Find companies:
Lone Star College System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Lone Star College System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time
Staff Assistant - The Woodlands ETC (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXMay 22, 2014
This is a part time position, I assist the program director for the new enrolled cadets for the Fire academy through LSCS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job i am only considering leaving for a solid full time opportunity.
Level III PC Technician (Current Employee), houstonApril 28, 2014
my ideal work environment is where technology is championed and learning is promoted. LSCS covers both aspects nicely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging job
In class Tutor/Professor Assitant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 29, 2014
The job required high proficiency in problem solving. I learned to manage stress for students as well as for me. Management was extremely helpful and they were always there for the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits ok Pay
Financial Aid Specialist IV (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Great insurance benefits, wish pay was better or that bonuses where issued for job performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching job
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
I taught three classes here. They stopped hiring due to budget constraints. It was a very good place to work. Very little supervision. I was allowed to run my class how I felt it was best for the students to learn. It allowed for some really good feedback from students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an Adjunct
Adjunct (Current Employee), Tomball, TXNovember 12, 2013
Pros: when the lights come on and learning takes place.
Cons: explaining so a student will understand.
I totally enjoy seeing what questions my students come up with and watching them figure out their mistakes. The process of learning is always exciting. The most difficult part of my day would occur when only one or two students just did not get what we went over.

The typical part of my day would include lecture and answer questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Computer Techician, one gains hands-on experience ranging from computer issues to program issues or to provided good customer service.
Computer Techician II (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 3, 2013
Pros: constantly learning the trade
Cons: it's a part-time job
A typical day at LSCS is basically to stand-by and address any computer issues the end-issuer may be experiencing and to solve those problems within minimal time to ensure they can complete their work.

Working as a team (co-workers), we are constantly learning from each other whether it be computer issues, program issues or rebuilding machines for – more... faculty or staff members. Management offers training classes (or online meetings) for new programs or to refresh/update their employees on current programs.

The hardest aspect of the job is informing the end-user that their computer will have to be changed-out due to the ongoing updating of new programs requiring faster machines, their PC is out dated or the dreaded BLUE SCREEN appeared, Most enjoyable aspect of the job, bringing in the PC and looking at their faces and seeing the excitement and worry that may bring on with the new PC. Being able to sitting with them and showing them basically that everything is the same as their old PC...just faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun team environment.
Inventory and Receiving Clerk III (Former Employee), Houston, TxOctober 18, 2013
Pros: healthcare, free coffee, time off/vacation time
Cons: salary
I would receive, track, and deliver shipments/mail daily. I learned how to be a team player, operate a forklift, how to resolve customer and staff issues. All of my co-workers were hard working and very good at their jobs. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the many events that our department had to help with setting up. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was dealing with the people on a daily basis and ensuring they were happy with my services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice Working Environment with Great technology Support
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 7, 2013
Pros: large spacious classrooms with up-to-date technology
Cons: most students are working class/ attendance is fair.
My day usually start in the evening after completing a full day's activities as a High School Sociology teacher. My schedule is usually two or three days during week. I either teach a one hour class on Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays or a one and one-half classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays. It is always the fun part of my day. It is less demanding but equally – more... rewarding to interact with more matured students. Management was always very supportive both materially and technologically. Although, the pay was not that much, it was such a rewarding experience that the pay really never mattered. It was more of a labor of love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Division Operations Manager (Current Employee), Tomball, TXOctober 1, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lots of overtime
This job is extremely detail-oriented and stressful, as you manage spreadsheets and budgets most of the time. The co-workers are great and the atmosphere as a whole is good. A typical day at work is on the computer running reports and updating budget spreadsheets. The most enjoyable part of this job for me is the hiring of adjunct instructors and meeting – more... them. The hardest part for me is the isolation from interacting with people and being responsible for the budget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Stable
Office Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: i am only part-time now and with no health insurance
My typical workday consist of working with the budget and assisting management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to study
Full-Time Student (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 12, 2013
Great professors and advisers. They always have the tools you need to study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
FOOD AND SERVICE WORKER (Current Employee), 9191 Barker Cypress Road, Cypress, TX 77433-1383July 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch, great work enviroment
Cons: lack of communication
Typical work day would consist of a 6 hour work day; I would work on prep for lunch and catering orders as well, basic cooking skills and sanitation to help me do my job better. Management could use some help lot of under and over ordering for the job in my opinion, the coworkers are I get along with all of them we have a good time working alongside – more... each other, the hardest part of my job would be keeping up with customer demands and orders, I really enjoy cooking in the back of the house with my cook supervising me and encouraging me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beginner
Program Assistant- Student Activities (Former Employee), Tomball, TXFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
This was my first job in the United States. Faced a lot of challenges while climbing up the ladder. Learned how to be independent and how interact with people in the United States. I was originally from Malaysia. The hardest part of this job was getting to used to the changed of the environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and good job security, if you like working in academia
Student Support Specialist (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXFebruary 23, 2013
I enjoyed my time here, and made many life-long friends from my time, and am very appreciative of all the different positions I held there.

Pay is about standard (as I understand it) for academia, hence why I work in the private sector now. But for those who want to teach or work in academia, it's a great place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy days
Department Assistant - Student Services (Former Employee), Cypress, TXJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: daily schedule always different; great time off
Never a dull moment in higher education. I learned to not only support upper management but the students as well. Repetition wasn't a problem because the day always brought new challenges to exercise my mind. I came to appreciate the team of people required to motivate a student from registration to graduation. Of course we had great time off!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization
Adjunct Faculty - Dev. English (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TexasDecember 21, 2012
Pros: progressive, responsive, dedicated to excellence
Cons: needed more office space set aside for adjunct employees
I enjoyed working for Lone Star Community College very much; if I had not had to take care of a family member and move to another area, I would still be working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lonestar college is awesome !
Field Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 9, 2012
Pros: lonestar college staff parking permit, great flexibility day/night hours, mileage reimbursement, many opportunites for professional training paid for, tuition reimbursement
Cons: part-time hours, not much opportunity for advancement, no pay raise
Not only a great place to go to school but to work as well. My job position was only part-time so there was no opportunity for advancement but job security was very high. I enjoyed working with all members of staff, not just my immediate co-workers but also all the locations of Lonestar College as my position allowed me to travel to different campus/locations – more... for training and work. I learned how to be responsible for inventory of over 14 locations for the Adult Education program and creative thinking when it came to dealing with students and supplies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Veterans Assistant
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2012
Managed day to day tasks and completed daily paperwork. Responded to office duties related to maintaining records, files, orders, etc. Answered queries from the callers and the walk-ins, apart from remotely assisting the staff, with technology problems in the offices. Assisted Help Desk for Veterans enrolling in school operating procedures, apart from – more... accurately logging all the Veteran contacts. Responsible for the computer lab and required to enforce all the Computer Lab policies. Responsible for attending all the meeting sessions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to work at
Field Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2012
Pros: mileage reimbursement, tuition reimbursement, very flexible schedule
Cons: grant did not allow for pay raises, part-time hours
I enjoyed my 2 years working at Lone Star College - Greenspoint. My job had me going to several campuses so I interacted with many staff across the organization and they were all professional and exhibited good morale. If I wasn't a student working part-time I would definitely consider working full-time for Lone Star College. There were no benefits, – more... just part-time pay, but I loved working there that I stayed for as long as I could. I definitely miss working in an environment such as this one. – less