Liberty Mutual Employee Reviews

Found 1,317 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life flexibility - No advancement
Hard worker (Current Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 20, 2017
This company is great if you want to remain your position and enjoy the benefits & work life balance - which is excellent.

But if you are looking for advancement, this is not the place to be and the picks for management are subpar so be ready to be given poor instruction as the company changes direction at a moment's notice. Additionally, internal HR/interviewing is a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 17, 2017
The management at the time that I worked there was not good. They have since been replaced with new management. Being micro-managed is always difficult. Working on the phone with people listening to everything you say and telling you what you could have done differently is sometimes quite annoying.
Pros
Flexible time off
Cons
Being on the phones all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay great atmosphere
Mailroom Associate (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAJanuary 17, 2017
Loved working thier was treated like family great hours loved everything about the office, everyone very friendly work was stable compensation was great advancement very quick
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with
Sr. Java/J2EE/UI Developer (Current Employee) –  Dover, NHJanuary 16, 2017
It is a good experience working with the co-workers of the organisation. Every one is friendly and made life easier by sharing the work load. Had a chance to perfectly balance my professional and work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the Art facility coming to Legacy West in Plano Tx.
Licensed Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 16, 2017
Excellent work-life balance. Liberty Mutual is a great place to jump start your insurance career as an Agent.
Great continuous coaching and mentoring.
Always feel they are great at being transparent.
Outstanding co-workers/peers & have made life long friendships.
Great benefits including plenty of flex time and vacation days to take off.
Pros
job advancement, job security, great benefits
Cons
metrics, typical in a call center environment though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with lots of opportunities to grow with company.
Business Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 16, 2017
I learned most of my computer skills from this company. I enjoyed working with a great team of people. The hardest part for me was some of the management were not helpful when problems came up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, Tons of stress, Understaffed, Unorganized
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLJanuary 16, 2017
Typical claims adjusting job. Work box is always full and always red as nothing can be done on time. Colleagues when asked to help are also very busy to assist as we are on the same boat and management does not assign or distributes claims fairly. Since acquiring Safeco there was an immense amount of pilot projects happening at the same time. Those not in a pilot program had their claims tripled and had to meet the same numbers as before. It is nearly impossible to get great survey scores if you cant follow up with the client of give them the time they need, deserve and pay for.
Pros
Ability to request time off within 48 hrs advance. Good pay. Paid training out of state
Cons
Unfair and bias management; Unrealistic production goals, unfair distribution of work, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work life balance
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAJanuary 13, 2017
numbers orientated/group activites are constantly removed c/o taking more calls/not a fun place to work,work seems strenuous and it is hard to feel motivated
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Claims Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New Castle, PAJanuary 13, 2017
All your days consist of taking inbound calls from policyholders and claimants which could be taxing, to hear of death and loss can be heartbreaking.
My co-workers were great and informative and enjoyable to be around. management were helpful and some were informative.
The hardest part of the job was the hardship and the loss, the most enjoyable part of the job was when there were complete and all are satisfied with their outcome of the claim.
Pros
working with wonderful people
Cons
very young people in a management position. many changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Commercial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fairfield ohioJanuary 13, 2017
Many amenities for the employees with big cafeteria and gym inside the work place. Overall a great place to work.
Lack a bit of personal touch since it is a big company everything is motorized per number and not by each individuals needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life sucker
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 12, 2017
Management is not logical and they rationalize everything. Unbelievable standards for production when there is no work.
Pros
Schedualing works with you
Cons
trainging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of change
Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 12, 2017
Company is going through major change - difficult to sell - customer service no longer local. Many sales representatives are looking for other jobs as well as managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty Mutual Review.
SR Customer Claims Rep (Former Employee) –  Liberty Lake, WAJanuary 11, 2017
For the first year or 2 i enjoyed working there. However, the management team i was not in favor of. We had to building the department i was in from the ground up. You had to find stuff wrong about the system and training material, if you didn't, they would hold it against you when review time came up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty Mutual
Claims resolution rep (Current Employee) –  Warrenville, ILJanuary 11, 2017
Great company but unstructured and they do not support their employees adequately to succeed in the work they are given. Liberty Mutual Claims center in the third party department is very stressful.
Pros
Great compensation
Cons
Management expects robot performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A COmpany that Truly Cares about its employees
Underwriting Intern (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJanuary 11, 2017
Its a good company and I liked it just filling out the character requirement at this point not really interested in all this why do I have to fill this junk out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company to work for
Customer Claims Representative (Current Employee) –  Liberty Lake, WAJanuary 10, 2017
They offer a competitive pay, great benefits, truly believe in helping you grow with the company, fantastic company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not wish to say
Specialty Property Claims (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2017
lack of work life balance, management is not connected with the staff, departments were disconnected from each other -typical of large corporate and disconnect with employees and customers
Pros
you get paid
Cons
no lunch, no life time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 9, 2017
Great company to start out at especially if your background isn't specifically in business. They do a fairly good job of recognizing and developing talent.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
plateau
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 9, 2017
Expect constant changes and very micro managed. Office building is nice but expect a very negative atmosphere. I would not recommend this company. I would not return.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job if you don't want to move up in the Company
Claims Customer Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Liberty Lake, WAJanuary 7, 2017
I loved working for here until i wanted a higher position in the company. HR and the hiring department, is a dumpster fire that is blazing out of control, with no end in sight. I applied for internal, lateral change in the company, to be with my family in a different state. Apperently they dont believe in looking out for the best interest of the employees. So i applied in October. It took them till January to provide me feedback on my interview and even to this day i still haven't fotten a denial email (which is mandatory). They just want you to be happy with the job you have and the managers only care about their own futures, not their team. You will see no manager attempt to lift a finger to help you. They just watch as the the hiring group bends you over a table. So if you wanna stay the low man on the totem pole, by all means apply. But dont dont expect to go anywhere.
Pros
Full benefits, gratification of helping customers
Cons
No advancement, lack of communication, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Liberty Mutual. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,333 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Liberty Mutual Reviews by Location