Find companies:
Los Angeles Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
224 reviews

Los Angeles Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Campus Aide (Current Employee), Playa Vista, CANovember 27, 2013
Pros: i enjoy working with the children
Cons: i wish there was more funding for the children's programs
I love working with children. Helping to keep them safe every day as well as being a positive role model for them is important to me.
It is difficult to deal with upset parents sometimes because they are so emotional. I try to let them know they are being heard and there is always some way to find resolve. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing – more... in the children's face when they are proud of something they just did or learned at school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job
Playground worker/ Coach, LA's BEST (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 25, 2013
I worked with the youth during after school, assisting with homework and various other activities. Great work environment, amazing staff, however do to the birth of my first born, I had to relocate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-call job that makes you go to different early education centers all around Los Angeles
Early Education Substitute Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 21, 2013
The easiest thing about the job is that it works around your schedule. The worst part about it is that you are on call, you must go to different locations everyday, and their are no benefits for aides of this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work.
student teaching (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 18, 2013
The principal is a great guy and the teachers are helpful and positive.
I enjoy going to work each day. however I am subbing for a teacher out on maternity leave and I will be losing this job when she returns. I wish I could stay here but I will have to look for another job when school ends this year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about you and your life goals
Counselor (retired) (Former Employee), Wilmington, Gardena, and Harbor City, CANovember 12, 2013
Pros: the students
Cons: non-caring administration
The hardest part about the job is not the students or faculty. It is the administration and LAUSD policies and politics. You are required to sign a document before they employ you that you are willing to go wherever they send you for a job, and they will use that for their benefit even at your peril. If you are a teacher they have a hard time getting – more... rid of you because of the union, but they will reassign you to a position 50-60 miles from your home to make you quit. If you are a counselor who has teaching credentials they can pull you out of your position and reassign you as a teacher even if you haven't been in a classroom for 20 years. Also, if a new principal comes in and doesn't like your looks, you may find yourself suddenly transferred to another school, and in any of these situations you have no say in the matter. God help you if you get injured on the job. They will harass you and make life miserable for you to get you to quit, and it will not matter if a doctor appointed by the state workman's comp board says you can no longer work as a teacher---you will be assigned as a teacher if you have a credential in a needed field to the detriment of your health. You will also be kicked out of position if a relative of someone high up in administration wants your job.

The best part of the job is dealing with the students and helping them get off to a good educational start in life, and the support of your fellow faculty members and staff. The kids are why you stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 7, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: no ot
Good place to work at I was a cafeteria worker only worked 6 hrs at most .Learned about food safety n food handling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment
Office Technician (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 2, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: no job security due to budget cuts.
A ypical day at work was maintaining the school textbook system and making sure each student had the correct textbooks. I also input student records and supervised them during breaks. I also assisted with teacher supply requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job geared at my early training
Special Education One on One Aide (Former Employee), Winnetka, CAOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great people, kids, enviroment
Cons: bad pay, no job security
I enjoyed this job very much! The pay was just not livable and it paid once a month and I was having a hard time making ends meet (3 kids living at home at that time).

I enjoyed teaching kids and parent conferences. My co-workers and boss were great! The teacher I worked with, I found out 3 months into the job, her father was my Social Studies teacher – more... in middle school!
We became close friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE WORKING WITH KIDS
SPECIAL EDUCATION TRAINEE (Former Employee), LOS ANGELESOctober 31, 2013
Pros: parties and carnivals
Cons: attentiveness of the students at times
MY TYPICAL DAY HERE WAS ASSISTING STUDENTS WITH LEARNING ABILITIES. I LEARNED HOW TO BE VERY PATIENT AND UNDERSTANDING. MANAGEMENT AND OTHER HIGHER STAFF WERE NICE AND SO WERE MY COWORKERS. THE HARDEST PART WAS TO KEEP THE STUDENTS QUIET AND COOPERATIVE. ENJOYABLE TIMES WERE HAVING OUR CARNIVALS AND XMAS PARTIES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy coming to work everyday because I work with great people.
Office Technician (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere to work in.
Cons: there are no cons.
A typical day at work is collaborating with my supervisor about a day's task. I learn new and exciting things about payroll. Management is great - open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic environment
Special Education Trainee (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: off every weekend
Cons: not 80 hours
I learned to have patience. Co-workers were friendly. No direct management. The most enjoyable part of the day was down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular day with fourth grade.
Teacher Assistant in grade levels K-5th (Current Employee), Van Nuys, CAOctober 21, 2013
As I arrive to the fourth grade classroom I work with, I have my group of student sitting in the back. The teacher leaves me exactly what to do step by step in my folder. Mondays I do fluency with the students and the students get to graph their improvement. Tuesdays I play a board game with the students using fourth grade high frequency words, the – more... purpose of the game is for the students to read the words correctly. Wednesdays I work on writing paragraphs, explaining what a opening hook is, the topic sentence, details, and closing. Thursdays the students edit their work and share. The students know exactly what to do every day and I'm there to reinforce it and assist them through the process. This is not a typical day at work, but its my week with fourth grade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fast-paced
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), 75th Street Elementary SchoolOctober 16, 2013
Pros: set schedule, allowing time for school
Cons: since i've moved, it is too far for me to commute daily.
My job provides plenty of time with students of various grades (k-6). A normal day includes meeting with 5 groups throughout the day for reading intervention. My schedule fluctuates between upper grades and lower grades, which creates a nice change with each group. All of the teacher's are very supportive and are willing to assist and walk me through – more... any lesson, as needed. When I'm teaching, it fills me with pride and joy. I genuinely enjoy helping people around me, young or old. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 13, 2013
A typical day at work was easy for me because I was always prepared to work with the adequate materials to teach the students and provide them with the activities. Working with other people because I'm easy to get along with. The environment was also friendly and all the co-workers respected each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at as the students really wanted to learn.
Teacher (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 11, 2013
A typical day included writing on the blackboard the state standards that were going to be addressed, what we would be doing in class that day, and homework. I would then teach addressing all three modalities of learners, i.e., visual, tactile, auditory, and would provide all materials necessary.

The Management was excellent always supplying me with – more... everything that I needed to be an excellent teacher.

My co-workers were excellent as we worked together as a team.

The hardest part of my job was making sure my lesson plans included teaching of all three modalities of learners, i.e., tactile, auditory, and visual.

The most enjoyable part of my job was teaching. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and calm work sites
Custodial Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 9, 2013
Handle Custodial duties daily. Learned how to multi task and work under pressure. Management was extremely helpful. My co-workers were polite and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and Productive
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: working with community
Cons: not enough hours
I enjoyed working with Children
I learned the new education system
I enjoyed working with my co- workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great multi cultured and productive environment
MCSA/Tech Coordinator (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 22, 2013
It's fun and pleasurable to come to a workplace with a multi cultured environment wherein learning and expanding on skills is of essence. No issues are necessarily exactly the same although resolutions build on a solid foundation of knowledge that expands through hands on experience. When interested in serving the community as best possible and with – more... "can do" attitude there are no real "hard" parts of this job. Problems are not problems but opportunities to solve and grow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varies greatly
Principal Administrative Analyst (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 21, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits and security
Cons: bureacracy and favoritisim, greedy consultants
very large organization - office are so different. avoid posts at the Beaudry Building, depressing office environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive School inviornment
Building and grounds worker (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: book fairs
Cons: large crowds
LAUSD keep there schools safe and clean and always put the children first.

About Los Angeles Unified School District

Los Angeles Unified School District's (LAUSD) mission is to believe in the equal worth and dignity of all students and is committed – Read more