Leander Independent School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough personnel to support students/too many meetings
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  Leander, TXOctober 18, 2017
District budget is tight; required to do more and more work which requires working outside of regular work hours. Too many meetings that cut into planning time.
Pros
Most of the summer off
Cons
Continually required to prove worth as educator
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic School District
Intern in Speech-Language Pathology (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXSeptember 12, 2017
Leander is a phenomenal school district! There is an incredible amount of support from both district and campus staff. Teachers and campus staff are understanding and appreciate your role on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Child Nutrition Worker (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXSeptember 9, 2017
Took great care and pride in making sure that the Children were getting the healthiest meals needed. The whole School District is one that cannot be compared to. I miss it
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Looking for a summer job every year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient place to work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXAugust 21, 2017
I enjoyed the support from all the teachers and administrative staff while working there. Substituting is very intimidating but the staff made my time there enjoyable and boosted my confidence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with flexibility
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXAugust 20, 2017
Wonderful place to work. Had a great time with everyone. Work is mostly easy but can get lively around peak times. Wish pay was a bit different. Overall good place.
Pros
Good pay and hours
Cons
Responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong district but very stressful.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXAugust 9, 2017
I had many great years there. I made long-lasting relationships. I am proud of my years as a teacher of children and have fond memories of the lives I've touched. It is just time for me to find a new challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXJuly 30, 2017
I enjoyed my time at Leander Independent School District. It was fast paced and the days went by quickly. My coworkers were fun to work with and we had very good times together.
Pros
Co workers and my bosses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fine job
Textbook Warehouse Temp (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXJuly 27, 2017
Straightforward job bringing textbooks from schools and re-shelving them. Good work environment. Manager and assistant manager were good people and easy to work with/for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schedules work well for family life.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJuly 23, 2017
Schedules work well for family life. Management is sympathetic and caring. There is some room for advancement, but only if you have a 4 year degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusion Support
Teacher Assistant in IBC, Resource Inclusion (Current Employee) –  Leander, TXJuly 14, 2017
I help assist students with their assignments and make sure their IEP is met. I make sure that they get their modifications. I transition some students to class. I have learned that every student has the ability to succeed. The management is encouraging and positive to their staff. The workplace culture is motivational to all staff members.
The hardest part of the job is getting to advance to the next step.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the students and seeing their growth. I love the relationships that are made with the students as well as the staff members.
Pros
Paid time during the summer breaks.
Cons
The salary is a con.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Math and Reading Tutor (Former Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJuly 10, 2017
A great job for a stay at home parent. The daily schedule was flexible because you made your own hours with in any given school day. The job is perfect for anyone who loves children and creativity. Very rewarding to watch a child's reading and math skills improve over the school year.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every minute of it!!
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXJuly 9, 2017
Best work environment. Principal was fantastic and the communication was outstanding. Treated ALL employees as equals and included them in everything. Teacher was outstanding.
Pros
Positive work place, worked as a team
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and pursuit of academic excellence
Facilitator/Instructor (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJuly 8, 2017
Excellent culture and academic excellence. Excellent people and community support for schools. Worked with school outreach program and had the opportunity to meet individuals district wide.
Pros
Pursuit of academic excellence.
Cons
Little opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Child Nutrition Service Cafeteria Manager (Current Employee) –  Leander, TXJune 28, 2017
Leander ISD is a great place to work with a good community of leaders to help you understand and grow in the work place. Leander ISD provides you with competitive benefits that meet your household needs. With good pay and flexible work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work for decent pay, with some really great people.
General Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Cedar Park, TXJune 24, 2017
Good work environment, some challenging tasks which, of course is a good thing, working with really good, decent, hardworking people. I have enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok for job for retiree
bus driver (Current Employee) –  1701 w new hopeJune 22, 2017
Enjoyed driving a bus , some days are somewhat stressful..
awesome staff always there to help in any way..hardest part of the
job was the noise level of children and no air-conditioner.
Pros
getting paid bi-weekly
Cons
not getting paid in the summer and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
office (Current Employee) –  Austin, TX 78731June 12, 2017
Great place to work. Pay could be better and medical benefits are horrible! Otherwise, great work environment! Great hours! Family oriented!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school district to work in and grow
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leander, TXJune 11, 2017
LISD has been a very positive experience for me as I get ready to have my own classroom. The teachers I have worked with are very supportive and want you to succeed. The students are great to be around with a culture is positive. A great place work, full of good leaders.
Pros
Good teachers, loving hearts and open minds. Admin is tops
Cons
IA need structure and processes in class to be better tools for the instructors
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Principle is incompetent and vindictive
CERTIFIED TEACHER Leander High School (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXJune 5, 2017
fellow teachers are very helpful and supportive. the administration is weak and will not support the teachers. The principle is a psycho vindictive beast. LISD promotes incompetence which the that principle has been promoted to district.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tasks were easy and satisfying
Technology Aide (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXMay 25, 2017
Management was fine. Workplace culture was very friendly. I learned about systems networks and patching. The hardest part of the job wasn't really difficult just annoying, when a computer would have some kind of glitch and we would have to start over again with setting it up.
Pros
very relaxed attitude towards the work and friendly coworkers
Cons
buildings were hot, paid minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Leander Independent School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Leander Independent School District Reviews by Location