Find companies:
Liberty Mutual
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
625 reviews

Liberty Mutual Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay well and is a good place to work overall
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Fairfield, OHJuly 28, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management
I liked the company overall and they pay very well.
- Training and certification was available, encouraged and rewarded.
- The company provides a good amount of team building and social activities.
- Management was inconsistent. Some managers were great while others were terrible.
- A great deal of change and restructuring the past few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative work environment and employee morale
Personal Market Sales Representative (Former Employee), New HampshireJuly 28, 2014
Pros: local office locations, excellent service team peers
Cons: negative office environment, poor training, micromanaged
I expected a lot more from a Fortune 100 company that should have the resources to provide it's employees to succeed. However based on discussions with employees of over 25 years, the company has changed a lot and does not work for the employees reciprocally. As a rookie sales rep, I didn't have access to basic marketing materials but was expected to – more... sell a price-based commodity against hundreds of competitors when Liberty Mutual is certainly not the least expensive insurance for most individuals.

This is the first company I have ever worked for that the base compensation actually decreases throughout your tenure with the company with the expectation that you "can make up the difference" by selling more and through a very small residual commission percentage. I feel that tenured employees should be rewarded, not have their salaries reduced.

The hardest thing about working for Liberty Mutual wasn't about the job itself - it was the poor management that I fell under in which the style is negative micromanagement. I never felt truly supported by my management and was often ignored in person despite negative emails which seemed cowardly. Your phone calls are consistently monitored, there are daily sales meetings in which people are constantly singled out and put on the spot for their "shortcomings", and you are expected to post whereabouts as an "outside sales rep" at all times on the company IM system. I was falsely accused of having interviews with other companies by my boss versus even being asked if I was looking elsewhere or happy (and at this point in time, I had not interviewed elsewhere).

Despite promoting upward mobility and internal transitions when I was interviewing for the sales position, I was told from multiple sales reps (which have since quit) that Liberty Mutual does not move sales people frequently. This became evident during my year at the company and witnessing other employees' frustrations in my area/division that were applying internally.

I obviously had a very negative experience in working for Liberty Mutual; however, I do know multiple people in other divisions or geographic areas that are content with their positions, management, and experience. I am not saying Liberty Mutual is a "bad" company in any respect, but I wanted to vocalize my experience and the experience that was/is voiced to me by other peers who have since quit or are actively looking for new opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Insurance Sales Counselor (Former Employee), Chandler, AZJuly 27, 2014
Money making potential is great!
Fun place with ping pong table, big screen tv, huge breakroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
INSURANCE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), 9450 Seward Rd. Fairfield OH 45014July 27, 2014
Pros: causal day, bonuses, free lunches, paid time off from the company
Cons: no flex time, choices to receive cash for vacation not used.
Provide customer services to internal and external stakeholders for Auto, Special Handling, and Umbrella Units. The company task are changing rapidly with new systems like, DMS, Complex DPR, GAI Faxes and Right Faxes. Management informs new processes and provides Connection Notices of accomplishments and awards. The co-workers implement team support – more... with multitasking processes. When errors occur and need to be addressed is sometimes difficult, but needed. Showing compensation through awards and recognition is rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for if you are in the insurance industry
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHJuly 26, 2014
Pros: excellent pay, excellent vacation and benefits package
Cons: tied to your desk by having every move tracked, did not like having to put in a code to walk away from the desk for a rest room break.
Liberty Mutual is a very good company to work for. They provide opportunity for advancement for those who are wanting to advance. The benefits are great. The only area lacking is in upper management. The company appears to be more interested in growing income rather than growing customer base. This is relevant in the pricing of the products they offer – more... and by way of they some times spend on items that they seem to think will grow the business even though studies show it does not (example, water bottles with the company logo given to employees). In general, the employees work well together. If it were not for the fact that I had to move due to family health concerns, I would still be working for Liberty Mutual. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrific, not terrrible - OK, pays the bills
SW Configuration, Build and Release Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 25, 2014
Continuing the message in the title, the place is OK to work at. Mid-west culture, pockets for really awesome and areas of 'what am I doing here'.

Some superbly talented and skilled IT professionals mixed with some just in for the ride. Need to find which group you want to belong to :)

Overall positive experience, and nice coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with great benefits
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Valley Stream, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, potential for high compensation, flexibility to make your own schedule
Cons: poor economy and natural disasters kept sales low
As an insurance agent my day consisted around making calls to new and current clients to obtain or manage their personal lines of insurance. I worked a lot over the phone but tried to do a lot of my business in person to make the process less formal and personalize the experience. I loved working close with people and feeling like I was making a difference – more... whether it was saving them money or helping to protect their family with adequate coverage. The hardest part of my job was cold calling and selling in a broken economy. It also became difficult to sell policies with so many natural disasters changing the way the company handled insurance risks and underwriting. However I loved the people I did business with and the environment with my co-workers was always fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days the same
Senior mail clerk/ copy center/ Records management (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: laid off. pitney bowes.
 Tracked courier and accountable items (Fed-Ex, UPS and USPS).
 Researched and routed unidentified and generic mail.
 Knowledge of MS Office (Word, Excel and Outlook).
 Supervised receiving, sorting, delivery and pick up of office mail.
 Created routine and schedule for facilities/department and personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and great place to work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 23, 2014
management is understanding and the environment is really laid back. very easy to fit right in and make a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLJuly 23, 2014
Phone service and repetitive call after call. Good benefits, with work life balance in action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked Several Jobs throughout 13 years
Commercial Underwriter - Senior UA Trainer (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, pto
Cons: work life balance
Good solid company. Would work there again. I worked in many states and had great experiences at all of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Goal are too high
Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee), Tempe AZJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great insurance
Cons: terrible work stress
it's gotten to a point that people are spending more time away from work than at work due to stress related problems. what started off as a sales job of a maximum goal of 25 policies per month plus any policies that had been canceled with in the a 6 month period to 75 policies per month plus any that were canceled in the last six months. an agent could – more... be looking at over a 100 policies per month to write or lose their job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Sales via telephone calls and meeting people
Account Service Representative (Former Employee), Pleasant Hill, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: clients
Cons: office closed.
Great place to work. Enjoyed handling clients accounts. Liaison between reps and clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have nothing good to say about how management is allowed to treat their employees
Senior Financial Operations Representative (Former Employee), Keene, NHJuly 18, 2014
The only good thing I can say about Liberty Mutual us that they support personal health in their employees and they pay well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high level of customer service skils and high level phone calls
Disability Case Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 18, 2014
Pros: friendly competive games between different teams
Cons: large caseloads..
A typical day at work included making phone calls to claimants about their disability by interviewing them about their disability, contacting physicians offices requesting medical records as well as contacting doctors to review medical to make decision to approve or no approve claims. attended consultation with inside and outside vendors. I learned – more... about the HIPPA Law, medical terms and how to complete advanced interviews. worked well with management team and other co-workers. The hardest part of the job is giving the message to someone who is disable that based on there medical records they were not disabled from the job duties of their job. The most enjoyable part was when everything came together quickly so benefits could be issued quickly, which gave the disabled person a since of comfort and able to heal without worrying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Disability Claims Case Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 17, 2014
A stable company. A fast paced work environment but I learned a lot and worked with some great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Workers Compensation Insurance Adjuster
Senior Commercial Insurance Adjuster (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 17, 2014
Worked Premium accounts with annual premium of more than $5 million. A number of my accounts was PetroChemical, Offshore Drilling, Commercial Construction.
Represented corporate clients at the Texas Worker Comp Hearings, Settlement Mediations and would work with the defense attorney is the case went to trial.
High closing ratio in reaching claims settlements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of independance
Bodily Injury Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Somerset, NJJuly 16, 2014
Pros: learn a lot about tort law and medical treatment
Cons: always the bad person as the "responsible party's" insurance company
Contact claimants to settle bodily injury claims directly with claimant or with attorney. Assess liability. Request medical records and assess for policy exporsure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Corporate Structure
Dedicated Service Liaison (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INJuly 16, 2014
Pros: opportunities to grow with the company
Cons: call center environment not the best location to be stuck
This company is in the top 100 corporations in the US for a reason. The employers get from the corporation what they put into their careers. The more flexible and productive you are the opportunities are endless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team & Fun Enviornment
Actuarial Intern - Personal Markets (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 16, 2014
The people you work with are great! They are interested in helping you grow and take interests in where you want to go.

1 2 3 4 5

About Liberty Mutual

At Liberty Mutual Insurance, doing the right thing is essential to all that we do. Our commitment to building and sustaining a – Read more