Legacy Health System Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legacy is a great place to work!
Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  CorporateOctober 13, 2015
Legacy is a fun, dynamic place to work. I gave four stars across the board just because there is always room for improvement!
I worked in Benefits and loved it. Everyday was different.
The culture is great--the senior leadership really try to make your voice heard.
Pros
Benefits, employees that care, salary
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, modern LEED certified facility, fantastic management
CLINICAL ANESTHESIA SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WASeptember 24, 2015
A non-teaching, non- trauma facility that rarely sees 'sick' patients. That said, the staff and management are a pleasure to work with. Our small department was given almost total anonymity and trust by both our leadership and the physician group we were there to assist. Legacy leadership expects top quality work from their staff, but gives you to tools to shine.
The hardest part of the job was; at this particular hospital in the system, they rarely operate on 'difficult' patients. Those are sent to the 'parent' hospital, a regional Level I Trauma Center. Most days are very routine, so if you look to test your skills, it won't happen very often.
However, they are very (exceedingly) supportive of input on ways to make the system and healthcare in general better.
Pros
Education, management equipment, support
Cons
Health insurance, retirement plan- but that's everywhere now
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare system that is based in the Portland metro area
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 22, 2015
The most important part of this job was the long standing relationships that I made with my co workers and people that were hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neurdiagnostics/EEG
REEGT (Former Employee) –  Portland -VancouverSeptember 11, 2015
Management cares more the bottom line than the well being of the staff. On call Technologist covers 5 hospitals and a Children's Hospital with multiple EMU beds, LTMS and inpatients spread over the metropolitan Portland area and Vancouver, WA. There is poor support from the adult Neurologists and heavy late night call backs for all facilities. High burn out job! Other staff set in their ways and not overly friendly - very standoffish and no friendliness or lightheartedness was promoted in the workplace. Not a job for the person who has children or wants quality of life.
Pros
Love Portland
Cons
Not employee/family friendly company, Excessive callbacks
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Telecommunications Engineer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 6, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them. The office started to get crowded as the company grew.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admitting is a "First Impression" department and sets the "Tone" for a patients stay.
Admitting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 25, 2015
Legacy Emanuel Hospital was an exciting place to work. During my years of employment I watched with pride as the hospital became a designated Level 1 Trauma Center! My Manager was always supportive and had the ability to motivate her employee to grow and become the best they possibly could be. She recognized each employee's strengths and used them to help our department grow to excellence. I enjoyed working with the patients so much and I developed life long friends with my team members. The most challenging part of my job was keeping up with the Insurances. When we first started coding the insurance there was only about twelve codes to learn but by the time I retired from Emanuel there were many times over that and I kept a three ring binder with coding for each type of insurance. In a way it was fun but also very demanding!
Pros
Working with people, both patients and coworkers. I loved the benefit package and found real satisfaction with my job!
Cons
Working weekends and holidays, Often department is working short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is decent
Imaging Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORJuly 2, 2015
they pay you enough to keep you here but not enought to make you want to stay. if there is a sick call they wont call another person in to fill the sick call spot they just have us be short all day. that puts more work and stress on the few staff members that do work. getting time off is a pain unless you submit your request 6 months in advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that allows its employees to provide the best patient care
Clinical Research Coordinator I/ Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 31, 2015
The hardest part of my job was coordinating international telephone calls to fit both my availability and the availability of the sites involved in my project. The most enjoyable part of my job was the people that I worked with and the ability to always provide the best service to all.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Not enough work to keep me busy resulting in the elimination of my position due to budget
Was this review helpful?Yes11No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Care Management Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAMay 20, 2015
I loved working for Legacy. I have worked at other area hospitals and the quality of care and quality of staff do not compare to Legacy. I don't have any complaints about the company. I have worked in two different positions at two different times and each time worked with people who truly cared about their job and were there for the right reason. I am regretting ever resigning because I want back into this great system.
Pros
Co-workers, quality of care, quality of staff, campus
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providence
ER Registar (Current Employee) –  Portland,ORMay 14, 2015
An incredibly fun department to work in! Made life long friends but the ER managemnet picked favorites and was not very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 27, 2015
A nice place to work the only disadvantage is management it definitely needs some improvement. We had some busy clinic days but overall it was fun, some co-workers were really fun to work with. Overall I learned a lot with Legacy hardest part of the job was management very impartial.
Pros
Good Benefis
Cons
Improvement in management, too much favoritism between co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend anyone work for Legacy
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Multiple hospitalsDecember 30, 2014
Wouldn't recommend anyone work for Legacy. Life is probably nice in the George Brown Ivory tower, but for the ground level employees the benefits are terrible, especially when compared to other healthcare companies. No opportunities for advancement, unless of course you are friends with someone high up or your dad is a legacy surgeon or something. The nepotism and lack of integrity is downright disgusting. HR dept won't enforce policies. A running joke in the workplace is that if there wasn't mismanagement at Legacy there would be none at all. Run like a true communist organization with the people at the top reaping all the benefits and people at the bottom left holding the bucket. Avoid if at all possible. On the plus side if you don't do your job or are a total screw up they will never get rid of you and blame your lack of competence on your coworkers, so good job security there. Our department actually had to file a lawsuit to get Legacy to pay for our lunch breaks that they forced us to work through for years, we won a settlement. Finally, nothing is seniority based and the longer you are there the more eager they are to "lighten the payroll".
Pros
job is stable
Cons
had to sue to get paid lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes85No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst pay and benefits
Materials Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 15, 2014
I met some amazing people at Legacy, but the benefits are absolutely terrible compared to other area hospitals. Advancement isn't impossible, but you really need to be patient and keep your head low.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
lacking advancement, embarrassing benefits and pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes55No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing boot camp, Fast pace, wide variety, huge learrning experience
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 12, 2014
The nurses and Doctors are some of the best I have seen. The facility has some very nice areas an older areas.
Pros
work with some of the best nurses and doctors, can learn a lot!
Cons
high turnover, no union, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes60No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetence
patient transportation aide (Former Employee) –  Emanuel hospitalJuly 24, 2013
Worked as patient transportation Aide. Managements only goal was to reduce staffing. Supervisors would actually lurk around corners, and spy on employees. They had almost no knowledge of the jobs which they were supervising. The management were not facilitators, and were of no help in the performance of job duties.to sum up management was incompetent , paranoid and clueless
,
Pros
decent pay, benifts
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes76No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable yet very professional environment
Accounts Payable Lead III (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 1, 2013
This was my favorite place to work. I enjoyed the people and I enjoyed the work.
Pros
excellent benefits, flexible
Cons
individual management practices
Was this review helpful?Yes23No27
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, poor managment
Neuro (Former Employee) –  Portland, OregonMay 29, 2013
Great Doctors that gave great service. Managment was not the best, they could not do my job if they had to. Some of the coworkers had poor customer service and managment was aware and did nothing, because the employees had been at the job forever. Loved the job but couldn't deal with poor managment. Said one thing and did another. Covered 5 hospital on a weekend with no back up help. On call 24-7.
Pros
great doctors
Cons
work to many hours with no back up help on weekends when on call.
Was this review helpful?Yes92No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE LEAD (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 28, 2013
Balance Payables in system
Team Lead so lined out my staff and helped when needed
Maintained Vendors/ verifying conflict of interest and 1099.

management was great

enjoyed working with co-workers

Didn't have a hardest part of job

Teaching staff to improve on their work
Pros
great people
Cons
reorganization job elemenated
Was this review helpful?Yes16No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great physicians and clinic staff.
Medical Assistant with Xray (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 9, 2013
Enjoyed coming to work everyday! Everyday was a new adventure and always learning something new.
Pros
potlucks!
Cons
overtime not allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes15No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work family ever! Healthcare attracts great people!
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 27, 2013
I enjoyed my years with Legacy and room for advancement. As most hospitals in this economy it is about the "bottom line". Legacy Heath has great benefits and retirement package. Our department was eliminated and the information center closed.

I would still enjoy working for Legacy Health if there was an opening in my particular area of expertise.
Pros
great benefits and retirement!
Cons
"the bottom line" changing the culture and trust for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No15

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture