Find companies:
Louisiana State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

Louisiana State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student friendly environment, great place to work and learn.
Finance Tutor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 4, 2014
Provided tutoring services in a diligent manner to foreign students in different subjects including: Finance, Accounting, Mathematics, and Spanish
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research in computer science
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 3, 2014
Good. The computer science department is growing fast and have a strong research capability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun student work environment
Student Journalist (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 2, 2014
I worked in student media for the majority of my college experience, and the balance of work and class was manageable for me. I gained valuable experience from my time in student media and countless friends. It opened many doors for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 24, 2014
Beautiful campus, full of activities, good research and laboratory facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best workplace in Baton Rouge!
Food Prep (overnight) (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 22, 2014
LSU Dining is a fun environment when interacting with students and faculty/staff. I would recommend working at LSU once again to have better pay and a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work in
Telephone Survey Researcher (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 12, 2014
I really enjoyed my time with the company while i was employed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment
Chief of Police Dir Emergency Operations (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, training
Cons: personnel shortages lack of state funding
LSU is an awesome place to work. Faculty and staff work closely to attain goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Student Teacher (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: students were cooperative
Cons: too many students in each class
A typical day at work would be preparing to student teach three different level English classes (five classes in all) and teaching approximately 36 students in each class. I learned to manage my time and students effectively. Other teachers were very helpful in helping me with any problems I had. The most difficult part of the job was grading about – more... 180 papers each week. The most enjoyable part of the job was preparing and carrying out lesson plans that the students enjoyed and learned from. An example would be preparing students to act out scenes from a Shakespearian play. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Research Associate III (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 17, 2014
New beautiful building.
You may see movie stars.
Need better core facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOC environment
Network Analyst / Helpdesk Operator (NOC) (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 7, 2014
I worked nights, which was very demanding on your sleep cycle. I typically am a morning person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Communication Technician (Current Employee), David BoydJune 6, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about the communication system in the university
Cons: low salary
Learned how the communication system in the university worked and how to troubleshoot different problems i was encountered with. I had the opportunity to teach other co-workers who were just starting how to troubleshoot or approach different given situations. The hardest part of the job sometimes was whenever an solution to a problem couldn't be encountered – more... and i had to come up with a untypical solution or knowing what to do next, even though it could have been hard it was a challenge which made it enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work place
Custodian2 /lite moible equiment opp.1 (Former Employee), shreveport,laMay 27, 2014
cause everybody trying to be the boss
no pay raises
people trying to fight you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on what you do
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 26, 2014
it's a university so your experiences depend on what you do and who you work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is football, football, football. It gets rather tedious and it's obvious that the football program is where all the money goes.
Strategy Tutor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 21, 2014
Cons: campus is nice, but is showing lots of wear and tear.
Lots of hype. Football rules the kingdom. Everything else is mediocre. It's Penn State of the South. It's not for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to "wear many hats"
Psychology Associate (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 17, 2014
I had the opportunity to work with community clients and students. I conducted interviews, evaluations, performed scoring and interpretation, and provided verbal and written feedback, as well as treatment recommendations. My co-workers and I often brainstormed ideas and offered support to one another as needed. The hardest part of the job was motivating – more... counseling clients to follow interventions. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of responsibilities I was given. The hours spent working in addition to class time kept me interested and on my toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to find help in my department, good facility, good working attitude, many opportunity to meet professionals
Graduate research assistant (Former Employee), life sciences buildingMay 7, 2014
Pros: helpful and resourceful faculties
Cons: classes are a little overwhelming
Every day at work is fulfilled with lab work and some day you need to keep reading at home.

I learned most of my molecular genetic and genomics and classic plant pathology knowledge during five and half years in my department.

Management is organized and efficient.

Co-workers are very helpful and resourceful.

Hardest part is the language for me, – more... as a foreigner, I am not expressive enough.

Most enjoyable part is the time we saw result from experiments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly faces, busy workplace
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 25, 2014
My day at LSU worked around my class schedule so hours were flexible. I was able to use my talents as a designer to promote the Center for Academic Success. I publicized student and faculty events, tutoring sessions and workshops. As I got my Masters in graphic design I was able to continue my career and better my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advising
Graduate Assistant Academic Advising (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 23, 2014
Very good; Good work life balance; 8-5. Personal Growth. Work with students to help them grown and develop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, but not great
Unclassified Staff Member (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 19, 2014
LSU faces many challenges: legislative budgets, institutional reorganization, employee disgruntlement, etc.

LSU has the potential to be an ideal workplace, but organizational disgruntlement often overshadows the positives. Faculty, staff, and students sometimes behave as entitled two year-olds, unable to compromise and achieve a satisfying result for – more... all involved. The benefits are good, especially the health insurance, but the legislatively mandated retirement contributions skew too heavily in the favor of the organization, rather than the personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall acceptable workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: alone, boring
I spent most of my time alone at the front of the store. There was always something to do, though. If there were no customers there was generally stocking, cleaning, or stickers to pull. It was a good starter job.

1 2 3 4