LAYNE CHRISTENSEN Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate needs to clean house. Before it's to late
Driller (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJune 24, 2017
Lot's of really great people. But management is out of control. There's a lot of certain people getting special treatment. But for the most part not much different than any other large drilling company
Long days and hard work
Pros
Decent equipment and the pay wasn't to bad
Cons
Seems like management takes care of certain people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very small company
Payroll processer (Current Employee) –  Pewaukee, WIMay 19, 2017
A very small company with mostly women. Not located in a popular area. The small outdated building was not enjoyable to be at. Heavy workload with very little pay. If you didn't finish your work you had to stay late or come in over the weekend. Not much room for growth or opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Helper (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 18, 2017
Company keeps the employees busy and management is good. Enjoy working for Layne. Going to get overtime if you are willing too. If you don't like being away from home don't apply. Perdeim is nice to have. And they buy hotel rooms for employees which is nice also.
Pros
Perdeim
Cons
Long time away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layne Chistensen Company is in a league by themselves.
Core Driller (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZDecember 27, 2016
Everyone works together works hard and safe keeping there drill rigs at the top of the industry. Very good paid, very well trained and very well equipped for the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the employees are wonderful people.
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXOctober 18, 2016
Co-workers is what keeps the company together. The management says one thing and then does another. Learned a lot about Excel that I didn't know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxx
Equipment Manager (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLOctober 14, 2016
is an very good place to work, they expect top notch performance and training is very good. the people you work with are true professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Energy developer and Water Rescources
Account Manager/ Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento County, CAOctober 10, 2016
Layne has a large reputation and has offices all over the world. High margins and a vast supply of assets sitting at the ready. Deep vertical water well capability makes this company a "GO TO" in deep exploration for energy.

For the cost saver ... LAYNE is not the low margin company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work in process,.
water resources division by assisting (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2016
This is a good company to start out with in the industry, However, it does not provide the sustainability needed for its employee's so that they can be content with their job and work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a laborer
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Woodland, TXSeptember 20, 2016
My Job was a Laborer for the company. My daily routine varied from day to day. But mostly consisted of connecting 12 inch pipe for a New fresh water treatment plant in Orlando Flordia. (the first one in north America) If we weren't running pipe then we were pouring concrete and filling forms.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
The heat was miserable at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position with good benefits
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Lock Haven, PASeptember 12, 2016
Was decent opportunity in the Construction field on a water waste project. I enjoyed the work and co workers were always decent. I learned a lot of new skills on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layne
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAAugust 26, 2016
Great company very tough to compete in California. Much competition with smaller leaner drilling companies. Monitoring wells was the main business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and created brown bag lunch to learn more about JD Edward
Accountant (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXMarch 21, 2016
Meet people that became lifetime friends but management was micro-managers. The duties were challenging which keep the day busy and added to skills but the work load was too much for one person!!
Pros
close to mall and resturants
Cons
micro-managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intensive
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Dracut, MAJanuary 13, 2016
The Days were long and the work was hard but you always had a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day. Day started typically at 6 am and end around 4 or later depending on the time of year and the work that was required that day but you tasks were clear and the job got done
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Accounting Management
Senior Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJanuary 6, 2016
Although my tenure with Layne was short-lived, it was a great experience. My managing team was great and focused on a balance between work and life. Work appreciation was a great part of every day. I learned how to be a better team player and the dynamics of our team worked well together. The worst part was not being able to help other team members due to checks and balances.
Pros
Appreciation, Team Building, Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding fun work place
Drill Hand (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZDecember 28, 2015
A typical day at work involved a lot of heavy lifting and digging with very few breaks. We worked in all weather conditions and only stopped if there was lightning. I learned how to fix the equipment we used, the different minerals in the ground, and a lot of other aspects of mining. My co-workers were my family and my team, we worked like a like a well oiled machine. The hardest part of the job was the long work schedule. The enjoyable part of the job was clearing the work site and moving to the next one.
Pros
Safety bonuses, benefits
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual work place but not secure.
administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CADecember 21, 2015
I used my office clerical skills to run and organize the office that was not established to begin with.
I created an office that was welcoming and organized.
I liked the casual environment but it was part time and not long term.
The fellow employees were accepting and helpful.
Pros
Casual workplace, great employee benefits.
Cons
Part time, all male employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of over time/ little time at home
Driller (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 5, 2015
long hours and big rewards. if you like working outside this is the job for you. also phsically demanding all day, if not digging a big hole in the ground lifting up drilling pipe and other equipment
Pros
big money/ lots of overtime
Cons
away from home alot. get used to it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compania enfocada a resultados,seguridad delos trabajadores
Water transfer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 8, 2015
Compania enfocada a resultados con sus clientes,creando cultura de seguridad en el trabajo,creando cultura de trabajo en equipo
Pros
cultura de seguridad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with advacment opportunities
Water Filtration/Mud Press Technician (Former Employee) –  Wyalusing, PAAugust 17, 2015
i ran there dewatering systems and did the chemistry to help separate the solids form the water that came back out of the gas well called flow back water which is captured in large tanks called flow back tanks i really enjoyed it there i also helped train people who were new and my manager had them work side by side with me until i told him that they were ready to go on there own all of my co workers where great and would probably would give you the shirt off there back the most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of being trusted to teach people what i knew and that management trusted me to do it the hardest part of my job was trying to train someone who just would not listen or care about there job
Pros
Great managment
Cons
not always the right tool for the job at hand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No pay is worth the lifestyle of the oilfield
Field Lead (Former Employee) –  San Angelo/ MidlandJuly 28, 2015
12 hour shift not including 2-4 hour drive time
learned problem solving and patients
Management would not listen to the employees
small minded employees with no education
no days off for months and being away from family and friends was hard
paychecks are the only reason the oilfields exist
Pros
money
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LAYNE CHRISTENSEN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

85%
14 ratings
Add your rating