Louisiana State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 129 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 15, 2015
• Accountable for resolution management, inventory assessment and customer relations.
• Performed data entry and managed incoming phone calls and messages.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  baton rouge, LAJanuary 10, 2015
my mentor was not there most of the time. I found it difficult to determine what i was actually supposed to do. she pawned me off on her graduate students who also had no idea what i was supposed to be working on. i would spend most of my time attempting to work on my project, going to her office for her only for her to be busy and come back several times to eventually just have found that she had left without ever giving me the chance to talk with her
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people...
Office of Student Advocacy and Accountability (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 8, 2015
Great place to work, people are great and there are lots of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive at customer service
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 7, 2015
• Managed carts to ensure stored properly in cart dispenser
• Assisted travelers with luggage who utilized the SmartCarte carts
• Maintained neat and clean carts
• Inspected carts to ensure working properly by identifying defects
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning atomsphere
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LADecember 9, 2014
Quantitative analysis on chemical compounds by GC and HPLC
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Internal Medicine Residency (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LADecember 5, 2014
Diverse patient population. Heavy work load. It is good teaching facility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Place
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 29, 2014
Office rooms are new and nice. Your supervisors and co-workers are very academic. They are very nice but also very busy working on other projects. You will need to finish your work independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Job
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 19, 2014
Now I understand why some people are so critical of state agencies and their business practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University, excellen colleagues
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 12, 2014
My responsibilities include providing research material and grading assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice tearcher and nice student
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 27, 2014
Provide great opportunities to learn practical things. Some task may challenge but very interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with self managed real estate
Student (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 17, 2014
I managed a 20 unit apartment complex successfully, and even went on to purchase and manage my own 4-plex rental property in Baton Rouge.
Pros
great opportunity for equity milling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice office and very interesting work in horticulture.
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Jefferson Parish, LAOctober 7, 2014
I answered the phone for many of the agents (4-H, Nutrition, Home education, marine life, etc) I kept up with brouchers for all departments and kept the files for audio/visual equipment. The best part of the job was the Botanical garden show every year. I also liked keeping records and communicating with all of the garden clubs of the area. Creating a Horticulture News Letter quarterly was quite a job due to coordinating the local agents input into a state wide sample letter.
Pros
communicating with master gardeners, garden clubs and nola botanical gardens.
Cons
that newsletter was difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with flexibility and great opportunities
Associate Dean Assistant/Writer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 6, 2014
An excellent opportunity for a graduate assistant looking to build opportunity and gain relevant work experience. My supervisors were the best!
Pros
free lunches, schedule flexibility, professional, supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time for a student representative
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 26, 2014
I was a student rep for the Block on campus owned by CWS. It was a great work environment. I developed marketing, sales and leadership skills working there. We hosted many social events and it was hard but rewarding work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Undergraduate Student (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge,LASeptember 11, 2014
Overall great staff and in particular the engineering program is impressive
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student friendly environment, great place to work and learn.
Finance Tutor (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 4, 2014
Provided tutoring services in a diligent manner to foreign students in different subjects including: Finance, Accounting, Mathematics, and Spanish
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research in computer science
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 3, 2014
Good. The computer science department is growing fast and have a strong research capability.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun student work environment
Student Journalist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 2, 2014
I worked in student media for the majority of my college experience, and the balance of work and class was manageable for me. I gained valuable experience from my time in student media and countless friends. It opened many doors for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 24, 2014
Beautiful campus, full of activities, good research and laboratory facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best workplace in Baton Rouge!
Food Prep (overnight) (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 22, 2014
LSU Dining is a fun environment when interacting with students and faculty/staff. I would recommend working at LSU once again to have better pay and a great environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 129 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture