Loews Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture with both professional and friendly environment.
Summer Intern for Municipal Bond (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2017
The work was relaxed for the most part. I had a great mentor. The company has an open Kitchen. An long lunch break to walk around or even play a hand of ping pong.
Pros
Free Lunch, Friendly Management.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional but lay back culture
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2017
tend to micro manage and can discourage productivity indirectly.
Mantains a vey professional environment.
emphaze the importance of deadlines
Friendly
Pros
very lay back culture
Cons
level of micro managment has room for improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh!
HR Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2017
Very old school organization that struggles to keep up. Financially stable but not at all engaging. Far too many very long term employees that do as little as possible to get by.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Odd Culture
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 20, 2017
The head of the department liked to micro manage the whole process. The teams do not socialize at all they just sit in cubicles all-day barely interacting. Not open to new hires.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
No Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're only about Pay
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 18, 2017
Great company to be hired under in terms of office perks. Very boring work environment but yet seems to be dramatic with all the office gossip.

Communication between employees and Management/HR is poor. Too many employees drag there feet to get their jobs done.

Office resources are expensive, specifically accessing the design department. Design department should be ran by a more qualified, organized, communicative, and professional leader.

Great Pay and nice employees.
Pros
Great Pay and nice employees.
Cons
Communication between employees and Management/HR is poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Corporate Accountant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 29, 2016
Nice and friendly people to work with.
Limited opportunity for advancement.
Very professional environment.
Management is knowledgeable.
Pros
Life work balance
Cons
Limited opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place
Paid Investments Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2016
Had a great time working at Loews. Everybody was very nice and it was a great work environment. I have nothing bad to say about Loews.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, excellent location, great people
General Ledger Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 20, 2016
Loews Company is one of the fortune 500 companies. They sold Bulova in 2008. Hotel chain accounting department was relocated to Nashville, therefore the accounting department was reduced dramatically resulting in a major layoff. I learned a lot. Loews offers good benefits.
Pros
Good benefits, friendly work environment, good location
Cons
Loews has not acquired major assets recently
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 9, 2015
I worked their and it was a good place to work. Loved the people I met there and management was nice. good pay and raises. Alot of room for advancement. The benefits are good. they have really nice hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company.
Operations Sr. Analyst (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYJune 20, 2015
Fun workplace, enjoyed my time there. During my 11 years at Loews I learned alot and made alot of friends that I will keep outside of Loews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning attitude
Treasury Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2015
Start 6:30 am to start on AM reports review previous day activity. Relearning products I had not worked with for years. Interacting with clients and co workers
Pros
Cafe summer Fridays, Discount movie tickets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming, a family away from home
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2015
Working at this conglomerate was the best work experience years for an incoming Programmer Analyst. The manager of the team was a mentor and his style of managing produced positive results. Everyone wanted to work for him. I missed that company and my colleagues, but there comes a time, when one has to "fly the coop".
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conservative Conglomerate
Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2014
Loews has been an exceptional company to work for, a family owned Conglomerate that values its employees as much as any corporation can. Most people at Loews have been with the corporation for 10 + years and that speaks for itself these days. The environment is definitely conservative compared to many of its competitors but that is primarily the reason for its continued success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watches Watches Watches
Buyer/Corporate Purchasing (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2014
Bulova/Lowes corporation is a good place to work for. The co-workers are what we called "lifers". Most of them have been there for many years. The day to day tasks involved pricing and purchasing of mostly Bulova watch parts as well as general office purchases.
Pros
Good benefits, good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, friendly nice place to go to every day
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison Avenue, New YorkJuly 28, 2014
Everyone pitched in and helped. Atmosphere was very friendly no
matter what department you went to.

Lounge area with Ping Pong table and tv and nice tables and chairs for lunch hours.
Was very productive because everyone felt comfortable.
I acquired new skills.
Management did not stand over you. Best part of job was learning anything I could.
Hardest part of job was keeping the employees' time records. I could do it, I just didn't like it.
Pros
Vending machines for lunch, discounts on hotels, free fruit in the morning.
Cons
Did not agree with the health insurance plans
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Loews Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

Loews Corporation Reviews by Location