Find companies:
Lorillard Tobacco Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Lorillard Tobacco Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Head Fixer (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 23, 2014
Pros: good wages, and benefits
Cons: job stability
A typical day at work for me consist of watching over my assigned machines, assisting the operator with operational issues, making sure my product meet the quality requirements, and my machine is functioning properly, fix machines, and troubleshoot as needed, every day as mechanic you learn something different, or you learn how to do it different or – more... better, The main thing I have learned is how to work together with others, how to listen, and how to keep in control under pressure, management is good they try to make sure we are informed, and that we have the tools to do the job, and making sure we are properly trained, and my co-workers are great they are willing to assist me if I need it. The hardest part of my job its hard because I love what I do, maybe its just having to deal with people that don't want to do their job. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting the machine running again, and keeping it running, making sure we run a quality product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day - Very fast, productive, and efficient.
Tester Examiner / Production Quality Control (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 8, 2014
To have a chance of advancement using my skills and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
AC Attendant (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCMarch 16, 2014
Pros: great pay, 2 weeks vacation to start and 14 paid holidays.
Cons: it takes a while to build up enough seniority to hold down a first shift job.
Management cares and is good to work for, and my co-workers are a good bunch as well. Now that we are a publicly traded company, the culture is slowly changing, but overall it's a great workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level job don't stay
Sales representatve (Former Employee), New engalandFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: company car
Cons: deadly product
Worked in sales capacity for many years,not at all a sales job completely all merchandising cigarettes to the retail trade, which is a tough group of people to call on. Very much like being in the Army
extremely regimented environment. No bonus, commission or any incentives offered. On a national level they have very high turnover
For many reasons as – more... noted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with something new everyday
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee), Indianapolis,INDecember 17, 2013
Working at Lorillard Tobacco Company was a very rewarding experience where the lifestyle and work environment is always changing. I built many great relationships with management, my coworkers, and store owners and leaving this job was one of the hardest decisions I have ever had to make. Each day on the job I was greeted by friendly store owners and – more... store managers who were excited to receive my monthly visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Program Manager (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 14, 2013
Productive work place. Older, long term employees. Formal dress code.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hot in the summrr and very cold in the winter.
Blending Supervisor Leaf Processing (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 9, 2013
Pros: great benefit package and they do fire up the grill on special occasions.
Cons: no overtime pay for salary supervisors in the leaf department while there is to much overtime, lack of trust with upper management, poor commumication overall, 2nd shift leaf production never knows when they will go home.
Management needs to change and lead by example.The union associates do a grest job in the Leaf department considering the dust, heat, and cold.The pay is in most cases fare for the work completed.Overtime for salary or some type of bonus for outstanding results are not given to certain salary personnel while others do recieve handsome rewards.2nd shift – more... Blending you never know how long you will have to work and overtime is usually available.Typical day long in production. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for.
Senior Research Chemist (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 22, 2013
Pros: no two days are the same, freedom to do the work without someone staring over my shoulder.
Cons: poor project management, which leads to starts, stops and frustration.
The Research and Development portion of this company is small. Right now it is too small for all the work that is coming, but they are adding staff.
It may sound like a cliche, but the people I work with are truly outstanding people, both salaried and Union.
The company is currently going through a transition due to the acquisition of an electronic – more... cigarette company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be Redundant
Territory Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 14, 2013
Pros: work out of office
Cons: salary doesnt grow
Decent entry level job but don't stay too long. Management can dictate your experience with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps me very productive.
Receptionist/Typist Clerk (Current Employee), Mauldin, SCMay 27, 2013
Pros: independency on the job
Cons: not enough hours
The most awesome and understanding boss ever to have.
He never gets mad and teaches me what I want to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Compensation Clerk (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 14, 2013
Pros: good benefits and competitive salary
Good company to work for and comfortable atmosphere. Generous vacation and holiday schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lorillard Tobacco Company
Drafter (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 29, 2012
Pros: good pay, benefits
Cons: poor planning, foresight, co-operation
My work experiences at Lorillard varied from very good to very poor. I was very good at my job, but when I tried for promotions within the company I was denied. Often the people who got the promotion would come to me asking for my help which I had no choice but to do what they asked. My boss would give me tasks which were his to do and when they were – more... finished he would often claim credit for my work.
I had great co-workers but the management often tried to see how many problems they could create for the union people.
Don't retire early because the company insurance is way TOO EXPENSIVE for retirees who are not eligible for Medicaid or Medicare. (I would not have left but unfortunately they decided I should retire.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has the best benefit plan by far.
Document Analyst (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 18, 2012
The benefits are great, but the culture needs improvement. This is not a good place to work if you don't smoke and/or have problems being exposed to second hand smoke. Based on observations, advancement opportunities are good for those in management or executive positions, but not typically for the average worker bee. Many employees don't feel appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tobacco Company
Efficiency Clerk (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 23, 2012
Pros: free cigarettes
• Built Prints and distributed the End of Shift Reports to meet set deadlines for all shifts in Making, Packing, and Filter Making Departments by screening, verifying, and entering data from the daily downtime sheets into personal computer programs. Complied daily operator efficiency information for all shifts by entering data from the daily machine – more... efficiency report into a database application.

• Ensured correct daily downtime records by collaborating, by phone and with personal computer e-mail, with Line Supervisor/Superintendents concerning incorrect or insufficient downtime and machine data.
• Complied Training Supervisor’s Pace review efficiency reports by recording newly trained operators’ efficiencies on a monthly basis and processing data for specific times, and provides secretarial support for department as needed by performing word processing and printing support for Training Supervisors and Superintendent.
• Strong interpersonal skills – communicating both ‘good’ and ‘bad’ news in a positive manner to maintain good working relationships and continued positive Teamwork. SAP: Create new SAP item numbers (interface to InterSpec; create maintain the specification (interface SAP master data and BOM); Compare specification and BOM between the two systems; Verify case SAP BOM matches what is in InterSpec. Enter Production Orders; Confirm and Release Order. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent starting point if you don't mind sacrificing morals for experience
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Savage, MDApril 11, 2012
Pros: company vehicle, gas card, great benefits
Cons: misunderstandings with clients
Job primarily entails account maintenance where you're interacting with customers on a person to person basis helping clients price product, enforcing details of merchandising or sales contracts (which can be a pain depending on your point of view) and calling upon chain accounts. While there, I've learned plenty about relationship building, customer – more... service and details regarding pricing product. Co-workers are great and truly work to create a team atmosphere. The hardest part of this job (IMHO) can be the client interaction. Plenty of my customers have trouble either understanding or speaking English, which can lead to misunderstandings (I've been accused of being racist as a result of this). What makes me look forward to working everyday though is that client interaction. I love being able to help a customer figure out how to make their business more profitable thus allowing them to make money and achieve what is commonly referred to as the American Dream! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management guide lines
Sales Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 15, 2012
Cons: mico management on top of all workers
not a great place to work for management never satisfied with your work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lorillard was an excellent Co to work for.
Sales Representive (Former Employee), Headquartered in Bonne TerreMarch 6, 2012
Pros: six weeks vacations, and excellent health care benefits.
Cons: no cons
Lorillard was ranked in the top 100 companies to work for at one time.

About Lorillard Tobacco Company

Lorillard Tobacco Company's position on underage smoking has been quite clear - kids should not smoke. To address this issue and – Read more