Lifeways Community Care

Lifeways Community Care Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, supportive, friendly.
Mental Health Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Hermiston, ORAugust 7, 2016
A typical day was fast paced on a consistent basis and often unpredictable due to the nature of potential crises. I learned a great deal about documentation, crisis process including court procedures,
treatment methods. Management was generally supportive and instructive . Co-workers were great . The hardest part of the job was seeing people maintain a self destructive mindset even with group, individual psychiatric and community support. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the success stories and working with a group of wonderful people.
Pros
Working with a staff of great people, free trainings, celebrations of staff accomplishments.
Cons
Top management seemed to lose sight of serving clients over political an financial priorities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers, challenging,
Mental Health Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ORAugust 25, 2016
Working with the clients was rewarding. Co-workers made the difficult days bearable. Management was more concerned about expanding the company than paying attention to the clients needs and the needs of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
I/DD Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario, ORAugust 16, 2016
The CEO is an amazing person and is growing the company to meet the demands of the community. There is never a dull day, work is constant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere for employment
THERAPEUTIC SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Ontario, ORSeptember 28, 2014
Lifeways does not care about clients or their well being. They do not care about employees they offer minimal pay for stressful jobs and only allow pay raises when minimum wage goes up. McDonalds would be a better place to work for than this place and you would end up being payed more at McDonalds.
Pros
no pros
Cons
management runs facility to better their pockets and not help clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes37No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pfft
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  North eastNovember 11, 2014
Don't bother wasting your time!
Basically forced to do shifts you don't want to do even if you have already done over your contracted hours. Little care for staff, little support from management. Team leaders are just as bad.. about as useful as a Chocolate tea pot. You work your back side off for some rip off wage and you don't get paid right usually! Lifeways slowly starts taking over everything you do. Managers calling you 10 or more times in 2 minutes begging you to do shifts on your days off!! Awful company
Pros
good support workers
Cons
the whole company is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes75No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep well away from lifeways
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Grimsby, ENGOctober 15, 2014
Work for them for a year and i wish i had never taken this job they was all nice and smiles at first for all the years i have worked in care have i never met such 2 faced back stabbing staff Even team leaders are sly and could be not trusted , Even the mangement are not trained to deal with every days stuff . To me this company needs a good kick up the backside begining with the Head office they never turn up on site and always to busy when needed.They employ staff who have never had any training before to look after SU with challenging needs and if the SU stars on the new staff member this member is moved on to other house. Sorry to me this company offer no support for and SU or staff it alll to do with money and power... Time to support your staff and not sack em or move them on ..... SO ANYONE WANTING A JOB IN CARE KEEP WELL AWAY FROM LIFEWAYS
Was this review helpful?Yes58No6Report

Comment – November 16, 2014

DON'T WAIST YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY ... SO QUICK TO SACK YOU AND REPLACE YOU ,SO TAKE THIS AS A WARNING AND STAY WELL AWAY FROM LIFEWAYS

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people with friendly coworkers
Access Clinician (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MIJune 4, 2015
See people with mental health issues ranging from brief therapy to inpatient hospitalization. A typical day will include seeing school age children, working or unemployed adults with addiction or mental health problems and connecting them to services to help make their lives better.
Pros
Pay
Cons
On call work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is different, challenging at times but great teamwork
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Bolton areaOctober 15, 2014
We support people with different needs to live in their own houses., working different shifts including sleepovers. My Manager nominated me to be part of the transfers last year. Didn't know what to expect at first but we all rolled our sleeves up and I think it was the best thing I did - I'm still there !!
Pros
team work, keeping people safe, seeing people happy, being part of a team
Cons
pay could be better ?
Was this review helpful?Yes13No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply.
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  wiltshireFebruary 18, 2013
I have two years of experience working in this area of work and have worked at three different places. One of them was Lifeways and I will be sure to never apply for their jobs again! My entire team I worked with lacked experience - it came to my attention that 90% of the staff had no qualifications or experience when I attended a pre-employment training course when I noted that out of a class of 23 only two people had relevant experience and qualifications (immediately alarm bells rang! Two weeks later when the course finished 22 of us were offered jobs including one 60 year old women who had never worked in her life and used bringing up children as being her relevant experience, and one young girl who had never worked too and showed no interest in the course what-so-ever... i'll let you think about that! During my interview I was told The work rota would always be done FOUR weeks in advance and I would get every other weekend off - HOWEVER the truth of the matter is that you are lucky if you recieve the following weeks rota on the friday, infact some weeks it was brought in on the SUNDAY and people were expected to work the following day. The word pay is a touchy subject at Lifeways because you would be lucky if you were only underpaid by £100 a month each month - you will never be paid accurately (or for the waking nights either). Because none of the Support Workers I worked with had any experience most of them did not know the meaning of the word "abuse" whether it be financial or neglect. There was no Team Leader whilst I was there, or petty cash. One of the many incontinent  more... residents had a Kylee approximately four years old when I first started where nobody could be bothered to purchase a new one (this meant it did not absorb any urine.......) A typical day consisted of all the other Support Workers too lazy to take their clients out (that's if they bothered to turn up for work) so basically sitting on their bottoms all day watching t.v and drinking plenty of Tea and Coffee... the place of work was kept up very nice, clean and hygienic... The managment are very very poor and also too do not know the meaning of the word "abuse" (probably because most of them were promoted from support workers). The hardest part of the Job is knowing what you are seeing is wrong and not having your voice listened too! I (like many) have thankfully left. I would not even reccomend working here to gain experience because when it come's to moving on other employers may recognise the low/poor standards of this company. If you would like to get into care work/support work and have no experience, try somewhere else, or get some volunteer experience - it is easy to get a paid job with just 3 months volunteering experience. GOOD LUCK!  less
Pros
people have ciggarette breaks when-ever they want because nobody really cares.
Cons
no breaks, long hours (sometimes 32.5 hours in one go including a a sleep).
Was this review helpful?Yes82No17Report

See more Lifeways Community Care reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 151 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.2
Culture
2.4

Lifeways Community Care Reviews by Location