Find companies:
Liberty Mutual
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
634 reviews

Liberty Mutual Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get what you give
Personal Lines Sales Representative (Current Employee), Walnut Creek, CAAugust 27, 2014
A great company, they give you the training needed to become a sales agent. Due to the fact you can only sell one company for insurance your hands are tied at times to offer insurance due to corporate restrictions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and has a gym
Senior Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee), fairfield, ohioAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no flexible hours
did conversion of paris work to ecliq. Learned new system and rating manual coverages all for commercial business insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horribly bureaucratic, old boys' club corporate culture with 80-hour work weeks
Director, Internal Communications (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 24, 2014
Working at Liberty Mutual was laughably bad. The culture is so wrapped up in protocol and hierarchy that it's impossible to get the most basic things done, let alone innovate. You end up working outrageous hours for an incredibly unfulfilling job. On top of that, my manager was reported for multiple ethics violations and horrible management practices – more... (including lying about her employees and sharing confidential information), had atrocious employee opinion survey results, and was a notoriously manipulative person, yet no one - HR, the multiple executives who were alerted to her behavior, etc - did a single thing about it. The only reason I stayed a full year was to avoid repaying relocation. Liberty Mutual is easily the most ridiculous, dysfunctional, truly horrible working environment I've ever experienced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with great benefits package
Senior Customer Claims Representative (Former Employee), Warrenville, ILAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits package
Cons: too much micro managing
Liberty Mutual is a customer focused company. I enjoyed being able to interact with customers on a daily basis. I learned to listen to people and to show compassion. The only time I would speak with someone is when they had something bad happen in their lives due to a car accident. They would call in upset and distraught. It was my job to calm them – more... and help them through the process. Switching the burden from them to us and to make sure they felt safe. That was the most rewarding part of my job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware - Bad Company To Work For In the Call Center
Customer Service (Former Employee), Former EmployeeAugust 13, 2014
Cons: no diverse culture, micromanaged, does not encourage constructive crititsm. good old boy network.
The only decent thing about working here, they can pay you well for performance BUT if you are a minority (black or any other race than white) you will NOT get promoted. I was always given a raise for performance but NEVER promoted after 13 attempts to leave the department. In the 7 years I was there I only saw one person of color promoted to anything – more... but was later fired. I finally had to file a discrimination charge against one of the managers. Thankfully found another job somewhere else before they could retaliate. Also found out later that same manager was found to be a fraud and should have been fired but was just demoted back to a csr. This place is the typical good old boy network. They do NOT promote diversity and do NOT encourage feedback to do things well. If you decide to work there, be prepared for micromanagement, poor management and straight out racism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty
Technical Claims Specialist I (Current Employee), Bedford, NHAugust 11, 2014
Great people to work with at this company. Low case loads and great resources to help you achieve you job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a solid company
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee), Allentown, PAAugust 10, 2014
Liberty Mutual is an established and solid company. If wanted, a long-term career can be found here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mid-Level QA Tester (Manual) (Former Employee), Liberty, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: in-house training.
Cons: short lunch.
Perfomed functional testing and other duties.
Learned about the new testing in QA.
I was a team player and worked with the developer team.
Sometimes things got changed at the last minute.
It was fun, challenging and enjoyable to work with Liberty Mutual Ins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Claims Representative (Former Employee), New Castle, PAAugust 5, 2014
great hours, wonderful training, and help along the way. Managment is very helpful, and always willing to teach. clients can be difficult but its rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay well and is a good place to work overall
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Fairfield, OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management
I liked the company overall and they pay very well.
- Training and certification was available, encouraged and rewarded.
- The company provides a good amount of team building and social activities.
- Management was inconsistent. Some managers were great while others were terrible.
- A great deal of change and restructuring the past few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative work environment and employee morale
Personal Market Sales Representative (Former Employee), New HampshireJuly 28, 2014
Pros: local office locations, excellent service team peers
Cons: negative office environment, poor training, micromanaged
I expected a lot more from a Fortune 100 company that should have the resources to provide it's employees to succeed. However based on discussions with employees of over 25 years, the company has changed a lot and does not work for the employees reciprocally. As a rookie sales rep, I didn't have access to basic marketing materials but was expected to – more... sell a price-based commodity against hundreds of competitors when Liberty Mutual is certainly not the least expensive insurance for most individuals.

This is the first company I have ever worked for that the base compensation actually decreases throughout your tenure with the company with the expectation that you "can make up the difference" by selling more and through a very small residual commission percentage. I feel that tenured employees should be rewarded, not have their salaries reduced.

The hardest thing about working for Liberty Mutual wasn't about the job itself - it was the poor management that I fell under in which the style is negative micromanagement. I never felt truly supported by my management and was often ignored in person despite negative emails which seemed cowardly. Your phone calls are consistently monitored, there are daily sales meetings in which people are constantly singled out and put on the spot for their "shortcomings", and you are expected to post whereabouts as an "outside sales rep" at all times on the company IM system. I was falsely accused of having interviews with other companies by my boss versus even being asked if I was looking elsewhere or happy (and at this point in time, I had not interviewed elsewhere).

Despite promoting upward mobility and internal transitions when I was interviewing for the sales position, I was told from multiple sales reps (which have since quit) that Liberty Mutual does not move sales people frequently. This became evident during my year at the company and witnessing other employees' frustrations in my area/division that were applying internally.

I obviously had a very negative experience in working for Liberty Mutual; however, I do know multiple people in other divisions or geographic areas that are content with their positions, management, and experience. I am not saying Liberty Mutual is a "bad" company in any respect, but I wanted to vocalize my experience and the experience that was/is voiced to me by other peers who have since quit or are actively looking for new opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Insurance Sales Counselor (Former Employee), Chandler, AZJuly 27, 2014
Money making potential is great!
Fun place with ping pong table, big screen tv, huge breakroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
INSURANCE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), 9450 Seward Rd. Fairfield OH 45014July 27, 2014
Pros: causal day, bonuses, free lunches, paid time off from the company
Cons: no flex time, choices to receive cash for vacation not used.
Provide customer services to internal and external stakeholders for Auto, Special Handling, and Umbrella Units. The company task are changing rapidly with new systems like, DMS, Complex DPR, GAI Faxes and Right Faxes. Management informs new processes and provides Connection Notices of accomplishments and awards. The co-workers implement team support – more... with multitasking processes. When errors occur and need to be addressed is sometimes difficult, but needed. Showing compensation through awards and recognition is rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for if you are in the insurance industry
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHJuly 26, 2014
Pros: excellent pay, excellent vacation and benefits package
Cons: tied to your desk by having every move tracked, did not like having to put in a code to walk away from the desk for a rest room break.
Liberty Mutual is a very good company to work for. They provide opportunity for advancement for those who are wanting to advance. The benefits are great. The only area lacking is in upper management. The company appears to be more interested in growing income rather than growing customer base. This is relevant in the pricing of the products they offer – more... and by way of they some times spend on items that they seem to think will grow the business even though studies show it does not (example, water bottles with the company logo given to employees). In general, the employees work well together. If it were not for the fact that I had to move due to family health concerns, I would still be working for Liberty Mutual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrific, not terrrible - OK, pays the bills
SW Configuration, Build and Release Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 25, 2014
Continuing the message in the title, the place is OK to work at. Mid-west culture, pockets for really awesome and areas of 'what am I doing here'.

Some superbly talented and skilled IT professionals mixed with some just in for the ride. Need to find which group you want to belong to :)

Overall positive experience, and nice coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with great benefits
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Valley Stream, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, potential for high compensation, flexibility to make your own schedule
Cons: poor economy and natural disasters kept sales low
As an insurance agent my day consisted around making calls to new and current clients to obtain or manage their personal lines of insurance. I worked a lot over the phone but tried to do a lot of my business in person to make the process less formal and personalize the experience. I loved working close with people and feeling like I was making a difference – more... whether it was saving them money or helping to protect their family with adequate coverage. The hardest part of my job was cold calling and selling in a broken economy. It also became difficult to sell policies with so many natural disasters changing the way the company handled insurance risks and underwriting. However I loved the people I did business with and the environment with my co-workers was always fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days the same
Senior mail clerk/ copy center/ Records management (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: laid off. pitney bowes.
 Tracked courier and accountable items (Fed-Ex, UPS and USPS).
 Researched and routed unidentified and generic mail.
 Knowledge of MS Office (Word, Excel and Outlook).
 Supervised receiving, sorting, delivery and pick up of office mail.
 Created routine and schedule for facilities/department and personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and great place to work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 23, 2014
management is understanding and the environment is really laid back. very easy to fit right in and make a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLJuly 23, 2014
Phone service and repetitive call after call. Good benefits, with work life balance in action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked Several Jobs throughout 13 years
Commercial Underwriter - Senior UA Trainer (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, pto
Cons: work life balance
Good solid company. Would work there again. I worked in many states and had great experiences at all of them.

1 2 3 4 5

About Liberty Mutual

At Liberty Mutual Insurance, doing the right thing is essential to all that we do. Our commitment to building and sustaining a – Read more