Find companies:
Liberty Science Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Liberty Science Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is good to work for
Exhibit Technician (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJMay 31, 2014
Come in eight am and start opening all the floors. Once your done go back and troubleshoot some exhibits that might have not booted correctly or error signs. Look and on the board and check email for any work that might have to be down in the facility. Usually there about two or three of us on-site. So work doesn't pile up. Co-workers are easing going. – more... As long as there work to be down your always on your toes. That's not including the calls you might get during the day by the floor staff so thats the hard part. The easiest is when everything is running smoothly and you get a call here an there nothing to hectic. Next to that the job itself is not bad at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, even more so if you have kids
Manager of Individual Giving & Membership (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJApril 25, 2014
This has to be the most exciting place to work.

Walking through the building, seeing and hearing people laugh and smile as they play and learn...there is no better cure for having a bad day.

And every other kid in my son's class was jealous when he described what he got to do on "take your child to work day" - it made me feel so happy to work there.

But – more... if you can't work there, you should still visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engagement at work
Volunteer (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJApril 7, 2014
Pros: discount lunches
Cons: short breaks
I spend most of my time at work interacting with the guest showing them the exhibits at The Liberty Science Center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Volunteer (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJMarch 12, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: a lot of guests
This job bought me the rules of being an adult. i volunteered so it was for free but it gave me a window of how life as a working individual is like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberty Science Center has helped me advance my skills and provide me with a strong foundation of verbal and wrttten communication skills.
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJFebruary 15, 2014
My current and previous work experience as a Guest and Service representative in Liberty Science Center, continues to provide me with a strong foundation of excellent verbal and written communication skills, proficiency in servicing clients and enriched my multi-tasking abilities.This have further advanced my skills as a team player, allowed me to work – more... well independently, and molded my leadership qualities.

I have been an employee at The Liberty Science center for almost five years now. I am responsible for contributing the shut down or all exhibit and public spaces during closing shifts, as well as fulfilling the appropriate amount of cash redemptions at the end of all shifts. I am able to provide guests with exceptional information about the attractions and movies we provide, as well as answering any additional inquiries and complaints in person and through phone calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales & Guest Services Coordinator (Current Employee), EIOctober 29, 2013
Great company to start out in. Gained a lot of skills. Not much movement in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Hospitality Associate (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJOctober 1, 2013
I love working with the families and children at this location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved the environment...
Cook (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJAugust 8, 2013
i love working there ,the environment was always exciting.I learned alot from my co-workers and supervisors..i also learned alot about catering parties and plating dishes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
GUEST AND SALES COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJuly 29, 2013
Management is 50/50 but overall the center is a great place and environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enthusiastic environment.
Interpretation Associate (Former Employee), 222 Jersey City Boulevard Jersey City, NJ 07305June 11, 2013
Pros: very flexible work schedule, good working hours.
Cons: none i could think of at the moment.
A typical day at work for me begins with setting up and preparing what materials are necessary for the day to run smoothly. I've learned to always listen to my customers, the ideas and comments they made has improved the way my store functions. Managing a store was no easy task and requires a great deal of multitasking. My co-workers are by far the – more... kindest people I have ever worked with. The most difficult part about the job is inventory and clean up, if you are not managing that well you can be left with quite a mess. Making guess happy and knowing I was responsible for their smiles was perhaps the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really fun place to work
Designer/Production Artist FREELANCE (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJApril 14, 2013
Pros: working for a wonderful not-for-profit venue
Cons: lots of internal politics
My art director put his stamp on everything his department did. That included engaging the staff in his love and appreciation of the company, which was respected in return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun sometimes
Interpretation Associate (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJMarch 24, 2013
Pros: discount at the cafe and gift shop, able to bring in your family/friends for free, free movies at the imax and jd williams theater
Cons: too much down time, too much gossip, too many favorites amongst employees, too many hours cut, no overtime
There was definitely a lot of down time there during the school year after all the school groups leave. There's only so much you can do during down time. The only things I've learned were things pertaining to the exhibits and to watch your back around certain management. If you're not a "favorite", i.e. partying with certain management, then you may – more... be on the chopping block. Working there just reminded me of middle school since there are a lot of immature people there that gossip 24/7 and will try to get you in trouble if they don't like you. The guests weren't all too bad except for the pushy suburban moms that come in and demand perfect service and the rowdy kids that come in during the community evenings. Being an IA they didn't treat me very fair. I was always stuck in the labs and never got the chance to do research or something that may have sparked more interest. When you're treated like that it makes you hate your job so advice to future applicants applying to be an IA, please speak up if there's something you don't like. I didn't do so because I was nervous about what the coordinators would say to me. It's obvious I don't have many positive things to say about this place but this is all my experience and I can only be honest about it. The only thing enjoyable about this job is working during camp-ins; the environment is much more at ease during the camp-ins (happier guests and not many asinine coordinators). I'd work there again for the camp-ins if I still lived in Jersey City but I was terminated. Their loss but I can guarantee my performance would have been better if I was given a chance and wasn't treated like an outcast all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Coordinator for Education Resources (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: something different every day
Cons: mismanagement of funds by upper management. misuse of grant money caused my lay off
As the Coordinator for Education Resources for the Jennifer Chalsty Center I was responsible for ensuring that all events held there went smoothly, from scheduling the event, running it, supplying for it and cleaning up after. I made sure all labs were within OSHA guidelines. I had a great relationship with all departments within the center. I would – more... say this was my favorite job out of all of them. I was very disappointed when I had to leave due to downsizing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun Work Place
Hospitality Associate (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJFebruary 1, 2013
A Very Busy Work environment Learned Things Such As interactive Work Speaking and acting out loud there is no hard part of this Job it is a great place to work and you learn many things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning and an educational experience
Volunteer Ambassador (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 6, 2012
• Assist guests during their exhibit tours to educate them about the context of an exhibit
• Communicate with guests throughout their exhibit expedition to ensure a quality learning experience
• Train incoming volunteers on exhibit activities through the shadowing program to help become familiar with their assigned tasks
• Participate in educational – more... activities for kids, teaching science through fun experiments in order to help them understand different scientific findings or scenarios – less