Find companies:
Louis Berger Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Louis Berger Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and productive
Government Liaison Officer (Former Employee), No free lunchMarch 10, 2014
Coordination with the relevant agencies was a busy and useful task, attending the meetings could improve my knowledge, coordination with high level government people made me to have a close relation in the society the most enjoyable task was working in a small team all together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Contract Management (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 15, 2014
A good place to work, challenging and enjoyable, with a broad scope of expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning and productive
Site & QA/QC Engineer (Former Employee), HilmandJanuary 9, 2014
i have started with Louis Berger Group and learned more at my starting period and later joined again for designer and senior project engineer positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult and challenging work environment that requires endurance and patience
Archaeological Field Technician II (Former Employee), Morristown, NJOctober 4, 2013
Pros: visit remote places, find artifacts that are sometimes thousands of years old, good field crew that have a decent sense of humor, experience with mapping devices and wilderness navigation
Cons: very short notice on work opportunities, work may be very forthcoming for a while then dry up suddenly, disconnect between those in the field and those making decisions in the corporate office, occasional hellish conditions that require great patience / endurance
My work at Louis Berger has largely been survey and excavation archaeology. Many times we work in poor weather conditions (extreme heat or cold) with few breaks and difficult tasks. On some projects we worked many long hours and hiked over six or seven miles with our equipment (shovels, screens, backpacks and supplies) in tow.

I have learned many skills – more... from this job, including excavation techniques such as setting up test-units, wet-screening, and electronic survey (using mapping devices like GPS / Total Station to record sties, set-up excavation units, and prepare topo maps). The job, because of the difficult conditions, has also taught me endurance, patience, and the value of a good sense of humor.

The hardest part of this job is uncertainty. As a contract worker, I am not always working and may be called out on very short notice. I may find out about a project two days before I need to drive fourteen hours to get there. Also, because of the corporate nature of Louis Berger, those of us in the field are that the mercy of poor decisions and agreements about projects made in an office without any regard to actual field conditions. This can be frustrating and can cause major problems for those of us in the field on a project.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I am able to see out-of-the-way places that others do not get to see often. Sometimes it is extremely nice to hike to the top of a remote mountain ridge or be out
in the middle of nowhere. It's also nice to find useful archaeological objects (stone points, pottery, etc.) on these projects. We don't always find things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth opportunity
CAD Technician (Former Employee), Florham Park, NJSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: compensation growth
Cons: too many chiefs to satisfy them all.
This company gets plenty of work worldwide and when they need your help you will be hired immediately. I recall I started on a Saturday to help out on a project. The only negative when they do not need you as much you will be placed on part-time immediately as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and team work.
NGO Coordinator (Current Employee), baghdad. IraqAugust 30, 2013
Cons: saturday is a workday
It's a continuous follow up job. We have to stay on top of communication with our partners(NGOs) we have to monitor closely all the contractual items by scheduled and unscheduled site visits and monitoring the financial side of the grant along with the milestones.
Nothing is hard in this job as long as you are organized and prioritizing your duties – more... to meet the deadlines.

The enjoyable part is when we have the partners meetings and meet all our partners and show our progress together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was interesting
Logistics Assistant (Former Employee), NJJuly 18, 2013
Pros: never a dull day
Cons: it was different
It was interesting. Never a dull day. Fast pace. Always on the run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I chose not to seek a position with them after the project was over.
Archaeologist VI (Former Employee), Albany, NYDecember 3, 2012
Cons: too many to count
I would not work for them again. Their supervisory personnel were not well organized for the project that I was hired to work on. Their most seasoned archaeologist was counting the days to retirement from the company, and was not shy about sharing the things he would not miss about its culture and business practices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company strongly recovering after legal problems
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 13, 2012
Pros: staff development activities
Cons: coming back from management lapses of years ago
Business development required us to figure out the company capacity would be as part of responses to RFPs. It was a good team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, field work and responsibility
Monitoring and Evaluation Coordinator (Former Employee), Iraq, BaghdadOctober 27, 2012
Pros: working for the us goverment
Cons: nun
Working for USAID - LBG was amazing, i had a great time over there and made a lot of friends and learned a lot as well.
My working Skills had amazingly improved there and i got promoted twice, My Management over there were the best ever in every way...
out in the field and working with the USA Army was the greatest part, my Military Manager was my Mentor, – more... Friend and a big brother – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, demanding work schedules in hostile environments filled with challenges.
Area Manager - IRAQ (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: benefits
Overall company is developing many of its support organizations thus typical benefit structures leave much to be desired.

Daily work consisted of direct communications with clients and corporate management. Corporate management functions and support were impeded by time differentials (USA vs. Central Asia) and this made for slow response to urgent – more... needs.

My co-workers were very dependable and efficient however dependent upon me with regards to their individual needs including benefits explanations, ect.

Difficulties with job functions were not apparent however working with multiple personalities was a challenge.

The most enjoyable portion of my job was watching employees grow and their success's as they advanced through the ranks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xoxo
Project Manager (Current Employee), JapanJune 9, 2012
Pros: learning
Cons: contractor
• Accountable to insure implementation of multiple projects from design through to construction.
• Key stakeholder communication and alignment, to ensure design and construction requirements are in place.
• Utilize United Facilities Criteria to ensure projects are compliant with military standards.
• Liaison between management, end user, design and – more... construction team.
• Management of change while balancing conflicting priorities and requirements assuring projects move forward for on-time, on-budget completion.
• Prepare commission procedures and checklists to ensure all aspects of the construction is completed and ready for commissioning.
• Prepare and implement progress reports to track the progress of the overall projects against the base plan including cost and schedule.
• Provide leadership and set expectations for the field execution of the project to ensure the facilities are constructed without incident.
• Manage engineering professionals to deliver design packages, technical specifications, and all other requirements expected from the client.
• Proven experience leading and communicating with a cross-functional teams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Louis Berger Group is managed of agribusiness programs, $340 million USAID funded
Deputy Finance Manager (Former Employee), OverseasMay 8, 2012
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
 Fully responsible and charge of overseeing all accounts payable and subcontracts and Grants, Reviewing monthly payroll disbursement, Cost accounts for the projects, preparing weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual grants reports and also projects list, Examine all the expense reports for expats and local national staff especially fields staff (transportations, – more... lodging, per Diem …etc.) and supervise finance Dep. When Finance Manager out of office – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soma enterprises ltd. is a fast growing organisation
J.E Structure (Current Employee), KarnalApril 2, 2012
Soma is a leading infrastructure company having rupees 4500 cr turnover. It has a lot of projects throughout india running successfully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very learning work environment
Principal Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Baghdad-IraqMarch 15, 2012
with a lot of challenges in Middle east Area , with a culture mix and more security obstructive , we made our goal by accelerate and develop the Iraqi Agriculture sector of Iraq
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good firm with great technical expertise in design.
Assistant Manager (Structures) (Current Employee), Gurgaon, HarayanaMarch 2, 2013
Pros: good work environment and support for work
Cons: less frequent additional training programs or seminars on various projects.
A typical day can start with the work with design and various other requirements of the project. Lunch provided by the company at nominal cost with weekends off.