Find companies:
Life Time Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
393 reviews

Life Time Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent hours and awful management
Kids Activities Team Memeber (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILApril 7, 2014
Pros: free membership to the gym
Cons: inconsistent hours, little ability for advancement, poor management, and no loyalty
The child center would have a new assistant manager every month and every job was constantly in jeopardy. The hours were incredibly inconsistent and what I mean by that is even staff that had worked there for three years were only on the schedule for four days max a week. And if the ratio of children to staff was off, they would send you home. On a – more... four hour shift I would be sent home on average after two hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and dynamic
Fitness Professional/Metabolic Technician (Current Employee), Garland, TXApril 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, upward advancement, never boring
Cons: sales based, hectic schedule
I enjoy training and being able to train so many different types of people just the schedule options didn't favor me being able to manage my life with church very well and through out my time with Lifetime I changed schedules multiple times and just need a change. My coworkers were great learned a ton of different things from all of them. Hardest part – more... was there seemed to be constant turnover with our Personal Training staff so dealt with a lot of change because of it and feel like I need to get a fresh start somewhere else. Love working for the company just don't think it's the right fit for me where I am now in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission and vision driven
Education Specialis (Current Employee), Chanhassen, MNApril 5, 2014
Very performance driven company! Great company to work for, always changing and focused on serving the member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Cary, NCApril 3, 2014
Pros: happy environment, fun staff, free gym membership and discounts
Cons: short breaks which are cleaning breaks, have to buy own uniform which is $80+, no raises
nice staff
nice members
working with adults, kids and families
decent hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clients were exceptional!
Lifespa Esthetician (Current Employee), Burr Ridge, IL.March 27, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: don't want to use it, cause you can't wait to get out of the club (or the negative energy) by the end of your shift!
If you enjoy kissing up to your boss, & lying to your clients, then you'd be a perfect fit. Their motto "healthy way of life" is only for the higher ups, (on salary & commissions), that reap the rewards, of our hard work, & in return we get higher goals, & less pay!! They work you like a mule, to their advantage, & make all kinds of empty promises, – more... & promotional speeches, loaded with glorified craps, that is supposed to be motivational! The TRUE meaning of that "motive" is to hit their goals, regardless of how deceptive you have to be to your clients, just as long as you are pushing the Lifetime brands! "UPSELL A CROCK OF BULL" Should be their motto, cause they sure aren't concerned about any body's "HEALTHY WAY OF LIFE" UNLESS THEY HAVE A HEALTHY BANK ACCOUNT! !
Oh, BTW... if you try to go to any of your superiors, or corporate to file a complaint, or concern, they just give you the run around, blame someone else, or pass the buck! Don't expect too much resolve! (Very frustrating! ).
Don't trust any of your coworkers either, cuz the bosses play you against each other, instead of trying to form a team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fasr paced, high energy workplace.
Kids Activities Supervisor (Former Employee), Romeoville, ILMarch 26, 2014
Fun, loving, caring staff members. Summer camps were awesome. Birthday parties were a hit and the staff became part of the family!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company cares about money not you!
Personal Training Staff Member (Former Employee), ColoradoMarch 19, 2014
Pros: good gym/pool
Cons: pressure to sell sell sell!!
I worked at Lifetime Fitness for about 8 months and could not wait to get out of there!!! Don't get me wrong, if you are a salaried employee it is great but if you are on the commissioned side...forget about having a stress free work enviornment. The company only cares about making as much money as possible, and they get alot of this money from the – more... sales being made in the PT department. I was on the personal training staff which requires you to sell at minimum $6,000 a month. I missed one month of not meeting this requirement and I immediately recieve an email threatening to let me go if I don't start selling more. The club that I was at also hired too many people so there was not enough clients to go around. They tell you to go out and get your own clientele which is harder than it sounds unless you are a seasoned experienced seller. My boss was higher up on the pyramid so he makes a percentage of what everyone underneath him sells on top of his salary. So he didn't have to go out at all and sell $6,000 worth of stuff and yet he is pushing it on us all to do it because it makes him look good and makes him more money. Our club pt department had a goal of hitting a certain amount of sales each month which if we hit that goal it makes our boss look awesome to the executives. We always met our goal and my boss moved up to a higher position because of it. But what do the rest of the staff get for helping meet that goal? A stupid little gold pin that we wear on our shirts....lame. They try to make it seem cool and say that we are the best in the nation so we should be proud to wear a dumb gold pin...but no, I need to support myself and my family, I need money for my hard work, not a pin. Not to mention there are certain leads within the PT department that make bonus checks for hitting their goal. For example: There is a weight loss companies lead who if we meet our goal over the quarter that person gets a $1000 bonus. But who helped that person look good and meet the goal? US! And we get no bonus check whatsoever! Moving up in this company is a game that you have to play. There are a lot of people steam rolling over others to make more money towards there individual goal. Believe me, you can find somewhere else that is way less stressful to work at! Oh and just so you all know I made about $15,000 working at Lifetime over 8 months....if that is the kind of starting salary you want then by all means go for it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Woodbury, MNMarch 13, 2014
I perform full body massages
Bodywork trainging
Co-workers are very friendly and informative
The hardest part of the job are the long hours
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people reach there total heatlh objectives and athletic aspirations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifetime Fitness Helath Club
Account & Members Services Associate (Current Employee), Goodyear, AZMarch 12, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: high turnover rates with employees.
A typical day at work includes answering hundreds of phone calls regarding membership questions and concerns. Besides checking in members and guest into the members-only club, I change billing information as well as other various member information that is kept in our database systems. Taking payments and clearing existing balances from members accounts – more... is another part of the member services job. Finally, the most important in my opinion, is building the relationships with the members and really getting to know them. By building these relationships it helps the company grow and expand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to do what I love when it comes to helping people, as well as learn more about the field of Health and Fitness as a whole
Fitness Professional/Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Novi, MIMarch 11, 2014
Pros: you choose your clientele, build your own programs
Cons: hard to have a work/life balance (if any), misleading salary markers
I was able to create the programs I wanted for the clients I worked with, however, you feel as though you're paying a very high rent compared to what you're contributing to the success of the club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enriching environment for children
Kids Activities Team Member (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 10, 2014
Pros: free gym membership, 25% discount on cafe items, making lasting relationships with children and their parents
Cons: overstaffed, not enough hours, little engagement by some employees
A typical day includes walking into to your designated room and engaging in age-appropriate activities with the surrounding children. After one activity is complete, make transitions to the next one, and so on. In between lessons, provide a fun and safe play environment. This means ending conflicts between children, writing safety reports, providing – more... ice packs, and having discussions with children about their ideas on fun play-time. The hardest part of the job for me is attending to the nose-bleeds that occur during our sports activities. I don't like blood, so I have to remind myself of my responsibilities in the my current role to the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Personal Trainer/Sales (Current Employee), Orland Park, ILMarch 7, 2014
Great place to help teach an individual how to run their own business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Kids Activities Team Member (Former Employee), Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 7, 2014
Great company with great people. You get a free membership as an employee, and receive other great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 6, 2014
check employees, work with customers. rotating shifts. make sure all need are met
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved job
Master Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: getting pleasure from getting people healthy
Cons: commission only
helping people get healthy loved it
working at gym enjoyable
hardest part of job working for commission
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility with great service
FACILITIES OPERATIONS TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZMarch 2, 2014
Pros: free membership to high quality facility
Cons: continuously cleaning up after people
• Performed maintenance tasks of facility
• Performed daily cleaning, vacuuming, polishing, and trash removal
• Greeted and assisted members in a positive manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a pay check and your experience really depends on your dept heads
Lifeguard Supervisor & Swim Instructor (Current Employee), SomeplaceFebruary 28, 2014
Worst part of the day is getting sick so frequently. Sicker in the last 6 months than the rest of my life. Pay is okay but not very good. Best part is some of the nice members (which helps to counteract the nasty mean members).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Master Personal Trainer (Current Employee), MinnesotaFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: too many to list
Life Time Fitness is absolutely the worst employer I have ever had.
Somehow this company is getting away with running a pyramid scheme to compensate their employees which are mostly commission based.
The department heads are young and immature with absolutely no leadership or management skills.
Life Time wants you to have a work life balance. They want – more... you to spend your entire lifetime at work and have no life outside of work.

Basically working for Life Time is like working in the worlds oldest profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Work Environment
Membership Advisor (Sales) (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: fitness focused job, highly motivating, inspiring, feel good job
Cons: sales and pt jobs needs revamping. premium clubs should be compensating for premium service.
Company and culture were great but compensation was nothing to live off of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to workout but not to work for..
Facility Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: meet a lot of current and retired professinal athletes.
Cons: short breaks rude members bad management..
A TYPICAL DAY CONSIST OF PLANNING TEAM MEMBERS BREAKS AND LUNCHES, DELEGATING TEAM MEMBERS TO DO VARIOUS PROJECTS SUCH AS CLEANING LOCKERROOMS,BATHROOMS,DUSTING,BUFFING FLOORS,OUTSIDE TRASH AND INSURING MEMBERS HAD CLEAN TOWELS IN LOCKEROOMS..