Find companies:
Lifetouch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Lifetouch Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Lead Photographer (Former Employee), Tulsa ,OklahomaOctober 13, 2014
fun and creative environment to learn basic photography skills ,driving and wear and tear on your own car can be stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a really good job for people that like seasonal jobs and had no kids
Photo Processor/ Cutter (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAOctober 9, 2014
i liked this job but the only thing is i couldnt do seasonal i wanted a year round job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start if you are interested or getting into photography
Photographer and Sales (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 7, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: hard to advance
Everything i loved to do. After awhile it got too repetitive.did more answering phone than photo taking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Production Specialist I (Former Employee), Okemos, MI.October 2, 2014
Pros: the perks of working for lifetouch were the free pictures we received as employees.
Cons: the cons of working for lifetouch was that the position was seasonal.
A typical day at Lifetouch was consistent upon my attitude. The work was there, and was going to be there until I completed it. It was fast paced and very busy. The management there are friendly and family oriented. I had great co-workers who knew how to have fun and get the job done without interference. The hardest part f the job was being on my feet – more... the majority of the day. When I say majority, I literally mean 95% of the time, I was on my feet. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to hear job well done from my superiors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace with many ups and downs
Photographer (Current Employee), Springfield, VASeptember 25, 2014
A typical day at work varies on the time of year and the day of the week. Some days are very busy and some are very slow. You just have to be prepared for whatever happens. I've learned to always put customers first and to make sure they are happy at all times. Management at my job is not as professional as it should be. For the little pay they expect – more... a lot, that they are not even doing themselves. My manager can be fun at times, but not trusted as she talks about us behind our backs and does not always keep word on everything. Management needs to also learn how to live by example with actions instead of putting others down all the time. She can be understanding at times but a lot of work still needs to be taken place. My co-workers are like my family. Well at least two of them so far. The others cannot be trusted that much because they are considered to be the manager's pets and converse rudely about the other employees. The hardest part about the job is trying to make sure you do everything right, and keep a smile on your face. Dealing with customers and the overall job is a handful because so much is going on, but I'm glad that I manage to get through each day. The most enjoyable part about this job is seeing the beautiful children that come each day and seeing my customers enjoy there pictures and time at JCP Potraits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job but not good.
Marketing and Event Coordinator (Former Employee), Galion, OHSeptember 23, 2014
Kind of a high school environment, bad pay but good hours. Management doesn't really listen or care what you say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic Schedule & Little Appreciation
Team Member (Former Employee), Dublin, OHSeptember 17, 2014
I was a portrait salesman. That was my job every day I had work. People had their photos taken and I helped them order the package they wanted. That said, I was promptly familiarized with my first work environment ever. This is where I learned how the workforce operates. My manager, although nice and professional, did not schedule my workdays very orderly. – more... I would get same-day notifications for when I was needed (and I specifically requested to not be on-call). However, he, like all of my other coworkers, were professional and courteous. The hardest part of my job was adapting to such a hectic schedule, while the most enjoyable part of my job was rising to the needs of my manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace environment, with a horrible management staff.
Head Of Shipping (Former Employee), Reno LabSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: esop
Cons: pretty much everything else
No respect is given from the management staff to the production associates and it is a terrible workplace environment with god awful benefits and practically no opportunity for advancement. And currently there us no incentive to become a full time employee as they no longer get paid more than what a seasonal employee makes until at least a year into – more... the company, where they still might not get a raise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Senior, family and child portraits (Current Employee), Elk Grove CASeptember 2, 2014
They take care of their employees, and make sure that equipment is on top shape and good working condition. Safety first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio Manager
Lifetouch portrait studios- Studio Manager (Current Employee), Lewisville txAugust 21, 2014
 Photographer
 Studio Manager
 Customer service
 Handling money
 Verifying orders and making sure customers are satisfied
 Selling photos and products
 Hiring and conducting interviews.
 Demonstrated strong and professional verbal and written communication skills
 Able to manage multiple challenges and to cope with change
 Managed a team of – more... four associates or more
 Excellent customer service and rapport building skills, specifically with children and families
 Previous demonstrated leadership & supervisory/management
 experience Hands-on leadership style
 High energy and a passion for the industry – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfocused place to work from upper mana
Studio Manager/Photographer (Former Employee), Southaven, MSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: training, home office recognition
Cons: never satisfied when doing well by district manager, make it a challenge to retain employees all year round
If you don't mind working hard during peak seasons only to be told we don't have hours for you or your services are no longer needed after Christmas or Easter than this might be the job for you. If you don't mind having host store manager micro manage you than this us the job for you as a manager. It's stressful, frustrating and expectations changed – more... daily. Patience! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to be corporately abused this is the job for you...
Photography Sales Specialist (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 12, 2014
Pros: creative photography/lighting/sales consulting
Cons: bad for you
(The Portrait & Church Directories Division): If you like to be able to do creative photography/lighting/portrait sales consulting for a ruthlessly managed, greedy corporation who knows exactly "nickle & dime" you out of all kinds of money, work you almost 70 hours/week, require you to drive about 500mi./week, then this is the perfect job for you. You'll – more... wake up about 7:30, drive about an hour & a half to the site getting there by 10:am, work about 12 hours lighting/shooting >10min.sit & 20min. sell the sit (8-12+ sits/day) then drive back home another hour & a half. (paying you half of the govt. rate for mileage after 60mi./day, then put in your reports/emails online. The bosses make their money coming & going by the gross number of sits & the % of the job. It's 100% commission & some jobs are better than others. They always push you to do better no matter how difficult it is... Most training is paid at an hourly rate but they want you to do all kinds of extra online e-trainings so you "do better". It's never enough for them & they always play "the guilt card" when it comes to you for all kinds of issues...
(The Lifetouch School Division is even worse, it's a minimum wage nightmare.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Portrait Studio Manager (Former Employee), Brea, CAAugust 1, 2014
Cons: poor place to work
Changed Manager 4 times in a year and general manager 2 times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the chosen few
Confidential (Former Employee), ConfidentialAugust 1, 2014
Pros: fantastic esop, if you can cash out soon! largest photography company of its kind, on earth
Cons: difficult to forge a career path, dying industry, stale products, mean or incompetent field managers, poor training, low pay except for the chosen few
An ESOP company (great benefit if you grew up with it), Lifetouch is now a megalithic photography company trying to avoid dying the slow death of a thousand cuts from the Internet, social media image sharing sites, mobile devices like tablets and smart phones, and computers.

Mom wants her images on her phone, tablet, computer, and social media sites. – more... She no longer wants to pay $20 to $40 for a wad of mediocre portrait prints that will be stuck in a drawer. Can Lifetouch figure out how to play in the new, mobile, online world? Stay tuned!

Recent strategy for growth has been to buy up flailing competitors. Once they own all of them, the general market shrinkage is likely to cause an implosion.

Management wants to hold on as long as possible before cashing out their shares... I wouldn't want to be left holding the last ones!

Corporate culture is full of nice people and back stabbers, a few really sharp, competent folks, many normal people, and some really incompetent placeholders who must have done something right, way back when...

Field office culture can be horrific. Managers make all the real money. Photographers are hourly employees who work ridiculous hours, get paid below average wages for what they are expected to endure, and have highly uncertain schedules, from what they tell me. Most of the offices I visited were toxic. Only two were really upbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money for the headache
Studio Manager (Former Employee), Tupelo MsAugust 1, 2014
Pros: if u enjoy photography, you get to do this all day.
Cons: everything else about the job
There is no job security, things change in the company daily. Manager training is lax. Timing for client base is a joke what parent is going to be happy with a 10 min session on pictures with a limit of 15, this is company standard and yet you catch all the grief. This company does not care for its employees...you are easily replaced. Also there is – more... no such thing as a lunch break on Saturdays or if a session goes over and you can forget bathroom breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-So Company To Work For
Photographer/Sale's Associate (Current Employee), Lithonia, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: no opportunities for employees to grow beyond part time/minimum wage
Working for Lifetouch has made me an overall better photographer; I learned how to be more business savvy, time efficient, and learned to think/photograph more creatively within a twenty (sometimes 10 minute) time span. On a more negative side, the company does not allow for employees who aren't managers to grow, so in other words you'll have to take – more... on a second job to meet end's meet.

All-in-all, despite the negative aspect of being a Lifetouch employee, the experience is extremely beneficial and a job that I recommend to all serious photographers just starting out in the industry. Let my just restate the most important factor though, it's a decent company to work for, but not to make a living off of unless you're a manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNJuly 20, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers
Cons: no advancement
Checking in inventory that came from UPS/FED X truck. Learn a more efficient ways of receiving , management works right along with you , co workers help one another out if needed. hardest part is the location since road construction , people are very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Frequent lifting, pulling, pushing and carrying of freight
products. (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJuly 15, 2014
• Monitor inventory by completing counts as required.
• Picking, loading and moving product in warehouse via carts.
• Stocking shelves and check the dates on products.
• Lift pieces of cargo by hand.
• Shipping and receiving orders.
• Frequent lifting, pulling, pushing and carrying of freight.
• Bending and lifting small items, very infrequently
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Yearbook company that brings lasting memories to all children
Data Entry/Clerical/Billing Assistant (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 12, 2014
Pros: all the different skills i have learned over the years.
Cons: that our plant is closing and 100's are out of a job.
Working closely with Customer Service and Sales Reps. on a daily bases.
I have learned many things over the 21 yr period I have been with Lifetouch. If they weren't closing our plant I'd continue working for them. We are like one big family and have all worked together for a long time.
The hardest part of my job is loosing it, when you've been somewhere – more... for 21 yrs. it's hard & scary to think about starting over.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the people I work with and the environment in which I work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Photo Fun
Photographer/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 10, 2014
Demonstrating good attitude and patience.
Developing well-built customer service skills.
Managing paperwork, cancellations, and appointments.
Ensuring quality images, remaining calm in a stressful and fast-paced environment.

1 2 3 4 5

About Lifetouch

When it is picture day at school, and the kids are all lined up with scrubbed faces, odds are that their grins are directed at – Read more