Find companies:
Long Beach Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Long Beach Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Occupational Program ( ROP)
Regional Occupational Program Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Long Beach, CANovember 9, 2014
Pros: being able to watch the doctor perform surgical procedures
Cons: having to leave
This particular job was an Internship after a 3 month training course. We were all assigned particular locations to get hands on experience. I honestly had fun. Working directly under under the dermatologist. I filled Syringes, assisted the Doctor in giving stitches ,and removed them on my own. The doctor had us to cut open cysts he removed to make – more... they weren't cancerous , and send skin biopsy's to the lab for inspection. I followed up with patients to contact the doctor to receive test results , and called the pharmacy to get prescriptions filled. When I moved over to Internal Medicine , I had to take Vital Signs , give shots to patients. and work with an EKG machine. I worked in the Medical records department as well pull charts as needed because they, gave us 2 weeks within each department to get a feel for them. I did not get hired on after , because they were looking for a bilingual applicant, but overall I enjoyed my time there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Nutrition Service Worker (Current Employee), californiaNovember 8, 2014
love my job but need more hours its a great start though. Over all I love the school and the people that I work with. I cleaned cooked and made sure all the kids were fed. great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school district
Intermediate Office Assistant (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 27, 2014
Very much enjoyed working for the school district, it was a fun job and provided a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well maintained and administered Campuses
Certificated Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 12, 2014
Pros: well maintained and administered campuses. friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Cons: no heath care for substitute teachers
Well maintained and administered Campuses. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Tutor (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAAugust 16, 2014
They were very flexible with my availability. Also, it was great working with kids and the teachers. Everyone was very kind. Here I learned the basics of common-core education that they have implemented in schools around California.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very convenient hours
Child Care Worker (Current Employee), Long BeachJuly 23, 2014
Great teachers all over long beach. How your day goes depends a lot on the children you get and how you deal with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet Fun!
Nutrition Service Worker/Cashier (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 2, 2014
Was responsible for every day transactions in the cafeteria
Helped prepare and serve food for students and faculty
Strived to give the best customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable
Teachers Aid (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 1, 2014
I have learned so much from working in an environment with kids. For me its rewarding to go to work and have fun with them. Having a respectful relationship between the kids and their parents and knowing that the trust is there is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente District
Preschool Teacher Aide (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJune 10, 2014
I worked for Long Beach Unified School District for a couple of years and i can said that they have really good programs. I worked there as a Special Instructional Aid, Child Care Worker and Preschool Teacher and I really enjoyed to work at that District.
I worked as well at California's Early Start Program which belongs to this district and I loved – more... that program. Really helpful for low income families and had the more loving and caring people working all together as a good and special team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, enjoyable seeing the childrens faces as we serve them.
Food Service Worker (Current Employee), CafeteriaApril 25, 2014
Going into the kitchen I start with the three sink washing of the dishes, then panning of food. Serving food to the children and then cleaning up the kitchen is next. Putting up and shifting inventory on a daily. My co-workers are always available for assistance. The hardest part of my job is that the position is only a 3 hour shift. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is being able to feed the children nutritious food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and friendly environment
College Aide (Current Employee), Lakewood, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches volunteering at the va hospital
Cons: less hours
Co-workers are easy to get along with and work with.
Love working with high school students.
Great supervisor that is great at time managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
Campus Security Officer (CSO) (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: pay
good place to work at! I would recommend this place to everyone looking for a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time...
Child Care Worker (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 29, 2014
This job is good if you are in school because they work with your schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Opportunities to help people
Elementary School Supervisor (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: always busy and lots of people
Cons: learning to balance
I love this job. The job was challenging but it made me grow. I began here as a temp also and advanced my way up to the Elementary School Supervisor in a full time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Custodian / Grounds Keeper (Former Employee), Long Beach ca.January 22, 2014
Pros: got payed on rainny days
Cons: had to work in it.
a typical day at work:edge grass,trim hedge,collect trash
what you learned:very skilled @my work
management:great
your co-workers:got along great
the hardest part of the job: very far
the most enjoyable part of the job: pay day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Special Education Instructional Aide (Former Employee), long beachJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: helping studnets
helped students learn all they can at school. In a fun and exciting work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with families
Family Services Liaison (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: seeing families succeed
Cons: seeing the poor living conditions living in the community
I loved servicent low income children and thier families . I liked helping them improve the quality of their lives;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love teaching at an IB school!
Educator 6, 7, 8 / Science Department Head (Current Employee), Hudson K-8December 27, 2013
Pros: love working in a ib school
Cons: not all teachers love the ib concept
My teaching day is full of interesting and challenging projects. Students design and build their ideas into meaningful presentations. I love every moment of everyday. I love it when students moan because the bell just rang--I know I have hooked them because they don't want to stop working!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office assistant
Student Evaluation Technician (Seasonal) (Former Employee), long beach, caDecember 9, 2013
I learned how to be an office assistant. Take and make calls. how to assist peoples needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bilingual Education Instructor (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: talking to parents
Cons: long summers
LBUSD; the perfect job for the perfect time; my job was educating children of Spanish background. enjoyed talking to parents & given the advice to better the student to excel in their daily activities.

1 2 3