Find companies:
Life Time Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
411 reviews

Life Time Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Facilitity Operations Team Member (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMay 12, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: bad healthcare
-fun workplace
-good co workers
-bad management
-awful benefits
-long drive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Jobs
Rock Wall Team Member (Current Employee), Overland Park, KSMay 12, 2014
Life Time has pretty good part time jobs, but the real benefit of working there is the free membership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with productive staff
Head Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Skokie, ILMay 5, 2014
Designated daily tasks to Lifeguards
Managed customer complaints
Filed accident reports and paperwork
Signed up members for swim classes
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the very petty complaints in the heat and keeping cool about it (no pun intended)!
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how happy kids were when I taught them a – more... new skill during swim class and they achieved it. Their smiles were priceless! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing gym, friendly staff, good environment
Childcare Attendant (Former Employee), Maple Grove, MNMay 5, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: short breaks
Big space to work out, take care of kids, and get in shape. I loved the staff and working with the friendly families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, as a 2nd job. Friendly place
Front Desk Customer Service (Current Employee), Romeoville, ILMay 1, 2014
Good place to work at, managers are flexable with home/work life.
People are very nice to work with. Good part time or 2nd job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Work Atmosphere with High Member Traffic
Certified Personal Trainer/Metabolic Specialist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSApril 30, 2014
The daily grind of sales on a 100% commission job that creates more opportunities each day has its pros and cons. Following a business plan and getting your clients results result in a salary based on commission. I learned how to deal with cultural diversity with members and team members. The hardest part of the job is continuing to hit your "goal" – more... ea and every month and dealing with clients who pay you for your services but do not follow your directions on how to get to their goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience helping change people's lives
Master Trainer (Current Employee), Centennial, COApril 27, 2014
Pros: i get to wear workout clothes, i can eat in between clients, and i am offered discounts on lab testing, plus i have a free membership
Cons: i have 5 minute breaks, i work late into the evening, and i work saturdays.
I work Tuesday through Saturday, schedule time for a personal workout, and have staff meetings twice a week. I learned how to test a person's metabolic rate, both active and resting. I learned about the lab testing we offer, along with a My Health Score check that we offer.
My co-workers are friendly, knowledgable and professional. The hardest part – more... of my job is working clients who don't do what I recommend, the ones who eat make poor dietary decisions and then expect to still see results.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working in a gym and being around health-conscientious people who share the same desires to improve people's lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works all right for a start
Facility Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Plymouth, MNApril 26, 2014
Pros: free membership, insurance, pretty decent environment
Cons: exhausting, reptetitive, unfulfilling
It has been the best job I have had so far and all in all very good to me considering my experience level, but I need something that pays a better wage now
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soul sucking
Activities/Events Department Head (Former Employee), Cary, NCApril 23, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, fun members
Cons: management, constantly changing expectations, hours, low pay
Life Time prides itself on putting forth a mission that speaks to a "healthy way of life" - yet it provides its team members with anything but that option. Department Heads were required to work 6 days a week for 10+ hours a day and be available by phone when not at work. Management treated team members like garbage and in turn there was (and still – more... is) a revolving door of workers. Front line staff received minimum wage with little incentives or praise. The only positives were getting to work with great coworkers while helping members and their children each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company
sales (Former Employee), Centreville, VAApril 23, 2014
it is a good company,I really enjoyed working there

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented with the entire club and also fast paced.
Facilities Operations supervisor (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 23, 2014
Pros: free membership and decent discount for lifetime products
Cons: no major medical insurance, no holiday pay
Lifetime Fitness is a 24 hour fitness facility and typical day would be to come in and audit the work of the shift before ours. It wasn't to show what they did not do throughout the shift but show how we can improve. After the audit we begin our daily tasks which in our department is maintenance. Our job is maintain cleanliness throughout the building – more... and provide excellent customer service to the members and also an unforgettable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented with the entire club and also fast paced.
Facilities Operations supervisor (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 23, 2014
Pros: free membership and decent discount for lifetime products
Cons: no major medical insurance, no holiday pay
Lifetime Fitness is a 24 hour fitness facility and typical day would be to come in and audit the work of the shift before ours. It wasn't to show what they did not do throughout the shift but show how we can improve. After the audit we begin our daily tasks which in our department is maintenance. Our job is maintain cleanliness throughout the building – more... and provide excellent customer service to the members and also an unforgettable experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time posistion to obtain membership to gym
Spa Coordinator (Former Employee), Parker, COApril 17, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: lack of advancement and benefits
The spa was a wonderful place to work. I was able to utilize my customer service skills.

My co-workers were positive,

There was a high turn over rate due to lack of advancement and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very casual on the outside, a lot of details from within.
Certified Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Centreville, VAApril 15, 2014
Day to day at LTF I meet many people, work with clients, listen to everything and try to help where I can by guiding members towards productive activities or purchases. Workplace environment is excellent as I am surrounded by co-workers and members every day, always something new to learn. Management flips often, as does the staff (commission), which – more... are downsides to working here in my opinion. The hardest part of the job is getting used to commission pay, and the most enjoyable part is watching your clients achieve results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured but fun environment outdoors
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILApril 11, 2014
As a lifeguard for the summer, I primarily worked at the outdoor pool in which case lifeguards on duty would rotate to a different position each 15 minutes. Some positions were at the top of the slide regulating usage, in the pool at the bottom of the slide to ensure safety, various spots around the pool, and at the towel desk. While at the towel desk, – more... we would have a cleaning checklist for each shift, and we would have to speak with any members who needed assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work that kept you alert and on your feet
Kids Activity Member (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 10, 2014
During a typical day at the child care center at Lifetime Fitness, I would rotate between areas usually about every hour. We rotated between the front desk, the infant room, the main room (which was particularly for toddlers), the maze, the gym, and the outdoor playground. During my time at the front desk, my responsibilities included answering phone – more... calls and making infant reservations as well as answering any questions the customer may have had such as questions about birthday parties and summer camps. I was also responsible for checking the children in and out which included making sure it was a parent or guardian that was checking them in as well as checking that the same parent dropped off and checked-in the child. At this station I learned how to interact, with not only the children, but with the adults. If they had any concerns or comments to make I would responsible at that time with dealing with the situation to the best of my ability. Many of the other stations included cleaning up after the children as well as keeping them entertained. We were also very large on enforcing safety rules. The hardest part of my job was during the busy hours when we would have about 120 children in the child center and just being able to keep up with their actions as well as making sure nothing dangerous was occurring. The most enjoyable part of my job was creating relationships with the children and their parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very upscale place to work!
Customer service (Former Employee), Centreville, VAApril 8, 2014
A lot of stuff going on at this workplace. You have the be ready and alert for all that goes on in this gym. Very upscale and high maintenance if you like all the glitz and glamour. It will keep you busy but not too daunting a task. Loved the management and felt like I was at home most of the time. Would love to do a similar job like this again!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent hours and awful management
Kids Activities Team Memeber (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILApril 7, 2014
Pros: free membership to the gym
Cons: inconsistent hours, little ability for advancement, poor management, and no loyalty
The child center would have a new assistant manager every month and every job was constantly in jeopardy. The hours were incredibly inconsistent and what I mean by that is even staff that had worked there for three years were only on the schedule for four days max a week. And if the ratio of children to staff was off, they would send you home. On a – more... four hour shift I would be sent home on average after two hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and dynamic
Fitness Professional/Metabolic Technician (Current Employee), Garland, TXApril 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, upward advancement, never boring
Cons: sales based, hectic schedule
I enjoy training and being able to train so many different types of people just the schedule options didn't favor me being able to manage my life with church very well and through out my time with Lifetime I changed schedules multiple times and just need a change. My coworkers were great learned a ton of different things from all of them. Hardest part – more... was there seemed to be constant turnover with our Personal Training staff so dealt with a lot of change because of it and feel like I need to get a fresh start somewhere else. Love working for the company just don't think it's the right fit for me where I am now in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission and vision driven
Education Specialis (Current Employee), Chanhassen, MNApril 5, 2014
Very performance driven company! Great company to work for, always changing and focused on serving the member.