Find companies:
Life Time Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
384 reviews

Life Time Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Sales Enviroment
MEMBERSHIP ENGAGEMENT ADVISOR (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJune 23, 2014
Pros: compensating, fun atmosphere
Cons: long long hours including nights and weekends, constant turn over
Churn and burn, 80+ hrs a wk, commission only sales + customer service, 100+ calls a day are expected on top of giving long tours of the facility and adding new memberships/renewells. This job was very fun though and you can make very good relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start and advance
Massage Therapist Lead (Current Employee), Coon Rapids, MNJune 22, 2014
Pros: free platinum membership
Cons: availability of raises
Life Time is a very positive environment that cares about the health and fitness needs of our members and guests. I've learned that positivity goes a long ways in a work related atmosphere, how to collaborate with employees and co-workers, how to effectively manage a department as well as reach budget and revenue goals. The hardest part of the job would – more... be addressing issues with employees that are unresolvable to meet their needs and turnover rates due mostly to company pay. However, the benefits are quite extraordinary as well as a fantastic work environment and culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and positive job environment
Registered diettian (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJune 21, 2014
Overall a good company to work for. Positive atmosphere and great continued education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Facility Operations Team Member (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJune 17, 2014
excellent working environment, good co-workers, good company and excellent opportunity to share with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facilities Operations-Supervisor (Current Employee), Gilbert, AZJune 15, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: cleaning up after people
A typical day at work is keeping the Women's Locker Room clean and neat with clean towels always on hand. Then comes the laundry room. Always kept neat and clean and always doing change overs to make sure the laundry is flowing smoothly. The hardest part of the job is the towels. Just trying to keep up on them is a job. Most enjoyable part of the job – more... is the members and how happy they are to have a clean gym to come to and all the amenities that go with the gym. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Orland Park, ILJune 11, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: everything
Horrible company to work for! They don't care about fitness or you, its all about how much new money you can bring into the company. The turn over rate for trainers is CRAZY! If your a salesman this is the company for you. Everything is over priced, and the trainers aren't worth what they charge. They will hire anybody, it doesn't matter if your certified – more... or have training experience. If you can bring in money your hired – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Lifeguard (Former Employee), South Jordan, UTJune 9, 2014
The facility was very nice, love being in there. and the employee has great personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days to remember
Head-Life Guard/ Supervisor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 7, 2014
I enjoyed going into work just about everyday. Interacting with the members and their kids made each day special especially when the kids want to come back just to see you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic environment for a big role in the community
Front Desk Receptionist/ Member Retention Advisor (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 29, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: there is a lot of movement of personel
Great place to work for someone starting their work career and for someone who has been at many places and now has all the credentials and backing to lead or train at a facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snobby...
Member (Former Employee), Vernon HillsMay 22, 2014
Pros: large and relatively well-equipped
Cons: snobby, arrogant.
First about its main purpose and how it matches me and my expectations (I know it's personal, but that's a place for personal reviews): Yes, good gym, but for $110/mo ($150 in Hawaii?!.) it'd better be good. I, however, do not see the difference proportional to the price difference with, say, LA Fitness or even X-Sports. It's is my subjective opinion. – more... Now the atmosphere, the feel, and the semantics: 1. Some arrogant staff members and many arrogant members. I guess, they feel superior by association, something like this, "I pay $110, so I am better than average and I belong to a higher class." Again, of course, this my speculation, but I cannot find any other reason to be that way in the gym where everybody is supposed to be equal. 2. Related to # 1 above: many members grab a 3-foot pile of towels and do not see others around (set their stuff as if they are alone in the locker, pool, gym). I see these people and assume what they do in life (work, etc.). 3. Some even bring 4-5 towels to the gym and leave around the benches and machines. Amazing arrogance and inconsideration! I do not care much about all these details, because I have been living in the gym for a good 45 years or more, but those who are less confident and arrogant feel uncomfortable, and they told me so.If you are not too sensitive, you can find a cheaper place to feel down. Yes, I also saw how they lie about cancellation, guest passes, etc. I opt out... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and forward thinking
Member Relations Representative (Former Employee), Chanhassen, MNMay 20, 2014
I have a challenging position that allows each day to move quickly along with a daily sense of accomplishment. I also enjoy working in a company that provides a important service to people in an atmosphere of integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated
Fitness Trainer (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMay 17, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: no work/life balance
I was a doer and was able to excel within this organization. It was great meeting new members as well as connected with great colleagues as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Environment but not much compensation
ROCK WALL TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee), Tempe, AZMay 13, 2014
For the work that need to be done the overall hours of work given and the rate of pay made the job harder to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), JohnscreekMay 12, 2014
Pros: free time would involve shooting hoops and playing basketball.
Cons: short lunch breaks
I typically would work morning shifts. After I clocked in, my position was at the front desk where I would greet guests, answer phone calls, and manage services for people with membership access. Skills that I attained from working this position included but were not limited to: organizational, time-management, and teamwork. I learned a lot about health – more... and fitness as well as self-discipline. My co-workers were friendly. We all came to work with high energy and interest for whatever tasks we had throughout the day. Maintaining the cleanliness of the facility was one of the jobs we had to accomplish as a team. Though it could become difficult at times due to the amount of members and how busy we would be, meeting a variety of different people was very enjoyable. The gym is an up-scale fitness center where famous people would even come to. All in all, I enjoyed my time working at Lifetime Fitness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Facilitity Operations Team Member (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMay 12, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: bad healthcare
-fun workplace
-good co workers
-bad management
-awful benefits
-long drive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Jobs
Rock Wall Team Member (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 12, 2014
Life Time has pretty good part time jobs, but the real benefit of working there is the free membership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with productive staff
Head Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Skokie, ILMay 5, 2014
Designated daily tasks to Lifeguards
Managed customer complaints
Filed accident reports and paperwork
Signed up members for swim classes
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the very petty complaints in the heat and keeping cool about it (no pun intended)!
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how happy kids were when I taught them a – more... new skill during swim class and they achieved it. Their smiles were priceless! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing gym, friendly staff, good environment
Childcare Attendant (Former Employee), Maple Grove, MNMay 5, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: short breaks
Big space to work out, take care of kids, and get in shape. I loved the staff and working with the friendly families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, as a 2nd job. Friendly place
Front Desk Customer Service (Current Employee), Romeoville, ILMay 1, 2014
Good place to work at, managers are flexable with home/work life.
People are very nice to work with. Good part time or 2nd job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Work Atmosphere with High Member Traffic
Certified Personal Trainer/Metabolic Specialist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSApril 30, 2014
The daily grind of sales on a 100% commission job that creates more opportunities each day has its pros and cons. Following a business plan and getting your clients results result in a salary based on commission. I learned how to deal with cultural diversity with members and team members. The hardest part of the job is continuing to hit your "goal" – more... ea and every month and dealing with clients who pay you for your services but do not follow your directions on how to get to their goals. – less