Long Beach Memorial Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 56 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Friends and opportunities for growth.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 17, 2016
I've worked at several hospitals and this one is my favorite. Management and compensation sucks but the ancillary support and patient's outcomes are amazing. I would bring my mom here if she was sick over many other hospitals around here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe hospital to work for
surgical tech III (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJanuary 2, 2016
patient safety number one! Approachable managers, teamwork in the OR, training available, great co workers, and safe practice inforced at all times.
Pros
training
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Student nurse (Former Employee) –  ICU, Telemetry, Med-surgDecember 10, 2015
I rotated through this hospital frequently while in nursing school and was able to see the vast majority of things that nurses do while employed here. The team effort each nurse plays was important to me and the new nurses always had someone to go to if they had a question or concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CANovember 4, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably one of the better places to work in the field of respiratory care
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAOctober 30, 2015
Huge urban hospital which offers the opportunity to experience every skill in respiratory care. Very busy work environment and much opportunity to learn new skills.
Pros
Great healthcare benefits
Cons
Usually no lunch coverage and heavy workloads
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Hospital with Great Resources and Nursing Culture
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAOctober 7, 2015
Long Beach Memorial ICU is a great place to work in order to sharpen nursing skills due to the variety of patient populations and cases that a nurse can encounter in a very high acuity settings on a daily basis. The teamwork and collaboration between nurses as well as all other disciplines is highly important to the magnet level of care given.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Focus
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CASeptember 15, 2015
Patient satisfaction was the most enjoyable part of my job. knowing that they left the facility with nothing but positive feedback was reward enough for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot while working there
PHLEBOTOMIST (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 7, 2015
Learned to perform venipuncture on patients from pediatrics to geriatrics. Worked at a single person draw site so was in charge of running an entire office from supplies to front office to venipuncture and some processing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee) –  Emergency RoomAugust 4, 2015
The ER was a very busy place to work. The volume of clients hat came is was sometimes 300-350 a day. I had he opportunity to learn many different skills, that can lead me to other work opportunities. The management for the most part was tolerant to the amount of patients that had to be seen. Most co-workers were very fun to work with, and most are willing to help and work together for the good of the patient. The hardest part of the job was the costumer service for the people that did not want to here any explanation for the wait to be seen. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a client that came into the ER for help, and went home happy with what you have done for them to make them feel better.
Pros
flexable schedule
Cons
The way co-workers treated other co-workers if you had personality conflicts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice enviornment to work in friendly.
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 31, 2015
i learned how use computers such emails,microsoft word,excel,office etc....
my co-workers are fare to work with if i hacve any question they r always willing to answer theme.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader in RN Advancement
Clinical Application Specialist (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 21, 2015
Overall a great organization to work for, they place a great emphasis in personal growth and invest in the developing leaders within the organization.
Pros
Great Executive Leadership, excellent Palliative Care team, and overall good working environment
Cons
Focus more on RN Leadership Training, smaller support for the developement of "techinical workers"
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Triage CSR/Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJune 26, 2015
Learned Quality and quantity of work: accuracy, thoroughness, productivity and goal attainment
Communication and interpersonal skills: teamwork, cooperation, listening, persuasion and empathy
Planning, administration and organization: goal setting, prioritizing and profit orientation
Leadership: accessibility, responsiveness, decisiveness, collaboration and delegating
Job knowledge and expertise: knowledge base, training, mentoring, modeling and researching
Attitude: dedication, loyalty, reliability, flexibility, initiative, energy and volunteering.
Pros
steady work
Cons
sometimes no lunch brake
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn, grow, and critically use your skills and knowledge
ICU RN (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CaJune 5, 2015
A typical night in ICU involves a great team of coworkers who are helpful and enjoyable to be around. I learned to use my critical thinking skills to optimally manage the critically ill patients assigned to my care. The hardest part of the job is the constant reminder of the mortality of humanity; how fragile life is and that it is truly a precious gift. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you directly had a hand in helping your patient get better. Management at work is helpful and approachable, and they enhance the working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RN (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMay 30, 2015
LBMMC is low paying compared to Kaiser but it is an ok place to work. Very busy. Tons of experience. You will see it all. I have stayed 15 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very teamwork based pharmacy
Pharmacy Technician Student (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMay 17, 2015
management has done a very good job at effectively distributing workloads among different areas of the department that reduce stress on employees along with daily meetings, very effective communication strategies as well, everyone is well informed on daily procedures.
Pros
minimal stress environment
Cons
very cold, AC always on
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive coworkers.
RN (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMay 1, 2015
I enjoyed working at LBMMC. I had various experiences in nursing whether it was doing a wound change,providing emotional support to a cancer patient or assisting a new mother with breastfeeding. The enjoyable part of the job was caring for the newborn. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the psychotic and drug dependent mothers.
Pros
Management would buy pizza when staffing was understaffed and super busy
Cons
Sometimes management would ignore staff complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Intensive Care Unit Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 16, 2015
Great culture to advance your career. Proactive ICU nurses. Great educational opportunities. Management is good. Co-workers are wonderful. Hardest part is the challenging atmosphere but I love it. Most enjoyable part is the challenging atmosphere and the co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clinical Registered Nurse II (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMarch 9, 2015
Just started here. So far so good. People in the area I work in are very helpful, very team oriented. This is a very large and busy hospital with lots to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMarch 7, 2015
Public safety department is going under new changes. They now require some type of Law Enforcemnt, Military MP background. the current none Police back ground are systematically eliminated
Pros
the pay
Cons
you need post. too be safe
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. great staff
Biomedical Equipment Technician II (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 12, 2015
LBMMC is a great place to work for. Good work enviorment. medical center take pride with there multiple specialty centers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture