Find companies:
Lifetouch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Lifetouch Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfocused place to work from upper mana
Studio Manager/Photographer (Former Employee), Southaven, MSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: training, home office recognition
Cons: never satisfied when doing well by district manager, make it a challenge to retain employees all year round
If you don't mind working hard during peak seasons only to be told we don't have hours for you or your services are no longer needed after Christmas or Easter than this might be the job for you. If you don't mind having host store manager micro manage you than this us the job for you as a manager. It's stressful, frustrating and expectations changed – more... daily. Patience! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to be corporately abused this is the job for you...
Photography Sales Specialist (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 12, 2014
Pros: creative photography/lighting/sales consulting
Cons: bad for you
(The Portrait & Church Directories Division): If you like to be able to do creative photography/lighting/portrait sales consulting for a ruthlessly managed, greedy corporation who knows exactly "nickle & dime" you out of all kinds of money, work you almost 70 hours/week, require you to drive about 500mi./week, then this is the perfect job for you. You'll – more... wake up about 7:30, drive about an hour & a half to the site getting there by 10:am, work about 12 hours lighting/shooting >10min.sit & 20min. sell the sit (8-12+ sits/day) then drive back home another hour & a half. (paying you half of the govt. rate for mileage after 60mi./day, then put in your reports/emails online. The bosses make their money coming & going by the gross number of sits & the % of the job. It's 100% commission & some jobs are better than others. They always push you to do better no matter how difficult it is... Most training is paid at an hourly rate but they want you to do all kinds of extra online e-trainings so you "do better". It's never enough for them & they always play "the guilt card" when it comes to you for all kinds of issues...
(The Lifetouch School Division is even worse, it's a minimum wage nightmare.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Portrait Studio Manager (Former Employee), Brea, CAAugust 1, 2014
Cons: poor place to work
Changed Manager 4 times in a year and general manager 2 times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the chosen few
Confidential (Former Employee), ConfidentialAugust 1, 2014
Pros: fantastic esop, if you can cash out soon! largest photography company of its kind, on earth
Cons: difficult to forge a career path, dying industry, stale products, mean or incompetent field managers, poor training, low pay except for the chosen few
An ESOP company (great benefit if you grew up with it), Lifetouch is now a megalithic photography company trying to avoid dying the slow death of a thousand cuts from the Internet, social media image sharing sites, mobile devices like tablets and smart phones, and computers.

Mom wants her images on her phone, tablet, computer, and social media sites. – more... She no longer wants to pay $20 to $40 for a wad of mediocre portrait prints that will be stuck in a drawer. Can Lifetouch figure out how to play in the new, mobile, online world? Stay tuned!

Recent strategy for growth has been to buy up flailing competitors. Once they own all of them, the general market shrinkage is likely to cause an implosion.

Management wants to hold on as long as possible before cashing out their shares... I wouldn't want to be left holding the last ones!

Corporate culture is full of nice people and back stabbers, a few really sharp, competent folks, many normal people, and some really incompetent placeholders who must have done something right, way back when...

Field office culture can be horrific. Managers make all the real money. Photographers are hourly employees who work ridiculous hours, get paid below average wages for what they are expected to endure, and have highly uncertain schedules, from what they tell me. Most of the offices I visited were toxic. Only two were really upbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money for the headache
Studio Manager (Former Employee), Tupelo MsAugust 1, 2014
Pros: if u enjoy photography, you get to do this all day.
Cons: everything else about the job
There is no job security, things change in the company daily. Manager training is lax. Timing for client base is a joke what parent is going to be happy with a 10 min session on pictures with a limit of 15, this is company standard and yet you catch all the grief. This company does not care for its employees...you are easily replaced. Also there is – more... no such thing as a lunch break on Saturdays or if a session goes over and you can forget bathroom breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-So Company To Work For
Photographer/Sale's Associate (Current Employee), Lithonia, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: no opportunities for employees to grow beyond part time/minimum wage
Working for Lifetouch has made me an overall better photographer; I learned how to be more business savvy, time efficient, and learned to think/photograph more creatively within a twenty (sometimes 10 minute) time span. On a more negative side, the company does not allow for employees who aren't managers to grow, so in other words you'll have to take – more... on a second job to meet end's meet.

All-in-all, despite the negative aspect of being a Lifetouch employee, the experience is extremely beneficial and a job that I recommend to all serious photographers just starting out in the industry. Let my just restate the most important factor though, it's a decent company to work for, but not to make a living off of unless you're a manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNJuly 20, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers
Cons: no advancement
Checking in inventory that came from UPS/FED X truck. Learn a more efficient ways of receiving , management works right along with you , co workers help one another out if needed. hardest part is the location since road construction , people are very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Frequent lifting, pulling, pushing and carrying of freight
products. (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJuly 15, 2014
• Monitor inventory by completing counts as required.
• Picking, loading and moving product in warehouse via carts.
• Stocking shelves and check the dates on products.
• Lift pieces of cargo by hand.
• Shipping and receiving orders.
• Frequent lifting, pulling, pushing and carrying of freight.
• Bending and lifting small items, very infrequently
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Yearbook company that brings lasting memories to all children
Data Entry/Clerical/Billing Assistant (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 12, 2014
Pros: all the different skills i have learned over the years.
Cons: that our plant is closing and 100's are out of a job.
Working closely with Customer Service and Sales Reps. on a daily bases.
I have learned many things over the 21 yr period I have been with Lifetouch. If they weren't closing our plant I'd continue working for them. We are like one big family and have all worked together for a long time.
The hardest part of my job is loosing it, when you've been somewhere – more... for 21 yrs. it's hard & scary to think about starting over.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the people I work with and the environment in which I work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Photo Fun
Photographer/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 10, 2014
Demonstrating good attitude and patience.
Developing well-built customer service skills.
Managing paperwork, cancellations, and appointments.
Ensuring quality images, remaining calm in a stressful and fast-paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job growth, productive great place to work
Photographer/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CAJuly 7, 2014
Schedule appointments, answer phones, photography, enhancing photos, sales, customer service, cashier. Learned a lot of photography, patience, and how customer satisfaction is everything. No hard part of this job truly enjoyed everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great company to work for many years.
District Manager (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNJuly 2, 2014
Pros: esop
Cons: stress
No matter how hard you worked, it was never enough.
Stress

First 12 to 13 years were great.
First Regional Manager developed me into a great DM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Photography
Photographer (Current Employee), Fairfield, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: i enjoy taking pictures
Cons: its not a full-time position
Greet and provide superior customer service to all guest. Manage the photo flow of all customers, up sale to each customers to a photo packages. I enjoy working with my co-workers there but sometimes we work alone. I think the hardest part of my job would be when you have kids crying and you want to capture nice memorable pictures for your customers. – more... The most enjoyable part would be that I set a goal of a $100.00 a month on sales average and I most of the months have $100 or more sales average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of mandatory overtime, but overall an easy job.
Digital Retouch (Former Employee), Galion, OHJune 20, 2014
Pros: no physical labor, friendly solitary environment because everyone is working on different sets of pictures.
Cons: mandatory overtime and slow advancement.
My day consisted of sitting at computer retouching (improving) camera and lighting mistakes, such as glass glare, head shine, and wrinkled curtains. I learned how to use one of the newest Adobe Photoshops, and also learned how to operate a touchpad. The management at Lifetouch seemed well enough, but there always seemed to be overtime on the weekends – more... even though we went home early, earlier in the week. Most of the co-workers there were easy to get along with, and most of them were around my age which made it even easier to relate with them in conversation. The hardest part of the job was the overtime and focus it took to repair photographs. The most enjoyable part of the job would be the culture and environment of the job. I never came home dirty, never lifted anything heavier than my digital pen, and had a decent policy for breaks during the workday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Processing Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 18, 2014
Swing shift work and seasonal. The most challenging part of the job is the inconsistency of employment. The rewarding part is the ability to cross train.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take photos of students and staff
Photographer (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 4, 2014
I have to wake up very early but the day usually ends early too. I have no problems with any of my co workers. The hardest part of the job is the equipment set up and tear down. It's fun to see the kids dressed up and deal with the diversity, never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but very low hours
Photographer (Current Employee), Floyds Knobs, INMay 1, 2014
Pros: making people smile
Cons: physical labor
I have enjoyed working for Lifetouch but the hours and pay are not enough. I need a job in which their is room for advancement and within my experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alrite
Sales Associate, Photographer (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXApril 17, 2014
was okay. i liked the photographing part, but not the angry moms who blamed you for everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job for extra cash.
Photographer (Former Employee), El Paso, TXApril 4, 2014
Pros: new locations every day., some travel.
Cons: poor management, poor pay, poor hours.
The hours suck. They will make sure they never have to pay you over time. 25 hours on a good week if your lucky. Head managers want quantity over quality while photo manager gives hours on quality. If you go for perfect pictures though you wont finish a job. This problem is caused by penny pinching and not providing enough equipment and staff to handle – more... the jobs properly. They make you pick up your equipment the day before on your own time and gas. If you are a trained photographer you have a better chance to make money on your own than work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced workplace!
Studio Manager (Current Employee), Wausau, WIApril 3, 2014
Pros: work shifts, bonus programs, hands on training
Cons: no control over our appt book
Working for Lifetouch has been an absolute blessing in my life! I was able to advance to Studio Manager in just under 2 months of my employment. At Lifetouch you are constantly learning new things; how to improve when it comes to training your staff, how to photograph smarter, not harder, etc. Lifetouch also takes pride in recognizing their staff yearly – more... in a competitive contest that everyone can participate in to show off their photography skills! I've learned a ton and enjoyed working for them! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Lifetouch

When it is picture day at school, and the kids are all lined up with scrubbed faces, odds are that their grins are directed at – Read more