Listening Ear Crisis Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, good engergy workplace with great residents
Direct Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Harrison, MINovember 23, 2015
fun place to work at with fun co workers and managment. its not all about the money to me but gettig to know the residents and being there 100% for them. my favorite part of my job was seeing the residents happy and healthy. seeing them smile was worth the long hours. theres quite a bit of activites i did each day from showering a resident to making crafts to taking them to their appoitments. it was very exciting but yet very challenging learning to communicate with non-verbal adults.
Pros
full benefits, fun outings, bonuses
Cons
not very good benefits, working midnights, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training. Multiple areas of employment within this company.
LPN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIJuly 23, 2012
Working with the states mental health department hinders this company from being awesome. Mental health has taken away the use of a dietician and limits so many of the much needed supplies to use for the consumers (patients). Salaries are very low, but year-end bonus is great!
Pros
opportunity to love and care for mentally disabled persons.
Cons
not able to provide/give the high standards l.e. desires for their consumers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIJanuary 10, 2013
I loved working for the individuals that I cared for. The staff were always welcoming and helpful. I enjoyed learning and experiencing all that I have in this job. I would say the hardest part of the job was dealing with individual behaviors and being able to redirect in those situations in an effective manner. The most enjoyable part of the job was going on outings in the summer time, especially, where we got to have more one-on-one time with the individuals we cared for. I have learned a lot in this job, such as taking vital signs and working on person center plans with health care professionals to help improve overall quality of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Housekeeping skills
Volunteer/Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 13, 2015
a typical day was getting there at 8 am and spent almost 5 hours cleaning just one apartment, i learned how to remove stain from a tub and sink, and also learned how to steam clean carpets.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
really dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the consumers was fun.
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 10, 2015
would work set shifts but the college help would generally be late or not show up so you were stuck until you could find someone to come in to work
Pros
working with consumers
Cons
working long hours due to lack of help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New learning experience every day
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 19, 2015
There was a new learning experience every day. I can honestly say there was never a dual moment at my last place of employment. Co-workers were a fun to work with got along with them and my bosses.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter employment
Direct Care Professional (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 5, 2015
Listening Ear is a great place to start your employment if you are looking to get into direct care work. There is not much opportunity for advancement within the company though.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Listening Ear
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIApril 19, 2014
During my shift I would do the cooking and cleaning and bed checks. Listening Ear helped me realize that I wanted to do more with the health care field. I obtained my CNA after working with Listening Ear.
Pros
consumers, corworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Volunteer Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MIAugust 20, 2013
The Listening Ear is a Crisis Center that is open 24-hours and is ran by volunteers. A typical day consist of taking crisis calls for 4 hours.
Pros
saving a life
Cons
feeling "stuck"/unhelpful to caller
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 28, 2014
I truly love the job, i do for the consumers. It is the most enjoyable work.
Pros
working with enjoyable people and being an advocate for great people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIApril 12, 2013
I learned how to be patient, and how to combine chemicals to remove a stain.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
lasted only one day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Listening Ear Crisis Center Reviews by Location