LONE STAR TRANSPORTATION Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend this trucking company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  TexasApril 18, 2016
This company sucks. I would not recommend anyone go to work for Lonestar. They have you set more than you work. Home time is few and far between.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all work no home time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 19, 2015
When started Lone Star I was loving every moment but as time got to get up in company ,it was all gone all time. They figured no time for life was good for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Driver/Specialized Transport (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 29, 2015
Lone Star Transportation is a great company to work for.
I just wish there were better ways to advance other than doing pacific project work
Pros
excellent workplace
Cons
slow advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 4, 2015
If you are willing to stay away from home for at least 4- 6 weeks at a time you will do fine. The benefit packages that are offered are 1. really good but very expensive or 2. not very good but cheap.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the support I received from fellow drivers.
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 6, 2015
I initially wanted to be with Lone Star for the rest of my driving career. As I continued to learn and accumulate miles I quickly realized that I wasn't getting the opportunity of advancement I thought I was due. Maybe if I had voiced my opinion they would have listened......maybe not. However this was one of my favorite companies to work for because they really know how to get it done! They have some really nice trucks and take great pride in keeping them up and well maintained. Lone Star is a top notched transportation company. It is one job that you could actually gain knowledge other than just driving the big rig.
Pros
Truck washes. Nice picnics. Beautiful and well maintained trucks
Cons
Good 'ole boy network
Was this review helpful?Yes27No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LSI Transportation
Admin.Assist./Dispatch Assist./ A/R (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 27, 2015
Continuous customer service via the phone, email and internet. Everyone has to do their own job with no one to look over your shoulder. Love being able to assist the driver's with directions.
Pros
Continious Work
Cons
No more advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional Place to Work
Regional Operations Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 23, 2014
Very pleased with coworkers and staff. One of the hardest jobs I've ever had to move on from. Highly recommend!
Pros
ceo, department leads. real "people first" environment
Cons
compensation could improve a bit.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Challeng JIT Flatbed company
Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TXAugust 22, 2014
My day started at 0700 and ended around 1800
I learned several things about Over Denominational Loads
I was in charge of the office and the 18 drivers
Most were good at what they did, but they were used to the old fashioned way before electronic logging.
Training the drivers to use electronic logging, when they were used to being able to manipulate the paper logs.
Knowing i was able to keep the trucks loaded and they all made a good paycheck each week.
Pros
family time
Cons
worked for father inlaw
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatched company trucks before O/O
Owner Operator Contractor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2014
Could not make it there because they put company trucks before O/O and would be limited to just one load a week.
Pros
good work envirement
Cons
no work
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would give them a B plus rating.
Truck driver Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 16, 2013
overall work atmosphere good.Good freight to haul.Pay was fair and hometime ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No23

Want to know more about LONE STAR TRANSPORTATION?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees not treated very well
Permit Officer (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, TXAugust 16, 2013
fast paced work environment
overall a good job but some employees were not treated very well
Was this review helpful?Yes12No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Company that is Rapidly growing
Heavy Haul Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 1, 2013
Lone Star is a great company that supports its drviers with an excellent management team and knowledgeable employees. The most difficult task with Lonestar is keeping up with the ever-changing rules and regulations. Overall a great place to work with lots of room to learn and grow.
Pros
excellent advancement potential
Cons
very little home time
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, yet relaxed job
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, TXDecember 27, 2012
I answer multi-line phone systems, create and maintain complaince reports, data entry. Most enjoyable part of the job is the laid back atmosphere, but in the same token, the job can be slow and somewhat boring at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LONE STAR TRANSPORTATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

LONE STAR TRANSPORTATION Reviews by Location