Leslie's Poolmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic
Inbound Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 18, 2018
low pay with a lot of responsibility. not worth it. too many calls not enough people working no overtime and rude rude customers. most positions are temp any not the job for you if you have kids
Pros
cheap sodas in break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a good time
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZ 85710January 15, 2018
The work there was a good learning experience for me as my first job. I was expecting it to be hard, but it was surprisingly easy once I learned the basics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced place to work
Lead Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Wayne, PAJanuary 14, 2018
Summer time is stressful because of demand of supplies. There is always something to do however when it rains not many people come in the store so you pretty much get paid to do nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJanuary 13, 2018
It took me a little bit to figure some of the stuff out, mainly the balancing of the chemicals.
Liked working there, got along great with everyone.
Came in one day and at the end of a very odd shift, I was cut for the season, sucked because no one knew until that day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great stepping stone
Assistant Manager/ LSA (Former Employee) –  Rohnert Park, CAJanuary 11, 2018
It was a great stepping stone especially for a young college student such as I was during time of employment. I really learned the fine details of customer service and the pleasure of talking to someone who knows about and is enthusiastic about the products the company has to offer.
Pros
affable coworks and good hours
Cons
no benefits and sometimes work gets slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a intermediate pace retail- warehouse.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
Management was very clear on policy and procedures how the store was to look at what were the sales goal. The commute to work was reasonable. The other members of the team were typically helpful.
Pros
learning pool water chemistry
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful days and always on call
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSDecember 30, 2017
Stressing out over the job can put stress on your marriage even though you don’t bring it home. Assistant managers can be a help and a hindrance sometimes.
Pros
Sometimes getting away is a good thing
Cons
Don’t get involved in politics of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 27, 2017
This was a temporary position for me. I worked there thru a staffing agency. i Ultimately left because i needed a permanent position. The company is a great company for the permanent employees. They really value their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to learn something in most departments
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Queen Creek, AZDecember 27, 2017
If you're at the right location and have a willing teacher what you can learn from a pool store is endless. You can learn something new and different every week for years and still b able to leave not knowing everything. There's plenty room for advancement as well..
Pros
continual learing
Cons
during summeris it gets crazy busy, short breaks if any sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHDecember 21, 2017
great place to work. friendly staff and management. always room for advancement within the company. Great work core values. Customers rate it excellent service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the very bottom of the retail barrel for manager pay
Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 20, 2017
If your used to minimum wages then this is a step up, if you want anything in life as time goes along then you'll never EVER get it here...they pay NO ONE in this company a decent wage...You'll never ever have a house , a decent car, or anything else working here...for Billionaires.......
Pros
None
Cons
Pay, fumes from chemicles, too much lifting, pay sucks!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great summer job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, NHDecember 6, 2017
If you are looking to work here for the whole summer, you will be laid off after 4th of July. Pool business slows down after then and manager claims he "has" to let go all temp employees afterwards. Training also did not prepare me for this job at all. Simply watching outdated VCR tapes about the company does not train you about all of the chemicals that are sold in store. The lead manager was not very helpful or beneficial when it came to training either. Assistant manager was very helpful and was a team player. Unfortunately the lead manager only seemed to want to help themselves. Overall not a great experience working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever!
General Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 4, 2017
If you love not having a home life, horrible pay, brown nose employees, and being promised incentives with no possible way to make them, then this is the job for you!
Pros
Health benefits.
Cons
Everything. Pay, hours, management. Corporate nonsense and traveling without paid mileage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unattainable bonuses
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2017
Underpaid and overworked. No work life balance. Understaffed. Horrible regional managers. Would call and make you send home part time office staff with no questions of what your needs are.
Pros
Most customers are enjoyable
Cons
Really underpaid for their expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the team members I worked with
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2017
Every day different had many store that I corresponded with as well as customer base.
Loved the sales aspect but the Travel was weekly and driving 99% of the time.
Pros
Time off-benefits- holidays- commissions
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stop
Volunteer work packing food for the hungry (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 25, 2017
The oldest classical Greek and Latin writing had little or no space between words and could be written in boustrophedon (alternating directions). Over time, text direction (left to right) became standardized
Pros
The oldest classical Greek and
Cons
The oldest classical Greek and Latinire
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter career
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXNovember 16, 2017
No real growth opportunity. I was a go getter, and ambitious yet once I became a Manager I was stuck in that position for 9 years. I held some titles that added responsibilities yet didn't offer pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job while in school
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VANovember 15, 2017
Starting out it was a good company to for the most part is. Some parts how its run like being able to compete with out stores on pricing changed and made it more difficult but overall is a typical retail chain. Management was always helpful and nice to work with. It is competitive in a way to meet goals for the store. If your good at retail and able to sell you can move up to a Manger spot or even district manager. Everything is organized and set out so you don't have to stress to much.
Pros
Has benefits for full-time staff
Cons
Even if it snows 12" outside and everyone else in the world is closed, Yes Leslies will still be open.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  NevadaNovember 14, 2017
Leslies is a terribly managed company with a high level of manager turnover. If you don't get let go in the winter the hours are slim and during the summer good luck getting a day off. I worked in 2 stores and both of them were understaffed so we would work 6-7 days a week. I also saw a lot of questionable business practices.
Pros
Large Paycheck In Summer
Cons
Hours, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned about pools.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 13, 2017
Beside the chemical smells had a outstanding Manager. Learn all aspects pool operations.Learned how to work on equipment. Able to managed 5 person work crew.
Pros
Day went by fast.
Cons
Exposure to chemicals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Leslie's Poolmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 445 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2