Life Time Fitness Employee Reviews

Found 1,124 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be Better
Swim Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 9, 2017
Lifetime Fitness is a great, only if one plans on growing in the fitness business. The General Manager that i was under was one of the most unprofessional experiences i have ever come across. What made the job great, were my peers.
Pros
25% off Cafe
Cons
Inconsistent hours and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun and a great place to work
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Centennial, COJuly 9, 2017
As a teen this was an amazing job to work at. Even for adults you can move up fast if you show you deserve it. It's a super fun environment and really teaches you responsibility and other lifelong lessons.
Pros
great discounts inside the lifetime building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despite the Rating
ASSISTANT MEMBER ENGAGEMENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSJuly 9, 2017
You will learn to love the grind.

Above all else, the atmosphere is electric and you will be surrounded by a high energy team.

The recognition and advancement opportunities are there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Company
Regional Metabolic Speciaist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 6, 2017
Best fitness company in the business. Looking to make a career in fitness this is the place to be. Lots of advancement opportunities for the right individuals.
Pros
Great co-workers, growth company
Cons
Long hours, challenging schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Fitness Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJJuly 6, 2017
You work for free most of the time. Ethically not a great company to work for. They are all about how much money you can bring in for them with little return for you. They rave they hire the best, but they go for the easily manipulated. If you want to be a slimy salesman, than this is the place for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free food
Lifetime Cafe Team Member (Former Employee) –  Romeoville, ILJuly 6, 2017
working at a gym is fun and cool, you get free food and you get to have your membership paid for all in one you get the experience of working with health freaks!
Pros
free membership, free food
Cons
hours are bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get started
Manager (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJuly 5, 2017
Life Time values passion and dedication rather than a degree. They like to promote from within and so hire with that in mind. However, the work/life balance isn't great for management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness Environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsJuly 5, 2017
Operations areas can have challenging day, a good operation team can assist with overcoming challenges. The most enjoyable part of day is working with your team and other areas team member and the guest at the gym.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working with this team
Senior QA Automation (Current Employee) –  Chanhassen, MNJuly 5, 2017
Its been great working here at Lifetime Fitness. Its been very productive working here and I have learnt a lot of new things from my co-workers which could help me in my future career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
LifeSpa Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Shelby, MIJuly 4, 2017
Loved the team I worked with! We worked well with one another and enhanced each others abilities by sharing our strengths where others weaknesses were visable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was amazing
HEAD SWIM COACH (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 3, 2017
They had too many programs to run and not enough focus. Many of their programs were just ok, but in Austin, you have a choice, competition is fierce. Management was attentive, but lacking the authority to make certain changes to the club. For a billion dollar company, I feel like they were afraid to spend money on things that could advance their earning potential.
Pros
great facility
Cons
Needs better maintenance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chanhassen, MNJuly 3, 2017
I experienced many long hours & no development in individual team member. There was a lack of management & guidance within my role to grow with the company. The hardest part of my job was "Trust", losing trust. Getting to meet many amazing people was my most enjoyable part of this job!
Pros
membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere and environment
Member Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chanhassen, MNJuly 2, 2017
My favorite aspect of working for Lifetime fitness was the employees and the health focused environment. Endorphins make people happy, and happy people make work fun. Despite compensation being somewhat low, Lifetime fitness is a great company to work for. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Pros
gym membership, access to company events, life minded individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Time Shitness
Child Center Team Member (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 1, 2017
Life Time Fitness is the perfect example of a company that treats its employees like garbage. They are unorganized, have no respect for anyone's time, and continuously fail to maintain proper communication. This company overworks and underpays their employees and demonstrates very little care for the people who keep their gym up and running. If you work for them you will get walked on.
Pros
free membership
Cons
unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The entire company is an example of under supported overwork.
Department Head (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHJune 30, 2017
Lifetime if a prime example of a company that is hypocritical and abusive to the people that work for them. They will time and time again tell you one thing and change their minds without telling you and do something else. They change their programs and job requirements weekly without the structure or support network to support he changes while expecting their management to put i the extra work load to compensate for the ridiculous lack of communication with a tremendous amount of hours. The overall atmosphere is one of "fake positivism" that will be forced down your throat by people that will look you in the eyes and pretend that everything is great, all the while laughing and "joking" that that it is okay with hem they they have no work life balance or support. They used to have a better support system but they have gotten rid of it for the sake of profit and now leave their management to fend for themselves with nothing other than a "support line or "field support"" to aid in the tremendous amount of bureaucratic nonsense that the company exults in. I have never worked for a company that so many people that work there are unhappy, they company is very dedicated to trying to figure out why everyone that works there is so unhappy and send out surveys to try and figure it out, it is apparent to anyone that works there however that the expectations of the jobs and the reality do not cross on any reasonable lines. The truth of it as i see it is the company is not willing to put in the cost to make it a good place to work, just as they disposed of the support positions for  more... profit sake, so too do they ignore the overwhelming evidence of overwork and lack of support, again in support "profit".

It would be my recommendation that you do not seek a career with Lifetime unless you are the type of person that is willing to dedicated your entire life tot he job, During my time there I worked over 70 hours a week for over nine months without anymore than a hand full of days off, and this not only my experience, but it mirrored by just about everyone that I spoke to in any kind of a leadership role within Lifetime. The overall mission for Lifetime is about "the healthy way of life" but I do not think that the company really understands what that means, or at least really cares that the people that work for them have one, They will say they do and look at you sad, but they will not so much as lift a finger to aid or assist you in the pursuit of your own.
  less
Pros
Free gym membership, Discounts of products.
Cons
Zero real support, no work life balance, very poor communication, very unstable work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty nice
Kids Academy Team Member (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 30, 2017
Things are always crazy when you work in the Kids Academy. You have scheduled activities for the kids and are in charge of their safety. The hardest part would be the long hours on your feet and kids screaming all the time.
Pros
Break time
Cons
Send you home when there isnt as much kids, you dont get to finish shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOod place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2017
Cool workers and employees, the management was good. The culture is alot of customers going in and out all day. A very positive enviroment. Very clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great perks
Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 29, 2017
worked and tried very hardd to engage clientele. the reception was difficult to manage in a gym environment. the skincare products they use are average not excusive and sold on tv so you clientele can buy for cheaper on tv
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
not exclusive productss and only gym members know your there no advertising
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Team Member (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJune 28, 2017
Love everything about Lifetime Fitness! The people are all nice and fun to work with! I recommend working at lifetime fitness! Working doesn't feel like a job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unorganized
Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COJune 28, 2017
Everyday was stressful, management wasn't competent. Benefits of getting access to all the amenities was very nice, the culture was also friendly but continuously called in, people wouldnt show up or managers would work out during the summer camp hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Life Time Fitness. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,136 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6