LONE STAR TRANSPORTATION Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the support I received from fellow drivers.
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 6, 2015
Pros: Truck washes. Nice picnics. Beautiful and well maintained trucks
Cons: Good 'ole boy network
I initially wanted to be with Lone Star for the rest of my driving career. As I continued to learn and accumulate miles I quickly realized that I wasn't getting the opportunity of advancement I thought – more... I was due. Maybe if I had voiced my opinion they would have listened......maybe not. However this was one of my favorite companies to work for because they really know how to get it done! They have some really nice trucks and take great pride in keeping them up and well maintained. Lone Star is a top notched transportation company. It is one job that you could actually gain knowledge other than just driving the big rig. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LSI Transportation
Admin.Assist./Dispatch Assist./ A/R (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 27, 2015
Pros: Continious Work
Cons: No more advancement
Continuous customer service via the phone, email and internet. Everyone has to do their own job with no one to look over your shoulder. Love being able to assist the driver's with directions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Professional Place to Work
Regional Operations Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2014
Pros: ceo, department leads. real "people first" environment
Cons: compensation could improve a bit.
Very pleased with coworkers and staff. One of the hardest jobs I've ever had to move on from. Highly recommend!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Challeng JIT Flatbed company
Terminal Manager (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: family time
Cons: worked for father inlaw
My day started at 0700 and ended around 1800
I learned several things about Over Denominational Loads
I was in charge of the office and the 18 drivers
Most were good at what they did, but they were used – more... to the old fashioned way before electronic logging.
Training the drivers to use electronic logging, when they were used to being able to manipulate the paper logs.
Knowing i was able to keep the trucks loaded and they all made a good paycheck each week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatched company trucks before O/O
Owner Operator Contractor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: good work envirement
Cons: no work
Could not make it there because they put company trucks before O/O and would be limited to just one load a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would give them a B plus rating.
Truck driver Owner Operator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 16, 2013
overall work atmosphere good.Good freight to haul.Pay was fair and hometime ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees not treated very well
Permit Officer (Former Employee), Gainesville, TXAugust 16, 2013
fast paced work environment
overall a good job but some employees were not treated very well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Company that is Rapidly growing
Heavy Haul Operator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 1, 2013
Pros: excellent advancement potential
Cons: very little home time
Lone Star is a great company that supports its drviers with an excellent management team and knowledgeable employees. The most difficult task with Lonestar is keeping up with the ever-changing rules and regulations. Overall a great place to work with lots of room to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, yet relaxed job
Receptionist (Current Employee), Gainesville, TXDecember 27, 2012
I answer multi-line phone systems, create and maintain complaince reports, data entry. Most enjoyable part of the job is the laid back atmosphere, but in the same token, the job can be slow and somewhat boring at times.