Life Skills Employee Reviews in United States

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humbling learning experience
Learning (Current Employee) –  Saint Croix Falls, WIApril 26, 2016
The hardest part was not working, the most enjoyable part was not working. I learned so much from taking the time off that I did.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Not working
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorry I had to be laid off
Instructional Aide (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLMarch 4, 2016
worked with at-risk kids with phenomenal staff'
hours were adequate, imaginative staff and creative. Worked in diverse situations with no communiity support--appreciate my time there
Pros
great staff
Cons
no support from corp management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you want to get your feet wet helping people
Community Living Instructor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 22, 2015
A typical day: you will help clients learn different tasks so one day they can live on their own. Its sad because a lot of the people you will work with wont care about the clients. It would be nice if they did a better job screening hires.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential Counslor
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Webster, MAJune 29, 2015
This was an overnight bi-vocational position in order to supplement financially my pastoral position during the day. Life Skills provides residential care for emotionally disturbed adults. My responsibilities included but not limited to supervision, direct assistance to individuals in daily routines (especially in the mourning), activity planning, and medicine distribution, personal support, team work with other staff. I never called for a shift in my four years as an employee. A rewarding position but financially limiting.

Between both bi-vocational position, I was working eight hours per week.
Pros
Rewarding work. Close staff relations.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
residential councelor (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAMarch 10, 2015
a typical day was one where i assisted the clients in daily hygiene needs and cooked meals for them and did basic household cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
cli (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 15, 2014
i liked working here, good place to work if you like helping others
Pros
good benfits
Cons
managment team
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Home Care Giver (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYSeptember 23, 2014
I really loved working for life skills. I love helping people and learning new things. This job was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is ok
Residential Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 2, 2014
A typical day is relaxed at life skills. I have learned to deal with a variety of different people. Management is ok. My coworkers are ok. The hardest part is dealing with all the different tasks that may be required. Seeing a client sucess
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping others with needs
cli (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 16, 2014
enjoyable when you get to know the clients and their personalities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clients
Coordinator Living Instructor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 18, 2014
Greet my client ask and see if they have plans for the day/evening. Read the staff book see what the client did before I arrive.
Pros
my clients and the bond we built together
Cons
management unprofessionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Program Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 30, 2013
The consumers always greet you with a smile no matter how their day is going. I have learned patience and respect for people with developmental disabilities. Honesty is the biggest key in management. My co-worker are great and enjoys their job. The hardest part of my job is trusting other people in the community to treat the clients I work with with respect. The most enjoyable part of my job is putting a smile on the clients face.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services agency performing much-needed work in the community
Vice President of Marketing and Communications (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 30, 2013
Life Skills helps individuals with developmental disabilities - including autism - learn, live, work and participate in the community.

Co-workers were friendly.
Management was inconsistent.
Mission is much needed in the community.
Pros
flexiblity, heartfelt work, making a difference
Cons
limited financial and people resources making it difficult to meet expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need some supervision
Community Living Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 22, 2013
The company seems to be falling apart from the top down. There never seemed to be any direction. No one worked together except for a few people on each team.
Pros
gained experience
Cons
felt like an island, no supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Working environment
Store Manager/Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Webster, MAOctober 16, 2013
This company does not focus on what is important and why we are all there. Their focus is mainly on making money instead of improving the quality of life for the individuals we serve.
Pros
benefits pto
Cons
lack of safety concern for individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Skills
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 29, 2013
Assist clients with daily living routine. Transport clients to dr. appointments and weekly activities. Management is okay. co-workers are fair
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On a scale of 1-10 on benefits and pay and advancement I would rate it a 4.
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ballwin Missouri/ Creve Coeur MOJune 24, 2013
Company is a flexible, and fun workplace environment. What I like most about the company is the flexible work schedule.
Compensation is below average.
There is not much opportunity for advancement.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
compensation below average
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Community Living Instructor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 6, 2013
I would get to the customers house and then plan where to take the customer such as to the park,zoo, movies, out to dinner. I learned from this place how to communicate with people that have different mental disabilities. The hardest part of the job was trying to calm down customers that would become upset. The most enjoyable part was watching the customers smile when they where able to interact and enjoy the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security
Community Living Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 29, 2013
I love my job and what i do. the most difficult part is having reliable staff to trust and being on a wage freeze for the past 3 years hasn't been the most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not why you have a four year degree!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. LouisMarch 7, 2013
You will be waking up in the middle of the night filling shifts and giving direct care to clients all the time!
Pros
dont have to be in early.
Cons
no balance with your home life!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork environment was great
Community Living Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 2, 2013
This position takes someone who can multi task as various challenges come up throughout the day and you tend to have to put down what you are working on to deal with something else. My team of six worked well together. We always helped each other out when we needed it. Seeing your clients excell and doing new things that you helped them become a part of is the best part of the job. The hardest part is you never turn this job off. You bring it home even when you are not on call.
Pros
pay
Cons
job never stops
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture