Layton Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast busy
Lead Carpenter/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJanuary 21, 2018
everybody experiences things differently so I'm not going to speculate the company as a whole for me fun , fast , money is good , it was just time for me to part ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTNovember 27, 2017
If you are a female forget trying to advance in your "career" with Layton, as I was personally told I should be home taking care of my kids and not working. Also, I was required to train others for the position that was "promised" to me, but I became to "Valuable" in my position that I was passed over and ignored for the promotions and advancements.
Pros
most of the people were wonderful on a personal level
Cons
business practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of Utah's finest companies to work for
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sandy, UTNovember 13, 2017
Layton Construction is a great place to work! Company management is great. The company is a fun environment, with many benefits including a cereal bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 29, 2017
Work/life balance was good. Was put on interesting projects with some good teams. Upper management was mediocre. Company treated us pretty well. Traveled with the company.
Pros
Work/Life balance
Cons
Got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive work field
Construction Laborer (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GASeptember 6, 2017
It was a very good environment to work in. I learned so many new things working around all of the different trades here. I would have loved it a lot more if it wasn't temporary though.
Pros
Fun workplace with balanced schedules
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the click gets advanced and layoff the older more experienced old fast carpenter for young and cheaper workers
Lead Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Sandy utahSeptember 1, 2017
People don't quit companies , people quit management and poor compensations , this company used to be better , it has become a dog eat dog place where the bottom line is the top and only priority where you beg for a raise and systems stay the same , advancement opportunities are slim unless you hang out with field management for hunting trips ,
Pros
Good people to work along with
Cons
Low wages, cheaper by the year benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and helpful management
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIAugust 6, 2017
Be prepared to work in a fast pacee environment but don't be discouraged there will be plenty of help as you work on projects. Your managers are more than willing to help but you have to be sure to ask for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall conditions good, job security less so
Assisstant Superintendent/Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJuly 28, 2017
Youth seemed to be very important to the company, with not so much emphasis on what could be contributed, as much as what age the individual was. I enjoyed my time there, but was looking over my shoulder at times, worried about what was actually required of me.
Pros
Easy to get along with everyone, generally speaking.
Cons
Inconsistencies in management style at times, poor follow-up with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good to work for.
Form Setter (Current Employee) –  Murray, UTApril 28, 2017
It's almost three years now that I've started with Layton and I would like it to continue! They've been fair the way I've been treated as an employee too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace workplace
Labor LEAD (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLApril 21, 2017
Nonstop activity while working with a management team who was eagered to teach you the businss . The most enjoyable part for me was learning different elements about the job and meeting new people.
Pros
Everyone was a team player
Cons
Reaiiy I cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layton is a quality company
Foreman, Concrete Carpenter/ Finisher (Former Employee) –  Boise, ID 83709March 28, 2017
Layton has some of the best benefits in the industry. Company has challenges in estimating in different regions of country where heavy work loads are prospering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
ATFL operator (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 6, 2015
layton construction has some very demanding jobs but the benefits an pay makes up for that as well as employee satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific work atmosphere
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brentwood, TNMay 31, 2015
Local management is incredible. Very flexible with my schedule while I was attending classes. Advancement is available with pursuit of further degree
Pros
generous with employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting career oppertunity
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sandy UtahMay 8, 2015
Layton was a great company to work for, they have a great work ethic and I would enjoy working for them again in the future. The company treats their employees right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting building a ski resort in Park City
General Contractor (Current Employee) –  Sandy, UTDecember 1, 2013
Very Interesting learning about snow and water removal in a ski area. Excavation, underground, retaining wall technology all very cutting edge.
Pros
Park City iss home of Sundance Film Festival
Cons
Upper Management weak
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your work is appreciated, When complete you'll be looking again
carpenter (Former Employee) –  Salt lake city UtahNovember 13, 2013
Your work was appreciated, but if you happened to be the low man on the totem pole, when cuts come, you are x'd.
The hardest part of the job was making sure every one was happy, that sometimes was difficult, because the implemented costs were not included in the bids, therefor getting all people satisfied, sometimes took ingenuity.
The most enjoyable part was that at the end of the day you knew you did all that was possible to complete the tasks given you
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction Project Superintendent
PROJECT SUPERINTENDENT (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2013
They are a good company to work with. Great people and a good culture. really believe in safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee) –  Slc UtahMarch 11, 2013
my duties included getting ready for and pouring concrete maintaining a safe job site I learned how to build concrete forms for walls and how to work safe
Pros
good pay and benefits working outdoors very safety conscious
Cons
labor intense work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great people
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 1, 2012
Great company.

Long days, fulfilling.

good balance with work and familty.

good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Layton Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 20 reviews
59
47
33
21
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture