Find companies:
Lifespan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Lifespan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Poorly configured model for a company
Day Treatment Therapist (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: pay for beginning therapist is moderate
Cons: no breaks, little time for paperwork, supervisors are unclear and talk behind your back, very intense and stressful.
Lifespan is a high demanding place for those who are okay with and ready to spend 8-9 hours daily in a salary position. Most of it is doing groups, but kids are highly behavioral. Paperwork is quantified by two or three versus other mental health positions. They do not have an accurate tracking system for paperwork in which they loose or forget the – more... materials you have already done. They operate all paper non electronic which is timely. Supervisors are not supportive enough. They pick on the mistakes you make several times a day. They lack consistency and training. They have no new hire orientation you figure it out as it goes. They have fired employees without giving a written or verbal warning*** The demand is high, very little praise and incentives.. you may be able to tolerate it for 6-12 months but many workers do not past the 1 year -2 year mark. Supervisors really need more clean direction and often misguide and confuse therapists/teachers/ and adjunct staff..this then makes your work with the kids and paper work a living hell... many headaches.. yelling and screaming from the kids....attempts of leaving the building. I recommend not to work here!!! TOO MUCH STRESS NOT ENOUGH INCENTIVE/RECOGNITION. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Residential Counselor I (Former Employee), Monroe, NCFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: community outings
Cons: diffusing tantrums
work with consumers in the community on life skills, vocational, and peer interaction.I learned how to build rapport with people. The hardest part was to calm down a consumer that was having a tantrum; and the best part was working out in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for career advancement, community contribution
REGISTERED NURSE, STAFF (Current Employee), Providence, RIFebruary 14, 2014
I love my job... I am looking to forward my career and deliver a high level of quality, and safe, care to my community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tier 1 Helpdesk Analyst
IT support (Former Employee), Providence, RIFebruary 11, 2014
Inbound\Outbound calls, Installation of software, Password reset, access creation, security procedures,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Community Enrichment Specialist (Former Employee), High Point, NCJanuary 20, 2014
Fun place to work and very diversed population to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet lots of wonderful families
LPN (Current Employee), Battle Creek, MIJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: hours not guaranteed
meet a vaiety of famiies always willing to help the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Care Giver (Former Employee), Athens, GAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: amazing management and employees
Cons: the facility closed down
This place is a Montessori facility. They pushed everyone's creativity, even the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with special needs individuals
Community Enrichment Specialist (Former Employee), Waynesville, NCJanuary 5, 2014
I really enjoy my job but do to budge cuts and obamacare I am forced to look for new employment and have always been interested in the health field!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for in Rhode Island....
Assitant (Current Employee), Rhode IslandOctober 29, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay, opportunity
Cons: very structured, some micro-managing
Lifespan is a huge company with many opportunities for advancement and lateral moves. Benefits are excellent. Get your foot in the door if you can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
CT Technologist (Current Employee), Providence, RIOctober 25, 2013
exciting place to work, high volume and fast pace. Have to be spot on with your job and mistake free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulfilling job
Aide (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 25, 2013
Pros: getting to know these two wonderful human beings and being able to help them as much as possible
Cons: not enough hours, no benefits of any kind
Arrived at the house at 9 am twice a week. Took the twins to the library for recreation til 10.30. Went swimming til 11.Watched TV 'til 11.30 Helped them prepare their lunch. Lunch at 12. Went to the dollar movies at 12.30. 2.30 we discussed movie and wrote about it.

I learned to be very patient. I learned to be humbled by their enormous challenges, – more... I learned to be strong when they had schizophrenic episodes (they are 28 years old and bigger than me), and compassionate.

I had no co-workers as I went to these individuals' homes

The hardest part was the minimum wage pay, otherwise everything else was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Newport, RIAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great environment, cafeteria, great pay.
Cons: parking not very close.
Wonderful people at a peaceful, quiet environment. I encourage anyone to work at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work. I hate it went out of business.
Payroll management/office manager (Former Employee), North Wilkesboro, NCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: spending time with mentally challenged people watching them learning something new.
Cons: loosing one of our consumers.
A typical day was come in and unlock my office say Good Morning to staff and our consumers.Check my emails and voice mails.The management was great they would come by at least a couple of days a week and check on everyone and ask if we had any issues. My co-workers were awesome very friendly also helpful.The hardest part of the job was when we lost – more... one of our consumers.The most enjoyable part was when I got to spend time with our consumers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced with great educational and employment opportunities
Unit Secretary/ Trainer (Current Employee), East Providence, RIAugust 4, 2013
Pros: employee discount program, good benefits, growth within company
Cons: parking
A typical day consists of admitting and discharging patients to nursing facilities or home, along with coordinating patient tests and appointments. I work closely with management and medical staff to ensure smooth patient flow. I work with a wonderful group of co-worker that perform as a team unit ready to tackle any situation that may arise. I find – more... that we have busy days along with quite days it all depends on the patient aquity. I enjoy the smiles and overall accomplishment of providing support to staff and emotional support to our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Community Coach (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 24, 2013
This was a great place to work in which I learned a great deal about child protective services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and friendly staff
Driver (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNJune 20, 2013
Pros: great schedules
Cons: not enough hours available
Typical day of driving routinely is quick with picking up the clients and driving them to their program. I have learned patience and positive attitude and thinking towards the clients, parents, staff members, and co-workers. Hardest part of the job is avoiding complacency while driving, and focusing on the safety of the clients and monitoring traffic – more... continuously. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to work for a well-known company with great work ethics and respect for each employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of funding
Research Internship (Current Employee), Providence, RIJune 12, 2013
Every lab group is welcome to sharing equipment allowing you to get results quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fullfilling job
Community Enrichment Specialist (Current Employee), Waynesville,NCMarch 28, 2013
This job is rewarding however job security is a issue. New hires are giving positions before other employees with seniority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the workers at Lifespan
Check Auditor / Part-time mornings (Former Employee), Providence, RIFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: people i worked with.
Cons: having to work there through a temp agency
If I could be hired permanently, as an employee for Lifespan, I would jump at it in a split second. The people were great. I was always on time, if not early. I had a situation that I was unable to be at work one day, and supposedly they were not disappointed in it. I messed the up on this temporary position. I was a smoker, and I feel very strongly – more... that they didn't feel comfortable with it.

I was working there through a temp agency and was given an excuse as to why the position ended. I strongly feel that I should have had some kind of a warning, but that doesn't happen in todays job market. Ethics and professionalism are lost today.

Lifespan, I have nothing bad to say about my work experience with them. I am sad that the position ended the way it did and that no one from Lifespan confronted me personally, but for some reason I don't blame them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company in home care.
RN-Adult/ Pediatric Ventilator Dependent (Former Employee), Battle Creek, MIJanuary 18, 2013
Great co-workers, helpful management. Good benefits. several advancement opportunities.