Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work environment
Office Administration Intern (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 20, 2015
Positive energy all around you, and the opportunity to work towards a great cause. Great opportunity for team building.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYApril 16, 2015
• Helped to navigate patients to the right information about their specific diagnoses
• Followed up with newly diagnosed patients to ensure that are able to access services needed to
• Managed patients’ cancer diagnosis
• Entered financial applications from patients and informing them of the aid they will receive
• Organized and held support groups for children ages 11-14 whose parents had been diagnosed with cancer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun office, great staff, important mission
Special Events Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed going to work every day at LLS. The Senior/Executive staff interact with everyone in the office, there is no division. They also strongly support the well being of the staff - bringing in a therapy dog, yoga classes and other healthy initiatives. Holiday potlucks and happy hours are just a few ways that the staff gets to know one another. Most importantly, everyone fully supports the mission and is willing to go to any event to lend a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non profit organization
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYOctober 27, 2014
I enjoyed working here I felt it was for a good cause.
I answered all calls, did a lot of inputting for fundraisers and also packing and shipping items out. Many mass mailings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharing ideas to connect cancer survivors and patients.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  IrvineSeptember 2, 2014
Work on a enthusiastic team to share ideas to connect cancer survivors and patients for support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good organization doing a fine job to help others.
Telerecruiter (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAAugust 28, 2014
LLS had a n excellent work environment; people pulled together. I liked the challenge of raising money for people who are less fortunate. We started early at 7:30 and finished at 3:00. Schools were called and a conversations were started with class representatives and principals to sign on for the two-week program of involving students in gathering spare change at home and bringing it in to their classrooms where it was tallied. Teachers and nurses were the natural person to approach with our pitch.Not signing up every school is the hardest part of the job. Most enjoyable was the daily satisfaction of helping others in life.
Pros
close to home, just a 20 minute commute, worthy endeavor for me.
Cons
job was only six months each year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and great organizational cause
Bookkeeper & Matching Gifts Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 8, 2014
A typical day at work consist of processing A/P, ensuring all revenue is coded to the correct accounts, posting journal entries to the cash template, doing adjusting entries, month end bank reconciliation, process chapter expense reports via Concur. Ensure staff is following proper internal controls.
Pros
great cause
Cons
compensation and career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing workplace
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 4, 2014
The job is rather relaxing and technically, I wouldn't find anything wrong with working in an office dwelling, which is why I sent my resume here. My co-workers were also friendly too.
Pros
weekends off, long breaks.
Cons
traveling there, it wasn't paid as it was only a vocational program
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized and professional
School Outreach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Meriden, CTFebruary 13, 2014
It was a very organized laid back environment and professional at the same time. It was one of my best jobs I had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Cranford, NJJanuary 2, 2014
Great company that really strives to improve the lives of those suffering from blood cancers.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
no cons to list
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional job setting.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 30, 2013
I loved working there, being that have a passion for helping others. I would come in ready to work. Check voice mails and emails, make my call backs, then I would finish any work that I was working on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friednly environment
School Outreach Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 12, 2013
Great place to work. Everyone is very friendly. Great training.
Pros
free coffee, laid back environment
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of appreciation and diversity
Campaigns and Special Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2013
The organization lacked diversity and appreciation of their staff. The management micromanaged their staff and did not hire a cultural diverse team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization
Campaign Manager, Team in Training (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 18, 2013
I had a great experience at the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. From the National Support to the local chapter volunteers and "heroes," I got to know some great people, further my experience in management and make a contribution to the fight against blood cancers. As a Team in Training Campaign Manager, my hours were a bit cumbersome, and the brand is experiencing some difficulties, but it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
find sponsors, prizes
Event Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 27, 2013
you do.office work all day. very relaxed and slow. has a nice view.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
not enough to do
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible meaning to a job with this Society.
Campaign Director (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 27, 2013
I have loved working for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Grat Benefits and a very meaningful job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing excellent work day in and day out.
Director of Honored Heroes Program (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MIJanuary 14, 2013
The people here where awesome. Unfortunately some downsizing occurred right after I left. :(
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fundraising for a great cause!
Recruiter/Campaign Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNNovember 26, 2012
Typical work day is speaking w/ a lot of people, doing grassroots outreach.

I learned a lot about myself & human psychology.

Co-workers are compassionate & like-minded.

Management is fair.

Hardest part - constant recruitment goals to reach.

Enjoyable - you are helping to find a cure for cancer! :)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern Review
Marketing Intern (Current Employee) –  Nashua AmbassadorAugust 1, 2012
I am currently an intern for LLS and I have gained a lot of experience from my time with the organization.
Pros
working from home
Cons
home site is based far from where i live (natick, ma)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
SENIOR CAMPAIGN MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 19, 2012
Opportunity to work with an amazing team of co-workers and board members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture