Le Bonheur Children's Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing hospital
Child Life Specialist Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 13, 2016
Typical day at LeBonheur is dynamic and ever changing. I learned much each day from staff and patients, there is always something new to discover. The management in the Child Life Department was phenomenal. Co-workers throughout the department and entire hospital were positive, fun and enjoyable to work alongside. Advancement from intern to a full time position is difficult. As a parent who had their child admitted to this hospital after having worked there, I can say nothing other than that the staff and facility were outstanding for my son while he was an inpatient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 18, 2016
Great place to work. There are always events rewarding the accomplishments of the hospital. The patient to staff is poor, however. Med surg floors hold 24 beds. Duties of the nursing assistant include: charting intake and output, heights/weights, rounding, bed changes, floor stocking,and the basic ADLs. On night shift, there will usually be only one CNA on the floor and one unit coordinator. Night shift workers are expected to perform dual roles as well. Some nights you may work as a nursing assistant, some nights you may be a sitter, and some nights you may be a unit coordinator. The staff for the most part is friendly and easy to get along with, but there are a few bad apples. The management experience is different on each unit. From my personal experience, there has been a lot of unfulfilled promises on hiring new CNAs to help out. Also, I was under the impression that they would work with my school schedule since they "promote" education advancement. I asked to go down to part time (due to a Mon-Fri daytime class) and was told that she (my director) doesn't hire part-time. This was very disappointing news, especially since I've been there 2 years. Im now forced to resign.
Pros
great benefits, good pay, self-scheduling
Cons
short staffed, won't work with school schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Neonatal Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 17, 2016
Lebonheur is a remarkable place to work. The environment is one that foster and provides the greatest quality of care and services for its customers. The opportunity to be included in providing these services and caring for the customers is the most enjoyable part of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Player
Nursing Administrative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 4, 2016
You must be a team player to work here. Have a positive attitude and pleasing personality. Be patient and a great listener is required in a hospital environment.
Pros
Benefits, great people to work with, It's all about the children seeing the heal and their smiles.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pediatric RN
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 26, 2016
I have worked here for many years. It is a great environment, particularly for a new graduate RN. Great orientation program and lots of educational opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Le Bonheur
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 2, 2016
Le Bonheur is an amazing place to work. It has a scenery like no other and an amazing work family. Anyone we be honored to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 25, 2015
Everything may be fast paced, but the mission is to take care of the children and their families. I love how everything is do "kid" friendly in here. Everyone works well together, it's like being apart of a big family. Parents can trust their child is in great hands coming here. The professionalism is at a all time high here. There is plenty of room to grow and move up. This hospital encourages furthering education. It's just great all around here.
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Unit Secretary/Utility Aide (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 20, 2015
It was my first job after graduating from a Medical Assistant, Everyone was so nice and loved their job. I worked a 12 hour shift and it was my very first night job. I really enjoyed working as a part of the Team!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Productive
Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 24, 2015
I enjoy the hospital and team members. I worked here before and returned!
Management remains "TASK ORIENTED" ..Nurses today are technologically savvy critical thinkers who coordinate care across a broad spectrum of healthcare. To be successful, they must be well-educated, well-trained, and able to lead patient care
Pros
Great Peoples
Cons
Having to see sick children
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ensuring the safety and security of all patients, staff, visitors and property.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 20, 2014
I love doing work for LeBonheur. I love my job and my fellow officers I work with.
Pros
security week
Was this review helpful?Yes31No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving the Children
Executive Administrative/Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 4, 2014
I think that Le Bonheur is a great to work because it has a mission to saving the lives of our children. That was motiviation for me to take on the positon at Le Bonheur.

The benefits are execellent and the staff was great with great levels of morale. I found it as a good job.
Pros
great people to encounter
Cons
salaries were a little low
Was this review helpful?Yes32No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clinic nurses are not appreciated by management
former employee (Former Employee) –  memphis, tnApril 14, 2014
Eventhough the clinics are affiliated with Lebonheur Hospital they shouldn't be because they give the hospital a bad name. The work is not hard and the hours are great for a working Mom or wife who can no longer handle hospital 12 hour shifts. The kids are great and the environment is clean. Management is weak, they are not a good voice for their workers and do not provide opportunity for advancement. They also do not appreciate their workers. They teach correct values, but don't represent them the way they should. The clinic managers, Kim Lewis and Martha Thomas, should be sent to a management class.
Pros
weekdays no nights, holidays or weekends
Cons
clinic management, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes46No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for children and families
ECMO/CRRT/Apheresis Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Memphis, Tn.September 3, 2013
I have learned a great deal throughout my career journey at Le Bonheur, and have acquired skills that have significantly contributed to my growth as both a nurse, and as a leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adapt well to changes
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TennesseeAugust 12, 2013
1st thing in the morning check phone messages and emails. Meetings are subject change at a moment's notice.
The office at times can be a little loud with many people coming in for meetings.
Multitask daily.
Enjoy staying busy, working independently or as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisifying job with great interaction with patients and families
Utility Aide (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TnAugust 11, 2013
Ordered medical supplies for the unit, ordered formula and food items for the patients. Stocked patient care areas with linen and gowns. Stocked nurses stations with items needed throughout the day. Transported patients for tests. Sat for receptionist daily for lunch and breaks or if there was a call in: answered multi line phone, utilized Intego paging system and tubed specimens to lab department.
Pros
worked on the same unit as my sister
Cons
seeing very ill children daily knowing some would not improve
Was this review helpful?Yes19No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun family atmoshere
Emergency Department Technician (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 18, 2013
The part about working at this place is i loved the feeling i got when i helped someone's child smile in the time of pain while in the fear of the unknown.
Pros
pay roll deductions when you want to shop at the gift shop.
Cons
the staff with no children had no compassion.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical
Medical Coder (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 27, 2013
I have learned a lot, I would like to work there also. The co-work are very nice and help with anything they can and the best part is I had the most enjoyment as possible here and the best co-workers as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Politics
Executive (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 20, 2012
My position comes with a lot of politics and that makes each day a challenge. Most days are really good because of the multitude of knowledge that surrounds you. I work closely with Neurologist and I prepare protocols for various different types of studies. Therefore, I really enjoy the work that I do; because it helps children. My co-workers have been very distant, I have been here one year and I can not tell you that it is easy working in a department with moral issues, such as this one, but I have managed. The hardest part of my job is dealing with the office politics. What I enjoy most is writing the studies and working with UT IRB to get them approved for research.
Pros
open office, lots of lunches by vendors, and education is phenominal.
Cons
there are none.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respiratory therapists beware!
RRT (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 16, 2012
LeBonheur Children's Hospital is the greatest place to work and serve our young people in the mid-south. This hospital goes above and beyond for their patients and their families, and for me, this has been the best place I have ever worked, until the witch showed her true colors. If you are a respiratory therapist, do not apply here. There is no job security. The current respiratory director is a liar and backstabber. She likes to feel like she has power and tries to intimidate her staff. Those who do not submit to her get fired for any reason she can think of. She receives horrible reviews from her peers every year and yet remains on staff, even though she evidently suffers from signs of alzheimers. Turn over is incredible in the respiratory dept., and upper management will hopefully realize that she gives LeBonheur a bad name for allied health workers. Once the current respiratory director is gone, LeBonheur will once again be a wonderful place for RTs to work.
Pros
truly cares for children, loving staff, fun environment
Cons
respiratory director makes it a horrible place for rt's
Was this review helpful?Yes65No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for a very good cause, the care of children.
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 13, 2012
Taking Inventory,cleanliness of kitchen and kitcken staff,making promotion,cash counting,interviewing.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Le Bonheur Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
4.2

Le Bonheur Children's Hospital Reviews by Location