Little City Foundation

26 reviews

Little City Foundation Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first and very exciting experience in that country!
Volunteer database assistant (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILNovember 4, 2015
I did a wide range of work each day, starting from monotonous task to new projects which were very exciting.
I have learned Raiser Edge Program.
Good and supportive management.
Friendly atmosphere, work alongside the colleagues which is convenient to ask questions about new things you have to do.
The hardest is the new you have to do at the new work place!
Work in calm atmosphere, so you are able to give your best to have the work accomplished.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable work environment, including great staff and administrative team members.
Family Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 21, 2015
Great place to work! Staff is always willing to help and support employees. Numerous ways to get more involved with organization. Residence are friendly and great to work with. Resources available to keep certifications up to date and very accommodating schedules. Everyday was a different day with new experiences and tasks that challenged and encouraged employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oreinted
Driver (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILOctober 4, 2015
Really care about the clients and employees. Very supportive at all cost. Fun play to work with different activities. Nice amount of politics and was fair.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Residential Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2015
Little City allowed me to work with kids who were categorized as troubled. However my belief is that no child is bad nor troubled, maybe misguided but not troubled. I taught children responsibility, respect and how to enjoy life while taking care of business.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little City
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2015
Not a healthy work environment, very gossipy and high school like. The clients were awesome and it was a very rewarding job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DSP/ Life Skill instructor
Dsp (Current Employee) –  palatine, ILJuly 11, 2015
I started working at this job over a year ago and since then I have had six management changes. A typical day at work would be coming in at the beginning of the shift and finding which children I was responsible for and following the written schedule for the day. There were some coworkers that are amazing and work great as a team. There are others who don't. The enjoyable part of the job is watching children accomplish skills that people doubt that they could accomplish.
Pros
mon-friday schedule
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producticve fun work place
Life skilss Instructor (Former Employee) –  Palatine Il.May 7, 2015
a great place to work, I've learned to be more patient & how to be more compassionate. My co-workers were the best. I enjoyed being there for the residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adored the Children
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  PalatineMarch 24, 2015
Many changes occurred during my employment in the structure of the company. Developed amazing relationships with the residents but the management of the company ruined it.
Pros
On-call was rotated, residents were amazing
Cons
Struggled to effectively restructure, no raises, staffing issues
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic still fun place to work.
Direct Trainer (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILJanuary 20, 2015
A typical day consist of helping mentally challenge adults with chorus, rec skills, hygiene and recording their daily progress.

I learned how to interpret the difference of mental capacities, to help clients reach personal goals and to redirect potential behaviors.

Management was accommodating.

Co-worker worked together and were accommodating as well.

The hardest park of the job was, Being able to protect your self from a client who became escalated with anger. And not get hurt and still protect the client as well.

The most enjoyable part of the job was. The interaction with the clients. Being able to make them happy.
Pros
the sheer interaction with clients.
Cons
there was always a chance of workers being hurt on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILOctober 26, 2014
I learned a lot from my co-workers, but that is the only bright spot. No respect from administration, very poor communication from everyone at Little City. From Hr, to employees in the school, and bad communication from the school to and from the cottages where the children lived.

Im sure there are less headaches and stress and more money if you work at jewel....

I am glad I left.....

Ppl stay away...
Cons
administration, no breaks, low pay.....management horrible at communication, no respect or acknowledgement for a job well done.....
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment!y
DSP (Current Employee) –  Palatine, ILOctober 13, 2014
I have had a great time working here! I love the participants I interact with on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loving children
DSP worker P/T (Current Employee) –  Palatine, ILAugust 22, 2014
teaching children to learn and move forward in the community.
Pros
working with children
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Center for people with developmental disability
Residential Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILAugust 6, 2014
Little City Foundation is a non governmental organization that provide care and support for the people with developmental disability
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive nice place to get to know the children.
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ilJune 20, 2014
It was an easy going job getting to know the children but at times it was hard handling the children when they would act out. But overall nice place got to learn new things and also got to know alot of my ex co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Direct Support Personal (Former Employee) –  palatine,ilNovember 19, 2013
Always different place to work with great co workers an different thing to do at work everyday.
Pros
different location
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a residential advocat for .a children's residential site
Residential Advocate (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILNovember 1, 2013
I worked with mentally and phyiscally disable children 24 hours per week.
Pros
salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Senior Residential Assistant (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILAugust 15, 2013
Buzy with lots of creative activities ,field trips and 1:1 counselor.
Pros
productive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2013
family support worker transporting children to biological visit with parents and sibling
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked wwith 6 disabled men
Unit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Palatine, ILApril 26, 2013
I started off the teenagers when i first went to work there. I went over to the adult side and worked with the men. we had a home enviorment and had dinner together when i worked second shift and breakfast when i worked morning. This field has been so good for me and i enjoyed everything about it.
Pros
love helping people
Cons
no cons i always worked by myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
researcher internship
Researcher (Former Employee) –  oak brookDecember 10, 2012
it was only an internship i did for college but was a great job that i was offered but it was just not for me
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture