Find companies:
Loudoun County Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Loudoun County Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging environmnet
Summer School- Special Education Assistant (Former Employee), Leesburg, VASeptember 17, 2014
Each summer working the management has improved. Pay is relatively good and seems to be increasing each year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For Single Mothers or Retired Individuals
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Leesburg, VASeptember 11, 2014
This was a fantastic job for me at the time. I could take my children with me to work. I was off when they were off. Benefits were great. The hardest part of the job was getting up at 4:30 with two small children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to continue to guide students to succeed
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Loudoun County, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good pay
Cons: no benefits
Substitute teaching has great hours as I am able to teach as well as coach softball. It is rewarding to continue to guide students to succeed and follow the teachers plans while he/she is out. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I am giving back to my county and school system that provided me excellent education from kindergarten to high – more... school as well as working with the students and emphasizing the importance of education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive / Educator / Government Leader Problem Solver / Organizer Public Relations Professional / Communicator / Detail Oriented
Teacher/Administrative (Former Employee), Throughout LoudounAugust 1, 2014
Pros: quality organization
Each day involves planning, creating lesson plans, grading papers and providing instruction. In addition to meetings with staff and parents, as well as maintaining website material.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ESL elementary teacher (Former Employee), Leesburg, VAJune 12, 2014
Respect among employees and from the leadership team.
Great benefits.
Possibility for advancement, help with tuition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with the youth on a part time basis
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Loudoun County Public SchoolsMay 29, 2014
Being a substitute teacher is quite interesting because no one day is the same. I get to meet new students every time I accept an assignment and many wonderful teachers and admin staff members. I prefer to work with the same students for a long period of time because I want to establish a teacher-student relationship. It's difficult to be a new teacher – more... and meet new students all the time and can be exhausting because every school and every classroom has different rules and different culture. I never know what to expect from each day that I work for Loudoun County schools. I believe that being a substitute teacher is a good way for me to get more exposure to working with the youth and experience in teaching. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement with many approachable individuals
School Social Work Intern (Former Employee), Leesburg, VAMay 12, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: no chance to become hired within the county as a school social worker.
I worked as a school social intern for LCPS from Sept. 2013-May 2014. While at LCPS I co-lead 5 groups with other social workers and substance abuse prevention specialists in the county. I also worked with two students, individually, on concerns relating to family and relationships. I spent half of my time working on parent interviews for student eligibility – more... for special education services. I learned how to accept feedback and criticism this past year, while at LCPS, and how to work constructively from it. My co-workers made my experience truly enjoyable. I was able to reach out to anyone at any time and find out an answer to any of my many questions. I enjoyed working with all the students and seeing their insight grow the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great county to work for
Second Grade Teacher (Former Employee), Sterling, VAMay 10, 2014
Pros: learning experience, professional development opportunities
Cons: high expectations without support, no staff input in school-wide decisions, pto funding not going towards the needs of the teachers
In my three years with LCPS I have had nothing but a great working experience. Overall LCPS really cares about their teachers and depending on the school you work at, it can be a rewarding career choice.

The school that I worked at was a high-performing school where the administration had high expectations for student success. In the primary grades – more... the focus, of course, is on advancing students' reading and in 3rd-5th it was preparing them for the SOLs. I've learned a lot from working here both on a professional and personal level. I've gained good in-classroom experiences, learned the balance of parent communication and involvement, collaborating on a team, etc.

I would say that the hardest part of the job was having such high expectations placed on teachers without any clear support or ways to assist the teachers to meet those goals. Often times teachers will receive poor observations due to these expectations of teacher performance- but if guidance and support were given, many of those 'areas of improvement' would be, in fact, improved.

The most enjoyable part of the job was, of course, the families and children you get to interact with for the year. I enjoyed creating fun and engaging lesson plans and seeing the learning going on in the classroom. There's nothing better than having a student or a parent express to you how much their child enjoys your class or that this year they've made a 180 degree turn from the previous year. Those are the things that make the 'hardest part of the job' seem better and get you through the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching
Elementary Teacher (Former Employee), Arcola, VAApril 21, 2014
Pros: fun, creative and energetic enviroment
Cons: the amount of time in planning and preparation
A typical day a work included preparing and implementing lessons to 2nd grade students. I learned new way to implement reading workshop. I worked cooperatively with my co-workers and administration to ensure the best learning environment and high standard of educations was provided for all students. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping students – more... become independent learners and seeing them be grow academically and socially. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Children are our future and the world's investment
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), ashburn, vaMarch 11, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: no benefits
To have the privilege to be a part of a child's life and to actually see him or her learn something new is an amazing thing.

What is that old proverb? Give a man a fish - he will eat for a day, teach a man to fish, he will feast for a lifetime
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in various subjects
Subsitute Teacher (Former Employee), Ashburn, VAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: students
Cons: not full-time and at too many schools
Students made every day a diffferent place with different materials to be learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated workplace
Teacher Assistant, Algonkian Elementary (Current Employee), Sterling vaFebruary 14, 2014
I began working for LCPS while my children were young. I enjoyed working with the children and helping them learn. I currently spend my day in various classrooms with all grade levels, helping them to understand the English language.
I work with the most dedicated people I have ever met. The effort that the teachers in my school put forth to teach these – more... children is amazing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible time and availability to take time off when circumstances merit
Bus Driver/ Parent Liaison/ Spanish Interpreter (Current Employee), Leesburg, VirginiaFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited hours
Safety is our first concern; this is why we always make sure the bus is inspected in and out for safe transport of the students. Our days start by picking up the students from their homes and safely transporting them to the school. Later, in the afternoon they are picked up at their school and safely returned to their homes. Management is trustworthy – more... with the drivers integrity and ability to perform their duties and they empower us to make decision while on the road transporting students. Co-workers work pretty much work independently from each others but respect among each other our duties. I will not said is the hardest part of my job but is definitely the more demanding and it is to ensure the safe transportation to and from school of the student body. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Boy's JV Soccer Coach (Current Employee), South Riding, VAJanuary 14, 2014
I enjoy helping younger kids better themselves as a person and as an athlete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job for parents with child-care dilemmas
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Leesburg, VAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, great work environment
Cons: as a bus driver, my ability to provide adequate support was extremely limited due to the scope of my job description
LCPS was a wonderful work experience. I enjoyed interacting with the children on a daily basis. Many times I was acting as a counselor to these children. Observing behavior, mood, watching for changes, listening to children when they wanted to talk. If further action was warranted, I began the process by notifying the appropriate personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory workplace
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Leesburg, VAJanuary 4, 2014
Enjoyed working with a variety of students. Curriculum is both challenging and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coaching
Coach (Current Employee), South Riding, VADecember 8, 2013
Program Planning
Provide Guidance
Mentorship

Currently working as a Fall Cheerleading coach for Freedom High School Competitive Cheerleading Program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive experience
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Ashburn, vaNovember 11, 2013
I enjoyed working with students, motivating them to learn and to master important skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first year had a good tome.
Cafeteria Host (Former Employee), Sterling, VASeptember 20, 2013
Pros: wonderful getting to know different cultures
Cons: needed more hours
I enjoyed being with all the children in the cafeteria. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of my job was knowing that this would be the only good meal that some of the children would get that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HVAC MECHANIC II (Current Employee), Leesburg, VASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: co-workers and benefits
Cons: safety concerns
Have been with this company for 28 years. No room for advancement. Co-workers are excellent; however, management has changed.