London Borough of Hillingdon Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not In Good Shape
IT (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater LondonOctober 24, 2017
Owing to a terrible restructure not suitable for an ICT department, skillsets have gone and nobody is sure how to acheive the aims of the restructure, as nobody seems to know what they are!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I have worked
Administrator (Former Employee) –  UxbridgeOctober 5, 2017
The staff were very hostile and although I worked on a part-time basis was regularly expected to work longer hours and put the company before picking child up from nursery. Good work was very rarely recognised. Unfriendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would rather not
Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  HillingdonSeptember 13, 2017
Would rather not comment

Nice enough people but too ridged, no flexibility at all.

Treated like children, though some people needed to be micro managed

good location

Good work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Transport Officer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater LondonSeptember 13, 2017
I have worked in several areas at the council, however, I have come to feel as though, I have constantly been moving sideways, instead of progressing, I have developed as an individual, and increased my potential and abilities in my employment.
Pros
Early starts and finishes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Government
Community resourses (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater LondonSeptember 11, 2017
Every day different and the roles are what you make it. Hardest part was sometimes funding and limited budgets but that comes with the territory. Good location and management support most of the time. Nice offices and majority of colleagues great.
Pros
Canteen and great location. Nice offices.
Cons
Long hours, no payrises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insufficient numbers of permanent staff. Stressful.
OT (Former Employee) –  Adult Social CareJuly 25, 2017
Currently there is low morale within the work force. Not enough frontline staff. Over a number of years as staff have left they have not been replaced with permanent staff. There are difficulties recruiting. As with the majority of boroughs everything is governed by a diminishing budget.

Having said all of that I enjoyed working with my colleagues for a very long time.
Pros
Mobile working.
Cons
Insufficient staff leading to pressure i.e. Work quotas being realistic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering for Victim Support
Victim Support (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  HillingdonJune 28, 2017
This was a lovely job as to getting to know victims via telephone or face to face contact. To reassure them that everything is fine and where they can get further help.
Pros
Own time to volunteer, support always available.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all about saving money and not the staff
Staff (Former Employee) –  UxbridgeJune 15, 2017
Stressful job, management don't care about staff.
All about saving money, impossible deadlines and staff breaking down in tears because of this issue.
Pros
Lovely people working there
Cons
Not looking after their staffs mental health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, yet little upward mobility
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  LondonMarch 29, 2017
LBH Libraries provide a great first stepping stone into library and information services roles. However, the pay scale isn't as competitive as some central London organisations and needs more available training for full librarian qualifications.
Pros
Great first step
Cons
Long hours, uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
test
ICT Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hillingdon, UKMarch 14, 2017
not much to say aobut this - I worked as a work experience student and it was good experience. I learned quite a bit about computers and software during my 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Council Typical
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ruislip ManorMarch 10, 2017
I worked for London Borough of Hillingdon Libraries. It is one of the best boroughs to work for when it comes to Libraries as it is one of the few which is fully staffed by hired individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work place
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  LondonJanuary 24, 2017
Lovely team. Great training benefits. Day to day job was varied and rewarding. Dealing with a lots of different disabilities. A place where you can have fun!
Pros
Good hours. Good annual leave and lieu time benefits
Cons
Higher management would do a lot of tick box exercises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated strong environment
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon, UKJanuary 20, 2017
LBH are in a precarious period due to government cut's but are working through this. It demands dedication but is slightly weak on appreciation and acknowledgement
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employers
Street Cleansing (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon BoroughAugust 28, 2016
Exciting work, outdoor & rewarding. Friendly people ,good hours if any down side non contractual ( Not permanent ).

I've learnt how to work as part of a team & enjoy getting good feed back from the public on the jobs that myself & team have achieved.
Pros
excellent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Deputy Supervisor - Tech Admin (Current Employee) –  HillingdonMay 7, 2016
OK to work for, lots of re structuring going on, reducing chances of progression. However, lots of nice and talented work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social worker
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon, ENGJanuary 14, 2016
I enjoy my work with older adults.
I have a very good team and management support
My manager is flexible when I need support
Pros
I am very happy and committed to my work at LBH
Cons
flexibility and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team
Gas Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, ENGJanuary 7, 2016
I worked with a great team in housing and environment
LBH was a very diverse and very large government organisation and very different from by previous council at Three Rivers DC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
residential support worker (Former Employee) –  London, ENGNovember 19, 2015
I really enjoyed working for London Borough of Hounslow.
This is where I started my first job ever and I was given every opportunity de learn and develop the skills needed to succeed in my field.
Pros
opportunity de develop self confidence and skills
Cons
too close to my house
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Authority with supportive management
Corporate Debt Officer (Current Employee) –  Hillingdon, ENGOctober 10, 2015
The local authority‘s priority is ‘Putting our residents first’ and with one of the highest levels of resident satisfaction in London, this could not be done without the contribution of all its staff. We have a strong political leadership and everyone is encouraged to share ideas and put forward their suggestions for improving our services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Revenues Admin Officer (Current Employee) –  London, ENGSeptember 22, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Good work ethic and training provided and received. Helpful and kind colleagues throughout the entire building
Pros
Discounts in multiple food chains e.g. Subway
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at London Borough of Hillingdon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2