Find companies:
Legg Mason
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Legg Mason Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Pay, Poor Job Security, Long Commute
Executive / Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTMay 5, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: job security, long commute
I loved working there, until my boss left the company and my job was basically eliminated. Good pay, but a very long commute for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience with good upper management
Developer Analyst II (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDJanuary 21, 2014
Excellent work environment with good ethics. Cutting edge technology , ideal place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication / great people
Assistant Vice President - Accounting Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: cuts and change
A typical day at work would be adjusting and /or reviewing fund budgets. I learned more than I could have ever imagined at Legg. I was exposed to many aspects of the Funds as well as different departments. Management tried hard to keep up with the changes but ultimately all the cuts really put a lot of pressure on the employees. My co workers were really – more... nice, hardworking people. The hardest part of the job was wondering what was coming down the pike next. What was being eliminated, changed and/or introduced. Not knowing what was happening next was really hard. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great boss and group. We really stuck together and made the best out of every situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grown
Student Intern (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 25, 2013
This is a good place to work at if you need some quick money.This job will teach you alot of things in life which will make you a better person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive Internal Sales
Internal Sales (Former Employee), Stamford, CTSeptember 27, 2013
50-60 Calls and 5-7 set appointments per day
Learned objection handling and presentation selling
Experienced significant management changes
Competitive work environment
Rapidly changing economic conditions presented many challenges
Very rewarding when sales efforts led to investment success for clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun enviornment
Receptionist (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Legg Mason provides a great enviornment to work in. It has great management and wonderful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work in Baltimore
Annuities Associate (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDJuly 26, 2013
Company experienced hardship in last few years but is a great company to work for
Management was ethical and responsible
People were honest and direct
Always supportive of you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to learn and grow
Network Support Analyst (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 19, 2013
I am forever grateful the experiences that I received both technically and personally. I learned the value of having systems and protocols in place that protect the integrity of information. I worked with a team that was proactive and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 2, 2013
Pros: pleasant workplace, enjoyable work, good salary
Cons: department moved out of state
A typical day was from 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM. Mostly taking care of clients over phone and e-mail. Some heavy days of processing trades, opening accounts or doing maintenance on accounts. Learned to work very well with co-workers as a team, learned much about how the business works. Management was very professional and understanding of the team's needs. – more... Co-workers were great, we were a very cohesive group, worked very well together. Stayed friends with most of them. Hardest part of the job was trying to avoid making mistakes on trades. The most enjoyable part was the working as a team with my coworkers and also attending to our clients needs that after many years of mutual contact over the phone and e-mail some friendships were formed even though some were half way around the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Admin Asst/Facilities Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 4, 2012
While I enjoyed the work I performed, I wasn't acknowledged for that performance. I was hired as an Admin Asst, however, performed the responsibilities of a Facilities Manager. I worked closely with outside vendors and building management. My co-workers were great as there were approximately 160 of us. I most enjoyed being needed and solving employee – more... issues on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job was being layed off along with 59 others due to corporate restructuring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tech Dept is changing
Director, Global Performance Operations (Former Employee), Stamford, CTAugust 9, 2012
Pros: flexibility and work from home options
Cons: frequent changes in the overall focus of technology function
Once the changes have completed I believe Legg Mason will be a place to work. There has been a major overhaul in the technology are over the last 2 years. The company values the work/life balance but it depends on your manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LM was a great place to work.
Associate (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJune 27, 2012
LM was a great place to work. It was a great place to start my career.