanatory. This would be a great part-time job is more work were available.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience
Merchandiser - Southern California (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNOctober 9, 2015
A person could learn a lot from the company's guidelines and trainings. The schedule is flexible, but an employee could expect to a long wait for the next job to become available.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Merchandising Position offers Great Work/Life Balance
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXJuly 17, 2015
A typical work day requires that you accept an available opportunity in your area and receive any necessary materials; then the day includes arriving at the designated retailer where you will greet management, and explain the service to be provided. This job then requires that you pay close attention to detail and perform all services noted in the provided description and materials. All jobs can be handled by anyone with the ability to read and follow directions; no other special skills are required. Once the service is documented and all information has been uploaded to the online system, you are free to discuss the job with the store manager and be finished.
Pros
Flexibility, simple reporting system
Cons
Working 'team' jobs where others are not as responsible as you
Was this review helpful?Yes39No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Southside VaNovember 23, 2015
If you are new and get really sick, you lose your job, even with a doctors note.
I emailed that I would be out at least two days, couldn't guarantee it wouldn't be more, and I was overloaded with jobs.
All I got was- "Did you work your stores or not turn it in? I already told them I was very ill.
"It's YOUR responsibility to change your schedule. I told him I had a bad headache, didn't have the ability to schedule, my eyes hurt to read.
So I figured they were gonna dump me. The only way to shut up this idiot was " I quit". They never offered to help, take stores off.
When I got a doctors note and asked to come back, "ITS NOT A GOOD FIT RIGHT NOW" . I had to keep emailing for a reason. Finally he said it was the way I quit. They had to cover not only late ones, but all of them. THEY WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN LATE IF HE HAD USED MY CALLING IN SICK TO GET SOMEONE. He was gonna offer help, etc. But all he did was rant and rave.
They need a professional field service supervisor.
They give you lots of opportunities if you will travel 50 miles or more to a store. The gas expense eats up the 2/3 hours of work. I don't recommend them.
Pros
Schedule yourself, direct deposit.
Cons
You "aren't a good fit" if you are ill and they do not listen.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Service Rep - Merchandising
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNAugust 9, 2015
This is was my first position in Merchandising. I enjoyed working with the stores and meeting new people. Great way to network and learn how stores really work and the work their employees are required to complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and go at your own pace
Merchandiser/Vendor (Current Employee) –  Fredericktown, MOJuly 13, 2015
Lawrence allows you to work on your own time at your own pace. So its a good go to job for someone who needs flexible hours. Lawrence gives you the opportunity to work in several locations which is great because you get to work in different environments on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?Yes32No9

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lawrence Merchandising. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Lawrence Merchandising Reviews by Location