Find companies:
Life Skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Life Skills Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping others with needs
cli (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 16, 2014
enjoyable when you get to know the clients and their personalities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clients
Coordinator Living Instructor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 18, 2014
Pros: my clients and the bond we built together
Cons: management unprofessionalism
Greet my client ask and see if they have plans for the day/evening. Read the staff book see what the client did before I arrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Program Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 30, 2013
The consumers always greet you with a smile no matter how their day is going. I have learned patience and respect for people with developmental disabilities. Honesty is the biggest key in management. My co-worker are great and enjoys their job. The hardest part of my job is trusting other people in the community to treat the clients I work with with – more... respect. The most enjoyable part of my job is putting a smile on the clients face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun working enviorment out in the community
Community Living Instructor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 23, 2013
Pros: we got to be in the community.
Cons: no raise
I learned that you have to have patience when working in this field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services agency performing much-needed work in the community
Vice President of Marketing and Communications (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 30, 2013
Pros: flexiblity, heartfelt work, making a difference
Cons: limited financial and people resources making it difficult to meet expectations
Life Skills helps individuals with developmental disabilities - including autism - learn, live, work and participate in the community.

Co-workers were friendly.
Management was inconsistent.
Mission is much needed in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need some supervision
Community Living Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 22, 2013
Pros: gained experience
Cons: felt like an island, no supervision
The company seems to be falling apart from the top down. There never seemed to be any direction. No one worked together except for a few people on each team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Working environment
Store Manager/Job Coach (Former Employee), Webster, MAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: benefits pto
Cons: lack of safety concern for individuals
This company does not focus on what is important and why we are all there. Their focus is mainly on making money instead of improving the quality of life for the individuals we serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Skills
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 29, 2013
Assist clients with daily living routine. Transport clients to dr. appointments and weekly activities. Management is okay. co-workers are fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Community Living Instructor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 6, 2013
I would get to the customers house and then plan where to take the customer such as to the park,zoo, movies, out to dinner. I learned from this place how to communicate with people that have different mental disabilities. The hardest part of the job was trying to calm down customers that would become upset. The most enjoyable part was watching the customers – more... smile when they where able to interact and enjoy the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 29, 2013
I love my job and what i do. the most difficult part is having reliable staff to trust and being on a wage freeze for the past 3 years hasn't been the most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not why you have a four year degree!
Supervisor (Former Employee), St. LouisMarch 7, 2013
Pros: dont have to be in early.
Cons: no balance with your home life!
You will be waking up in the middle of the night filling shifts and giving direct care to clients all the time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork environment was great
Community Living Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 2, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: job never stops
This position takes someone who can multi task as various challenges come up throughout the day and you tend to have to put down what you are working on to deal with something else. My team of six worked well together. We always helped each other out when we needed it. Seeing your clients excell and doing new things that you helped them become a part – more... of is the best part of the job. The hardest part is you never turn this job off. You bring it home even when you are not on call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
community living instructor (Former Employee), moFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: the team you work with on a daily basis, u get each other through the day
Cons: healthcare, pay, management
What the company stan for is good but unfortunately they do not uphold those values. management is terrible, the pay is terrible and there is little to no advancement. management only cares about each other they do not care about direct care and they do not respect you. Do not work for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with clients
Residential Counselor (Full-time) (Former Employee), Clinton, MAFebruary 10, 2013
I liked working with the clients. activities such as take them out to socialize at the mall, walmart, target, and eat out also. I learned a lot about each individual and how important it is to love life.

Co-workers and management lacked in organization and responsibilities. There was always an issue with co-workers if they didn't do there job they – more... blamed it on someone else without a care.
The house manager was barely there she claims to give people opportunity, but it was more like take advantage of people to do her job. Not the best place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy helping others then this is the job for you
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 7, 2013
The hardest part is seeing your pay check every 2 weeks and trying to figure out how are you going to matain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fun job
Community Living Trainer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 26, 2013
I really enjoy the field I work in. I get to make my own schedule for majority of the time. The training is helpful for your day to day job. I work independently. Management is not always easy to communicate with due to being in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Skills is a good organization to work for. Life Skills stands for a wonderful cause.
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 5, 2013
A typical day at the life skills home I work for is, Preparing breakfast for the consumers, passing medications, washing the dishes, washing clothes, running errands, preparing lunch, give report to the next staff member coming in, we count money, count narcotics, explain any changes that may have occurred during the shift. I enjoy what I do. Helping – more... people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking Place and Lovable People
Program Supervisor (Current Employee), MOOctober 26, 2012
Get to work around 7am. Read log notes and communicate with staff. Wake consumer up make sure he gets meds. Does hygiene and daily chores. Take consumer to work and sit there till he gets off. Come home write log notes on his day.

My co-workers are hard working people that get the job done to the best of they ability.

The hardest part of my job is – more... just dealing with consumers that have different behavior issues everyday so u never no how the day is goin to go.

The part I enjoy the most is helping the consumers achieve things in life and become better people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you don't care about people a great place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 29, 2012
They don't care about the individuals they are taking care off. They care more about cutting back and making things look right when they are being reviewed keep looking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of miserable
mangement (Current Employee), creve coeurSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: as in any workplace, there are people who care.
There is more than one organization named Life Skills. I don't think all of the reviews on this site are about the Life Skills in Creve Couer.
As a community living instructor (basically a hands-on cna), you may enjoy your job b/c you are working with a group of individuals that require skills that you are good at using.
However, as an employee responsible – more... for staff, I can assure you that the organization's leadership is truly focused on cutting costs, raising management salaries, and tolerating outdated, ineffective practices. It's too bad that funding agencies and the state don't look closely at how this company runs itself. Lots of turnover for community living instructors due to poor communication, over-worked and uncreative coordinators and managers and mandated unexpected hours. – less

About Life Skills

At Life Skills, we help people with disabilities live and work with dignity in our community. For more than 43 years Life Skills – Read more