Los Angeles Unified School District

Los Angeles Unified School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of ups & downs working with kids & adults who work with kids
Substitute Special Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 11, 2017
Working with kids is working with kids. There is always a plan, but there are a lot of variables in the whole scheme of things. Getting the plan to work, though, is very satisfying & fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and productive helping to the public.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 11, 2017
Working daily is a pleasure to get at work.
I had been working almost 20 years, I had learn much enough to be what I am now and having good management. Te hardest part was in the beginning not having experience talking to the public and the most enjoyable is to be able do my job right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 11, 2017
A typical day at work was good.I learned different types of food illness management was horrible the culture was ok there was any thing to hard the most enjoyable part of the job was making sure i gave good service to the kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job experience
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 10, 2017
The work can be challenging , however, I love the work/life balance and the opportunity to receive health benefits if you work the required amount of hours and/or full-time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Special Education Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2017
Great place to have a career or as a stepping stone on your way to your career path. Great for those who want to teach or impact children's lives and summers are off if you are a teacher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher's Assistant
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2017
You take the day in strides. You work with what you're given and make the best of it. THough the days may end up feeling as if you're being overlooked all in all it comes down to the advancement and education of the children!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with kids
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2017
Relaxed work environment, easy to adapt, children are a joy to work with, fun job, great work hours, many positions to work, lots of schools to choose from
Pros
get off work early, great work hours
Cons
healthcare, risky job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Teachers Aid (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 5, 2017
Great job with hours that are stable do you know that your schedule won't change, great environment if you like to work with kids, overall great experience
Pros
Relaxed jobs
Cons
Repeative schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good job
Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 4, 2017
Overall i really enjoyed working for the school district. it was a great opportunity for me to grow over the years. Its a great work environment and allows you to grow on so many levels with the children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 3, 2017
Teaching elementary school is very rewarding career. I would recommend trying to work in almost any other district than LAUSD. Upper management tries to micro-manage. If only the teachers could have more decision-making power.
Pros
The kids! Your fellow teachers!
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced job
San Fernando - Junior Varsity Soccer Coach (Former Employee) –  San Fernando Valley, CAJuly 31, 2017
I learned good experiences working here with students and learned more from the staff. I was allowed to be creative with my work and had fun doing so and learning from my lessons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with answering phones and help people with paychecks
Payroll Distribution Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 31, 2017
I have learned alot for this establishment and I'm happy here. This company is more than 1500 people and I help all people that haven't received their checks.
Pros
They believe in what you do and give you encouragement
Cons
If they are cuts on budget, you might get bumped to lower position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, yet very satisfying
Teacher (Former Employee) –  North Hills, CAJuly 30, 2017
We really worked and collaborated as teams. Even though I worked under three principals, I felt heard and had time to be creative. I was able to individualize instruction because time was available to think. The hardest part of my job as a teacher with LAUSD was the outside influences that my students had to deal with at home and in the neighborhood my school was located in. The most enjoyable part was working with my students and parents. I also made life-long friends there.
Pros
Good principals, teacher relationships, teacher thinking time
Cons
Tough neighborhood sometimes hindered teaching
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Beyond the Bell Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 22, 2017
loved working with the youth and setting up the sports games and helping with the homework , this job thought me how to be a leader for tomorrow generation of leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with children can change your life
Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CAJuly 22, 2017
i was a one on one behavioral interventionist
it was amazing to work for a school district
all the staff was very close and worked together
management was lenient because they lead by example
hardest part of the job was not getting paid for breaks
the most enjoyable part of the job were the children
Pros
good experience, good hours, summers and weekends off
Cons
very big district, not enough funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment with this company is interesting.
Special Education Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 18, 2017
If you are a younger person with lots of energy and a love of helping children, this is the job for you. There is room for growth in the field of education. The start off pay is above average with a raise for the next few years after initial hire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Grow
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Reseda, CAJuly 17, 2017
I've enjoyed working for LAUSD. It has allowed me to network and create important connections with others. Many positions available (entry level). The minimum wage is $15
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2017
Working with students and families can be very rewarding, depending on the school and location. Not every school is enjoyable and welcoming as others. It all just depends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Playground Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 14, 2017
i worked with children on probation and taught them how to read and better their reading skills. I enjoyed working with children. It gave me a better understanding on how children on probation.
Pros
work was near home and experience with probation children
Cons
no benefit, not full time or part time, pay wasn't enoug
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Special Education Teacher Assistant - Substitute (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAJuly 13, 2017
Work schedule is very manageable
A great range of experience is available
Hardest part of the job is the troublesome students
Most enjoyable part of the job is helping troubled students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Los Angeles Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 951 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0