Find companies:
Louisiana State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Louisiana State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment
Chief of Police Dir Emergency Operations (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, training
Cons: personnel shortages lack of state funding
LSU is an awesome place to work. Faculty and staff work closely to attain goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Student Teacher (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: students were cooperative
Cons: too many students in each class
A typical day at work would be preparing to student teach three different level English classes (five classes in all) and teaching approximately 36 students in each class. I learned to manage my time and students effectively. Other teachers were very helpful in helping me with any problems I had. The most difficult part of the job was grading about – more... 180 papers each week. The most enjoyable part of the job was preparing and carrying out lesson plans that the students enjoyed and learned from. An example would be preparing students to act out scenes from a Shakespearian play. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Research Associate III (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 17, 2014
New beautiful building.
You may see movie stars.
Need better core facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOC environment
Network Analyst / Helpdesk Operator (NOC) (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 7, 2014
I worked nights, which was very demanding on your sleep cycle. I typically am a morning person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Communication Technician (Current Employee), David BoydJune 6, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about the communication system in the university
Cons: low salary
Learned how the communication system in the university worked and how to troubleshoot different problems i was encountered with. I had the opportunity to teach other co-workers who were just starting how to troubleshoot or approach different given situations. The hardest part of the job sometimes was whenever an solution to a problem couldn't be encountered – more... and i had to come up with a untypical solution or knowing what to do next, even though it could have been hard it was a challenge which made it enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on what you do
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 26, 2014
it's a university so your experiences depend on what you do and who you work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is football, football, football. It gets rather tedious and it's obvious that the football program is where all the money goes.
Strategy Tutor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 21, 2014
Cons: campus is nice, but is showing lots of wear and tear.
Lots of hype. Football rules the kingdom. Everything else is mediocre. It's Penn State of the South. It's not for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to "wear many hats"
Psychology Associate (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 17, 2014
I had the opportunity to work with community clients and students. I conducted interviews, evaluations, performed scoring and interpretation, and provided verbal and written feedback, as well as treatment recommendations. My co-workers and I often brainstormed ideas and offered support to one another as needed. The hardest part of the job was motivating – more... counseling clients to follow interventions. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of responsibilities I was given. The hours spent working in addition to class time kept me interested and on my toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to find help in my department, good facility, good working attitude, many opportunity to meet professionals
Graduate research assistant (Former Employee), life sciences buildingMay 7, 2014
Pros: helpful and resourceful faculties
Cons: classes are a little overwhelming
Every day at work is fulfilled with lab work and some day you need to keep reading at home.

I learned most of my molecular genetic and genomics and classic plant pathology knowledge during five and half years in my department.

Management is organized and efficient.

Co-workers are very helpful and resourceful.

Hardest part is the language for me, – more... as a foreigner, I am not expressive enough.

Most enjoyable part is the time we saw result from experiments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly faces, busy workplace
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 25, 2014
My day at LSU worked around my class schedule so hours were flexible. I was able to use my talents as a designer to promote the Center for Academic Success. I publicized student and faculty events, tutoring sessions and workshops. As I got my Masters in graphic design I was able to continue my career and better my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advising
Graduate Assistant Academic Advising (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 23, 2014
Very good; Good work life balance; 8-5. Personal Growth. Work with students to help them grown and develop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, but not great
Unclassified Staff Member (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 19, 2014
LSU faces many challenges: legislative budgets, institutional reorganization, employee disgruntlement, etc.

LSU has the potential to be an ideal workplace, but organizational disgruntlement often overshadows the positives. Faculty, staff, and students sometimes behave as entitled two year-olds, unable to compromise and achieve a satisfying result for – more... all involved. The benefits are good, especially the health insurance, but the legislatively mandated retirement contributions skew too heavily in the favor of the organization, rather than the personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall acceptable workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: alone, boring
I spent most of my time alone at the front of the store. There was always something to do, though. If there were no customers there was generally stocking, cleaning, or stickers to pull. It was a good starter job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 23, 2014
Great job with amazing flexibility. Adequate pay and benefits. Supervisors were great and I learned a lot at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member and Leader in Senior Design Project
Team Member (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: reliable and resourceful resources from professors, hard working team members
Cons: limited time being present together being full time students and part-time employees but manageable
- Order materials
- Maintain documents
- Manage budget
- Brainstorm ideas with a group of 3
- Call services to obtain record data of location
- Dig, plant, and water the reeds
- Used AutoCad and Inventor to draw make up of project
- Presenting to professors and peers
- Answered questions during and after presentation of project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Dr. James Gilmore Jr (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 4, 2014
First "job" as a volunteer for an economic development group for Baton Rouge. Learned a lot about city politics and what the needs of the lower income areas were.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment with emphasis on student development
Coordinator, Fitness and Wellness (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 28, 2014
At my current position at LSU University Recreation, it is very versatile in terms of day to day operations. Every day is different therefore have learned many transferable skills. As Coordinator, Fitness & Wellness I have broadened my skills in conflict management, scheduling, staff management, marketing, business administration, human resources, special – more... events, customer service, program coordination, assessment, and more. I enjoy having the opportunity to manage a great student staff of approximately 45 and develop them as students and future professionals. I have a passion for helping others and that is what I love about my position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as an orientation leader
Parent Orientation Leader (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 23, 2014
Working with students and parents are both very rewarding and challenging. You learn that aligning with students and their parents is really all they desire from you. It is awesome to be able to share your passion for LSU with new students and their parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Lives
Recruiting Operations Officer (Current Employee), Lafayette, LAJanuary 21, 2014
I have the ability to shape and change lives on a daily basis. Working with a team we help guide and direct with exceptional leadership skills future officers of tomorrows military.

Through interviewing, mentoring, leading, retaining we continue to see great progress in todays future for tomorrow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Full time Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Bolton High SchoolJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: good job to get you on your feet
Cons: no stability
Pay is good, job is okay if you enjoy working with children on a day to day basis.

1 2 3 4