LOANMAX Title Loans Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Area Managers and higher need knocked down some....
Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 30, 2012
I worked for this company briefly and was terminated recently after I was told that I did something that I clearly did not. I was having an issue with another manager at another location and this is the real reason I was let go. Apparently bringing your children to work with you EVERYDAY for 3 or more hours is acceptable though. Having 7 people working under you that you cannot control is acceptable.... having absolutely NO IDEA of how to manage in any way shape or form is acceptable. Disclosure of a customers personal business with that company.. acceptable. Area Managers would rather talk to each other about their own promotions and what kind of brand new company vehicle they are getting rather than deal with real problems. I am fighting this every step of the way... I am an older person and have never been terminated from a job in my whole entire life.... that day LoanMax lost a good manager and money maker for their company as I have over 25 years of proven collection experience and a background in payday loans and customer service both of which will make a more structured company very happy!!
Pros
pay
Cons
egos ..lack of leadership and personal accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes21No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement, poor pay, kids as area managers
customer service representative (Current Employee) –  ohioOctober 13, 2014
basically at this job you will get paid poorly, the benefits are horrible, and if you expect the yearly raise this is not the job for you. However if you are friends with upper management and like to gossip I have great news for you.you will get promoted. This company does not promote off of merit.
dIstrict managers do not have any type of college education which is ridiculous.you can work hard, stay late ,do your job, and it will not get recognized. And the health benefits they do offer is so expensive, you could never afford it with what you get paid hourly. They basically will give any and every customer a loan, knowing they can't afford it. Then blame you when the customer does not pay, claiming your not doing a good job on your collection calls.not only that they expect you to open up the doors earlier then you're supposed to And expect you to stay later than the actual store hours. Oh and by the way they will switch the stores hours to being open later of course. And only give you a few days notice. This place is a joke, not a place to build a career.
Pros
employees
Cons
benefits, no raises, don't promote within, lack of communication, pay, hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes36No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAREER SUICIDE!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 26, 2014
Career Suicide....I worked at Loanmax for 2 years as a Store Manager. My ultimate goal was to advance within the company. The first few months was rough a lot of different people from all over the company visiting my store explaining what's expected. One thing I noticed immediately is that there is not a lot of structure. Everybody does what they want whenever. I had an employee who called off repeatedly and my area manager never addressed it. He was not concerned about people calling off or coming in late. When it comes to evaluating job performance I guess it's based on how well you get along with the area manager because the ones who hang with them are the main people who get promoted. If you work hard at this company they do not recognize you. So don't waste your time. The key factors to making it in this company is being fake....acting and kissing up!
Pros
u get paid weekly, no structure
Cons
no structure
Was this review helpful?Yes29No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE COMPANY TO WORK FOR!!!
CSR (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAFebruary 26, 2015
I only worked at the Charlottesville store for less than 2 weeks and it was one of the worse companies that I've ever worked for. I got no real training in that time period and the manager (Erin) was really rude. The workers talked about customers and past employees really bad as well as talk about their competitors to customers. They were very unprofessional and all they wanted to do was eat when I just wanted to learn my daily tasks. The area manager (Dave) comes in once a week and sits at the desk in front of customers and just eat and talks bad about past employees. I would not recommend this job to no one unless you don't mind potentially getting fired for no reason!
Pros
good pay, every other weekend off
Cons
unproffesionalism, area managers are just big kids
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bondage
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 17, 2015
This is the WORST place to work for! You paid little to nothing in very unsafe environments. They didnt care about the employees, they made you work later hours, even after you agreed to a set schedule. i went from customer service to collections in a few months. The customers are usually in poverty which cause many different attitudes. The managers are in clicks and have no loyalty. You are are expected to do the mangers work without thier pay. They will have you cover the store manger shift whiles theyre on vacation. The company would open a new location and not even consider you for the position. i lasted 8 months the pay was even worst for the amount of work you do.
Pros
sometimes the customers are awesome
Cons
short breaks, terrible managment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living life on a eggshell
csr (Former Employee) –  GAAugust 24, 2015
I've worked here for about two months. Everything I said or did I would always get pulled to the side on. management is very shady and backwards. They would give a dog a loan really anyone. I got terminated when really the store manager did a loan for someone that didn't meet the income requirements! They know most of the people will never pay back. Its a ripoff and everyone is buddy buddy with everyone there. If you fit in with everyone and kiss ppls butt you will never get fired. I would get in trouble for the little things. A waste of time and I walked on eggshells my whole time there. Its not worth it.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing going good for LoanMax!!!
CSR (Former Employee) –  Columbus OHMarch 17, 2015
Bad wages, bad management and horrible benefits. Cannot wait to be done with this dump. There's no set procedure for anything every store and everybody does things their own way. Company doesn't care about yu just about their numbers. Awful benefits. Hope you don't get sick or end up in the hospital because you'll go bankrupt. Management is shady, the customers are rude and have bad breath. No raises!!!! I repeat; no raises at all. A lot of hard work for peanuts.
Pros
Paid holidays and Sunday's off.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 3, 2014
At Loanmax, the job consists of processing loans using car titles as collateral, calling "the late list" for delinquent accounts, processing repossesion accounts, process payments and answering questions from the customers and potential customers. I have learned how to create accounts using the company's database, better phone ettiquette as well as better cash handling skills. The management was very reliable. The hardest part of the job was getting some of the customers to pay what they owe. The easiest part of the job was calling the late list and notating accounts. All in all it was a very laid back job.
Pros
every sunday off, flexible lunch breaks
Cons
lack of security
Was this review helpful?Yes14No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place!
CSR (Current Employee) –  Central OhioJanuary 14, 2014
I have worked here several Months. I absolutely love my job. In fact, to me, it's not even a "job" the work is super simple when you pay attention and follow the rules. The company gave a great bonus and pay raise last year. They constantly have contests and friendly competition between stores. My district manager is amazing! The company usually promotes within first, another great aspect of the company. If you're looking for a future, here it is. If you're just looking for a "job" keep looking.
Pros
30 minute lunches, pay, bonuses, great management
Was this review helpful?Yes21No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting pay, etc.
Friend of several employees (Former Employee) –  SW VAJanuary 30, 2013
I have several friends and relatives who work fir thus company and the starting pay was great in comparison to most, several of them have promoted to Managers and two of them to area managers with great promotion raises and bonuses. One needed to transfer to another state and they found her a position where she was moving to. They truly value hard working team players and promote from within.
Pros
good pay, pd vacation & personal days, great upper mgmt, promotes from within.
Cons
no health insurance but good pay compensates somewhat
Was this review helpful?Yes9No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for robot minded people that will blindly tow the company line
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  NHJuly 23, 2014
This is a great place to work if you like being a robot, become buddies with management, and have no desire for advancement. Initial training lacks structure & content. Follow up training doesn't exist. Pay doesn't make up for poor benefits. Position is mainly collections in some locations. Management lacks professionalism, maturity and actual management skills.
Pros
coming from retail no nights or sundays is a positive
Cons
training, collections, schedule, benefits, management
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect place to work if you love to work crazy hours
Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OHNovember 28, 2015
crazy hours and crazy amounts of work are the status quo for loan processors at LoanMax...there is no opportunity to balance work and personal life
Pros
good money
Cons
horrible hours and way too many collections calls per day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, OHSeptember 16, 2014
It wasn't a good fit for me. The store manager had no prior management experience and was very disorganized. They even looked down on the fact that my daughter was in the hospital and I missed work.
Pros
good pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet Office Setting
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ashland, VAMay 7, 2012
Do basic office duties, such as filing, copying, faxing documents, data entry. I process car title loans daily and practice proper collection practices, getting commitments for customers payments
Was this review helpful?Yes31No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job that paid the bills
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Canton, OHMay 28, 2014
all the job does is it allows food to be put on my table. there are no benefits and no communication
Pros
food on table
Cons
limitless
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Customer Service Represenative (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 8, 2014
Friendly environment, great customers, great pay. I had fun and learned a lot at Loan Max
Pros
friendly environment, great customers, great pay
Cons
non compete agreement
Was this review helpful?Yes10No20

Overall rating

2.2
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture