Find companies:
Lifeways Community Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Lifeways Community Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply.
Support Worker (Former Employee), wiltshireFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: people have ciggarette breaks when-ever they want because nobody really cares.
Cons: no breaks, long hours (sometimes 32.5 hours in one go including a a sleep).
I have two years of experience working in this area of work and have worked at three different places. One of them was Lifeways and I will be sure to never apply for their jobs again! My entire team I worked with lacked experience - it came to my attention that 90% of the staff had no qualifications or experience when I attended a pre-employment training – more... course when I noted that out of a class of 23 only two people had relevant experience and qualifications (immediately alarm bells rang! Two weeks later when the course finished 22 of us were offered jobs including one 60 year old women who had never worked in her life and used bringing up children as being her relevant experience, and one young girl who had never worked too and showed no interest in the course what-so-ever... i'll let you think about that! During my interview I was told The work rota would always be done FOUR weeks in advance and I would get every other weekend off - HOWEVER the truth of the matter is that you are lucky if you recieve the following weeks rota on the friday, infact some weeks it was brought in on the SUNDAY and people were expected to work the following day. The word pay is a touchy subject at Lifeways because you would be lucky if you were only underpaid by £100 a month each month - you will never be paid accurately (or for the waking nights either). Because none of the Support Workers I worked with had any experience most of them did not know the meaning of the word "abuse" whether it be financial or neglect. There was no Team Leader whilst I was there, or petty cash. One of the many incontinent residents had a Kylee approximately four years old when I first started where nobody could be bothered to purchase a new one (this meant it did not absorb any urine.......) A typical day consisted of all the other Support Workers too lazy to take their clients out (that's if they bothered to turn up for work) so basically sitting on their bottoms all day watching t.v and drinking plenty of Tea and Coffee... the place of work was kept up very nice, clean and hygienic... The managment are very very poor and also too do not know the meaning of the word "abuse" (probably because most of them were promoted from support workers). The hardest part of the Job is knowing what you are seeing is wrong and not having your voice listened too! I (like many) have thankfully left. I would not even reccomend working here to gain experience because when it come's to moving on other employers may recognise the low/poor standards of this company. If you would like to get into care work/support work and have no experience, try somewhere else, or get some volunteer experience - it is easy to get a paid job with just 3 months volunteering experience. GOOD LUCK! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not apply
carer (Former Employee), leicesterDecember 15, 2012
Pros: clients were very lovely to work with
Cons: no breaks, poor management, not allowed to eat or drink
Lifeways in leicester beamountleys running william smith house.this is the best place anyone could work if it wasnt for management.i never got my weekends off that i was intitled to one on and one off.complaints are ignored..when the clients flats were cold heaters were taken away as they said staff were benefiting.you get long days no breaks and you – more... are not allowed to eat.if you ring in sick you go through hell they force you to sign papers to say you will not be allowed to be sick for the next 6months.team leaders constantly complaining to staff about the way the home was run.any silly mistake you are taken for hearing were they talk to you like a child.sometimes you do a 14hour shift no break and you are stil not allowed to even charge your fone as they say you are charging their electric.something needs to be done!!!! Thank God i have left this miserable place.the only thing i miss are the clients. – less

February 7, 2013

I totally agree with you! At my place in Swindon THEY ABUSE THE SERVICE USERS and the management do nothing about it! Management are a disgrace!

February 19, 2013

so true! The managment are TERRIBLE!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
support worker (Current Employee), south westAugust 19, 2014
This Company is an embarrassment to work for and needs some MAJOR changes to be done if ANY improvements are ever going to take place - the main one being the sacking and rehiring of Managers, who are so unprofessional i wouldnt hire them as bin men. Its all "money, money, money" with money NOT being invested in current homes but instead of new ones.

Their – more... are major staffing issues due to rapid turnover rate of staff.

Managers/Life ways are so desperate to recruit they take people on with no experience in the hope they will stay a while as to not be employed elsewhere Lol.

I have worked here two years and seen the area manager twice and only had 7 supervisions. Still not fully trained either.

I would avoid this Company at all costs because of their poor reputation and low wages etc... its really not worth the wages - especially when your pay is always undercut! Lool

I would like to say its lovely to work with the users - but it isn't. They are not treated with caringness they deserve and we are never able to enjoy their company or spend time with them due to staffing shortages.

If you want to be trained by this company - good luck because they only have enough room on training courses for managers and team leaders Lool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disgracefull
support worker (Former Employee), swindonAugust 8, 2014
Oh my where do I start... ? No training in 18 months, 2 supervisions, no team leader for 9 months, no petty cash, no sign of Area Managers, no support.

I witnessed Area Managers lie through their teeth in CQC visits claiming Staff had monthly Supervisions and all staff were "fully trained". The service is not person centred at all as paper work and – more... goals etc written without service users knowledge.

Information and Risks that staff should have been aware of was kept hidden from Staff I.e users who had previously sexually assaulted people in the past etc... a Users Doctor was disgusted when he found out Staff didn't know as the Office Folders were different to ours! despite this, female staff had to fight for almost a YEAR to have a lock put on the sleep in door Lool... and we had to put it on ourselves!

Other support Staff were lazy and inexperienced - some Staff had serious hygiene issues also and turned up to work dirty and smelly.

Health and Safety is a joke - no fire doors, extinguishers, window restrictor, or even slip signs or multi coloured buckets! Homes were dangerous and dirty full of manky old furniture.

Users were not cared for properly I.e left in soiled pads for hours on end fed Chips everyday. Money was stollen from Users tins as we never had petty cash.

Investigations were never carried out properly and staff too scared to whistle blow because managers don't keep names confidential.

Always underpaid, last minute rotas, understaffed and Agency NOT used, on call was a joke and people left to lone work.

Had to work through breaks as always left to lone work but don't get paid for it.

Would not recommend to my worst enemy. I think they should be investigated by Panorama because finances and expenses claimed are dodgey !!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ignore ALL positive reviews- management trying to big themselves up
Support Worker (Former Employee), North WestAugust 4, 2014
Pros: clients were some of the best ive ever worked with
Cons: long hours, poor pay, poor management, poor training, poor people skills, no moving forward, no career progression, stuck in the past with old techniques, uses isolation of clients as punishment, poorly trained staff
AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID

Absolutely THEE worst job I have ever ever had.
Poor, unorganized management.
Took over a service in mental health - manager had never worked in mental health before.
Senior was a bully who refused to accept changes, the manager received many complaints but openly admitted he was too scared to approach her due to – more... her experience that he lacked.
EVERY SINGLE wage I had was wrong.
Wages are poor, in comparison tot he long hours you are expected to work.
Manger worked in a different city to us, lucky to be able to speak to him once a month
Hardly ever had supervision, notes were altered afterwards.
There is a bullying environment regarding support workers from senior staff
Training is poor. One person on a course stated that 'people with mental health never get better' WHAT???
Clients are ignored and bullied by staff, medication was often binned when forgotten.
The service I worked at had 3 LAST CHANCES by CQC to change over a period of 2 years.

Listen, a job is a job, we all have bills to pay but Id rather be on the dole than working here again. All of the positive reviews are written by management to make this mess of a company look better.

Any REAL support worker would leave. Ignoring clients needs while completing paper work, faking smiles and ticking boxes IS NOT support work.

We are not here to make money for your company.

AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day
Support worker (Current Employee), Halifax, ENGJuly 30, 2014
Pros: making a difference to individuals lives for the better
Cons: sometimes too much paperwork
a typical day at work depending on the start time could be supporting individuals with personnel care either by prompting or fully supporting first thing in the morning.Aiding individuals to prepare breakfast,laundry and keeping their house neat and tidy.
Supporting individuals to various locations either for personnel shopping medical appointments – more... or days out Keeping files up to date.
I have attended various training courses and my management personnel i found to be very approachable and co workers eager to explain various needs of individuals.
The hardest part of my job is sometimes unable to understand a service user if they are not vocal. The most enjoyable part of my job is when there is a big grin on service users faces and the knowledge that they are happy and trust you 100% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lifeways wasnt very team oriented
support worker (Former Employee), Poole, ENGJuly 22, 2014
Pros: i got to encourage my service user to do more things
Cons: total lack of support from team leaders and service managers
I would work with my service user either to get him ready for the day or ready for bed depending on the shift I worked on. I didn't have any training while there and the management were not to supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction if you are prepared to work hard
Night care support worker (Current Employee), Ripon, ENGJuly 17, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction great training
Cons: non that i can think of
I work as a lone worker nights so a typical night is doing a handover learning what the guys have done or if there is any problems I need to be aware of following there routine helping with personal care or any issues they may tell me they have or through body language if unable to vocally, to give them guidance to make the right decision for health/safety – more... reasons, doing household chores and write up of reports and health and safety checks and hand over in the morning I have on call support throughout if I need it.I get full training so I can deal with any situations that occur and supervisions to discuss any problems ect – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very rewarding job
home support worker (Current Employee), Bedlington, ENGMay 15, 2014
Pros: looking after the clients
Cons: when things don;t go to plan
a typical day at work -a handover with work collegues going through the events of the night before .reading the communication book then checking the diary to see whats to be done for that day.checking the medications and monies are all correct before the night shift ends their shift. supporting the clients with their personal care .administering their – more... medications/signing for them once given/& they are correct eg. the 5 r.s. preparing breakfasts/ supporting those clients that can prepare their own .planning the activities for the day for client has their own activity timetable subject to change eg staff sickness/ client wishes to do a alternative activity. carrying out cleaning regime encourageing clients to help to clean their home.ensuring all health and safety checks are carried out eg bath /food /fridge/ freezer temps. also weekly checks (in the diary)eg fire log emergency lighting /meds checks/ first aid boxes/ food menu charts/ up dating the diary. also ensuring future health appointments are made and recorded. encourageing clients to use their bus passes for their indenpenance. ensuring safety of the clients and the home is up held.hardest part of my job is co workers not communicating with me properly at times. most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the clients happy and well looked after. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job is a job but you wont be happy there
support worker (Current Employee), worcestershireMay 4, 2014
the current management needs reviewing they are not helpful or supporting to its staff and takes them for vantage. there has been no formal training offered apart from the mandatory health and safety and first aid training. The NVQ training that was promised has never been delivered. The support staff who don't work in the office are very nice and supportive – more... to other staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Support assistant (Current Employee), Sutton-In-Ashfield, ENGApril 15, 2014
Pros: every day is different
Cons: split shifts and long hours
on a typical day i assist service users to take medication, maintain house keeping and day to day activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
support worker (Former Employee), ukApril 4, 2014
Pros: survice users
Cons: everything
Worked for the company for 2 years absolutely glad im out of there...where do I start.
well first all the place I worked was jus taken over from lifeways the staff werr great. Then things turned for the worst... cut back. Service users went days with no money. Lost a team leader and due to cutbacks noone was bothering to apply to be one.. staff had – more... to do the team leader role. Paperwork ect aswel as support service users.. management are awful. Look down at you and if something goes wrong it was support workers fault. Constantly getting threats if you where generally ill and had to take a day off sick.. rotas were awful expected to work constantly basically minimum wage. No training offered. No offer to do NVQ.. no complaints weren't dealt with. Offices didnt listen to any enquirys... never had the relevant paperwork.. was told ink was to expencive for the office computer so went weeks without use for that... lifeways looseing all their old staff who were loyal andloved their job for young people who didnt even want to work for the company . constantly had new staf starting and not coming bk.. having the wrong staff for the service user.. the list goes on and on... however the service users were always happy because they had some great staff who wouldnt let that effect the way they worked and for them they didnt have a clue what the staff had to deal with.

You can clearly see the way the positive comments have been written are from management... there are loads of genuine companies that will respect their staff and pay more.. worth the research. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joke
Support Worker/Key Worker (Former Employee), DorsetMarch 31, 2014
Pros: other team members, service users
Cons: management, senior management, training programmes
Worked for lifeways for just under 2 years, started out was great, lovely people, couldn't do enough to help, then turned, expecting miricals, overtime expected of you, guilt trips then all the pay cuts!! All dealt with in a manner that well was just wrong, no one had any idea what was going on, what was being offered to who and all at the same time – more... as having to work out backsides off just to keep the place afloat!! Couldn't be happier that I'm out of there, may have taken a pay cut but as least I know my health, sanity and life are no longer at risk!
Training programmes were a joke, booked in a week before and cancelled the day before, was a regular occurrence and most staff remained untrained to a level and therefore should not have been working 1:1 in such an environment!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging job but very rewarding too.
Adult Support Worker (Current Employee), LeicesterMarch 28, 2014
Pros: team leader on site in case extra support is required.
Cons: too much travel getting to and from work on the bus and rough area.
In my role no two days are the same there's always something different going on.I have got to know all the residence that live there and share a good rapport with all the service users. I also enjoy training and building up my skills and knowledge in order to provide the best support I can.
As a team me and colleagues work very well together,I enjoy – more... making a contribution in team meeting and putting ideas forwards.
Working with service users who have challenging behavior can be difficult, for example when service users are feeling anxious or acting out, however I have learned how to manage this effectively and feel confident that I can recognize behavioral triggers which helps me avoid situations where a service user might feel uncomfortable or act out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our offices are in Doncaster and I work in Lincoln
Support Worker (Current Employee), Doncaster, ENGMarch 25, 2014
My main place of work was at the service users house. Typical day at work is firstly administration of medication followed by giving the service user his breakfast,and then his bath. We went out in the community weather permitting. The service user is fun to work with, always happy and smiling. He enjoys watching Disney DVD'S and doing puzzles or building – more... with his blocks and loves nursery rhymes. I learnt a lot in my role for example what his likes and dislikes were, what made him happy and what made him sad.

My co-workers are amazing, we all get on really well and help each other out when needed. We are a good team. I really love working with special needs. It was extremely rewarding and challenging at times.

I have worked for the Company for 5 years and during that time I have completed My Diploma in NVQ3 and NVQ2. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
Support Worker (Former Employee), AyrshireMarch 13, 2014
Pros: lovely service users
Cons: long hours, low pay, no respect for staff
If you want t be treated like a piece off dirt then this is the place for you. Only interested in making company directors money ( lifeways bought over by USA over a yr ago) don't care how they get it. Definitely not interested in clients needs or staff. Promoting.. THERE ..purse strings is the only description I can give. Moral in this company is an – more... all time low. Demeaning wages for a demeaning job ( ripped the heart out of what was a great job ) , cut holidays , no overtime to make up for loss wages n don't bother being sick cos you don't get paid. How this company seems t get clients is beyond me ( oh yes I do know they cut the staff s wages n put in the least price for tenders as possible other wise a cheap job for a cheap company) . The job is supposed t b promoting independence but most of there clients are usually house bound n hardly get out to there activities. As long as the shifts are covered they don't care who they put in t cover ( trained or not ie manual handling, epilepsy training ) . Clients don't know who s coming into support them on any day ( which is so wrong) I feel so sorry for the clients and the decent hard working staff who I can say that mostly are excellent , qualified n profession at there job. Good staff going to waste. No wonder staff are leaving in droves even the line managers have left. Treat your staff with respect n they 'll repay you back , no this company. Name n number that's it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun company
support worker (Current Employee), Swinton, SCTMarch 3, 2014
Cons: long long hours
Lifeways runs its services for users as a business not a service and support, they never get wages right, not their when staff need them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking
Support worker (Current Employee), WirralFebruary 21, 2014
Cons: everything
I've worked for the company unfortunately for 2 years and desperate to leave they treat the staff terrible the moral is so low its depressing. Seniors and management claim to be royalty. Pay cuts constantly cutting corners.

Worst company to work for avoid at all costs and that's coming from inclusive lifestyles who lifeways have bought out promised – more... the world and ended up writing the review to prevent another eager willing person from destroying there career – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
parts of the job were fantastic, others hard.
Support Worker (Former Employee), GrimsbyFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: good pay rate
Cons: long hours, little support from management
Get client up, bathed, dressed, medication administered, taken out for the day and then home, personal care, tea, medication administered, cleaning up, paperwork.
I learnt more about different conditions that people suffer with, or have making them find it hard to do what most take for granted.
Management are happy to help once we could finally get – more... hold of them, and other staff members where very supportive of each other.
the hardeswt part of the job for me was the personal care and the long hours (often there for 24 hours plus inc sleep in). The most enjoyable part was knowing I was helping those that needed the support to have a healthier, action packed life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable team to work with.
Area Manager (Current Employee), Poole, DorsetFebruary 10, 2014
Very busy area office with an experienced group of Managers and office staff who strive to improve the quality of service provided to our service users.

1 2 3