Find companies:
Lord & Taylor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
222 reviews

Lord & Taylor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time here
Personnel Associate (Former Employee), Auburn Hills, MIDecember 2, 2014
I learned how to work with all cultures. I was introduced to many different cultures as customers and enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for this company
Sales (Former Employee), Scarsdale, NYDecember 1, 2014
Management is horrible and they don't know how to speak to their employees and a respectful way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
marketing (Former Employee), New YorkNovember 24, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: people are rude, no support
- Offices are disgusting
- HR is extremely unprofessional and rude
- Management seems inexperienced
- No work/life balance
- no one ever gets a lunch break
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND GREAT PLACE TO WORK
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), King of Prussia, PANovember 22, 2014
The shift starts with some stock work, then out to the sales floor. Your taught how to locate various shoe styles in the stock room quickly. Management is very helpful, the hardest part of the job is when you first start learning where everything is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place very productive
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYNovember 21, 2014
Pros: lunch room
Cons: breaks
censor all incoming merchandise and sort and hang. also put merchandise to transfer on carts to different store locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, Fun workplace, Great co-workers. Get to see new fashions.
PT-Sales Associate (Current Employee), Rockaway, NJNovember 19, 2014
Pros: employee benefits
Cons: low salary
Fun workplace. learned how to measure sizes and help with selection of complete wardrobe in Men's department. Also learned how to manage and update records in fine jewelry department.
Great Team in our Men's and Fine Jewelry departments.

There are no hard parts to the job. If you don't understand something, management is there to help you.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people every shift and laughs with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co workers poor management
Sales (Former Employee), Garden cityNovember 18, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers 3 day weekend once a month
Cons: low pay, unorganized operation, antiquated store.
Management unappreciative to good producers. Low pay, unorganized. Nice coworkers and customers. Holiday hours very grueling as well as events. Antiquated store and technical systems. Revolving door employement in cosmetics .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Flow
Sales Associate (Current Employee), King of PrussiaNovember 13, 2014
Pros: break time was generous, employee discounts and perks
Cons: minimal benifits for part-time employees
A work day typically consisted of customer interactions. Working here I gained and created customer relations, built better interpersonal interactions and time management. The co-workers and management were very helpful and freindly. the most difficult part of this job was dealing picky customers who needed more attention than others and closing a sale with them. The most enjoyavbele part of this job was the satifaction of happy customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organized
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: great atmosphere
great management team, great employee discount, very sociable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Salem, NHOctober 22, 2014
good place to work but sometimes the hours are long. training is really good here. i personally had to leave because of school but i would of stayed if i could have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work although no room for advancement
Lead MUA (Former Employee), new jerseyOctober 22, 2014
loved working with clients and setting up events
no room for advancement or salaryraise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something temporary until you find something
retail sales assoiate (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, NJOctober 10, 2014
Pros: a lot of contests events and good incentives
Cons: pay, benefits, environment altogether
I have been working here almost a year now and I really don't mind it but they don't really care about their associates. If you make their money, they don't care what happens to you. They don't accommodate you at all. No guaranteed raises. Tons of hours with little pay. terribly expensive benefits. The people I work with though are really great people and I am glad I made friends out of them. I love to work in customer service but this is not something you would wanna do for the rest of your life. ALL retailers are the same. Don't let the name fool you at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard worker
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre, PAOctober 10, 2014
lord and taylor was a great job to do i learn a lot i love working with clothes and making customers happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Commission Associate in Women's Shoes (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAOctober 8, 2014
made friends there for life, company is totally backwards on what is right and what is wrong with everything
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), livingston,njOctober 6, 2014
love my co-workers we was like a family.
I love working there because it was a big department store that sales everything. would go shopping after work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Stamford, CTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: break room, restaurant on premises
Cons: short breacks at times
Consistent level of work ethics.
Co-workers a little on private side
team playing needs improvement
learned to personalize
management overbearing at times
Recovery sometimes challenging
Loved customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, annoying requirements
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch, rewards for job well done, raffles for prizes
Cons: lord & taylor credit cards
Typically before the store opens there is a rally/meeting letting everyone know about current sales or promotions in the store. There is a very high demand and requirement to sign customers up for a Lord & Taylor credit card. If one failed to get any applicants they would be fired. It was required to get customer emails when prompted and in store orders. All my co-workers were very friendly and extra hours were usually available everyone worked together even differing departments. There was a strong team effort which can be encouraging. The hardest part was making sure one got the needed applicants for the Lord & Taylor card because it was a major part of the job. Managers put a lot of pressure on getting those cards. The most enjoyable part was my co-workers, they were all lovely people. Customer service was equally as imperative as the L&T cards, rewards were given to those who received positive customer reviews. I learned get customer service practices and different trade secrets with sales. My overall experience was a happy one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly sales environment with exceptional staff
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Novi, MISeptember 22, 2014
I regret the amount of disregard NY head offices had for the store and its beyond capable and attentive staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun retail is retail
Customer Service (Former Employee), Salem, NHSeptember 21, 2014
I liked working here I found a new job quick though. wasn't there long. but was good while there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales mall
Part-Time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Paramus, NJSeptember 18, 2014
customer service
sales
many personalities
monitor inventory

coworkers make it fun
pay is not good

About Lord & Taylor

Founded in 1826, Lord & Taylor has been offering designer fashions to Manhattan's most distinguished and discerning shoppers – Read more

Lord & Taylor Salaries

Sales Associate
$8.75 per hour
$21,000 per year
Sales Associate/Customer Service
$9.00 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$9.25 per hour
Customer Service Associate/Cashier
$9.25 per hour