Find companies:
LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work for
Gas Cashier (Former Employee), BarstowApril 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: management, brakes, lots of gossip, very dirty
The company is horrible I was there for a bit and they just end up using you for everything you have! Schedules are always changing and if you make someone mad then you get punished my the amount of hours you get, Had to work off the clock to get things done, NEVER get ur brakes unless your friends with management and smoke with them... Very very dirty – more... will never eat or buy anything from this place again! I don't know how they have the health code they have?!? Never get help from management on tasks that need to be completed. Very rude people to work for! Women can not go far in this company... Men run the whole company and they talk more gossip then a teenage girl! They go on business trips to just get wasted then brag about it... Management such as GM's, DM's and everyone higher then them are completely rude that think they know everything and make you feel like a complete moron. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced work place
Cashier/ Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Anna, TXFebruary 23, 2014
The typical day is filled with meeting new people, traveling from all over and providing them with excellent customer service. I learned a lot about dealing with people when working here, management was good, the co-workers were all cool and relaxed, the hardest part of the job were long days where we may have been short handed but the best part was – more... being in a small town where people appreciated the fact that you remembered their preferences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benifits and profit sharing plan
Tire Care Manager (Former Employee), Cleveland txFebruary 21, 2014
Every aspect of the facility is properly mapped out help if needed always around the corner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay place to work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), thomson gaJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: 50% all meals
Cons: management
Not family oriented. Received lots of experience in management.
Management is okay. Co-worker are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job
Diesel Clerk, Cashier (Former Employee), North Baltimore, OHJanuary 10, 2014
typical day at loves cleaning, cleaning , and more cleaning. If yours leaning you should be cleaning.
What I learned , some great story's from the semi drivers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Arby's Shift Leader (Former Employee), North Baltimore, OHDecember 18, 2013
Pros: laid back environment, easy tasks, raises
Cons: management can be too laid back
Working at Love's Travel Stops can be very fun and rewarding. The employees and managers are laid back and fun to work with. You can be very independent and are trusted to complete your daily tasks at your own pace. Everyone works together well and the customers can be fun to work with too. You get raises often and other rewards for completing various – more... goals. One downfall though is that the managers can tend to pick favorites and sometimes they are hard enough on some of the employees but overall a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail, very fast paced
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Thomson, GASeptember 25, 2013
Doing initial store walk to determine the status/condition before I took control of the shift. Very fast pace.. I learned a lot about the ordering process and controlling the inventory compared to other operations that have headquarters doing all the ordering. My counterpart was very helpful and the managers worked together as a team. The hardest part – more... of the job was the work/life balance. I enjoyed going to work because everyday presented a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Tire Tech Shift Leader (Former Employee), Fernley, nvSeptember 20, 2013
Cons: everything
This store had to be among the most disrespectful, lazy, disgusting places I've ever been. And I've been to Iraq and Afghanistan. no one would ever clean the showers or restrooms unless the GM was there. Managers would spend most of their time hiding in the office, not to help anyone with anything unless they absolutely had no choice but to do so. Techs – more... had countless hours of unpaid overtime. Cashiers are under trained and under paid, the tire techs have to do the job of the cashiers, clean the showers/restrooms, do all the plumbing, paint EVERYTHING on the property, maintenance in the store, on the pumps, in the restaurant AND do the job of a tire tech(in the real world, these people would be getting paid AT LEAST $15 hour) and they get started out at $10 hour. You couldn't trust ANYONE that works there because they're ALL two-faced people that are only there to get themselves ahead and couldn't care less about the next person. People were callin in sick cuz they had a hangover or they had a slight stomach ache OR they just didn't feel like working that day. I broke my back for over 2 years working there as a slave, thinking it would get better. I NEVER once called in sick, only missed one day for a family emergency. I FINILY had a day that I was feeling like absolute garbage. Everything was done for the night so I talked it over with the other tech on shift and we decided that I should go home(2hours early) I get a call the next day........"Turn in your %@#$, you're fired" Really?! That's how they treat their employees at love's??? If you're thinking about working at this place, I strongly advise you to choose another career path. you will only regret it.

Signed,
Prior Tire Tech From Store 246 in Fernley, NV. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Upper Management
Tire Care Manager/Facilities Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Pittsboro, INSeptember 19, 2013
Cons: horrendous vp of operations, terrible upper management all around
Everyone at the store was awesome, the upper management was absolutely horrible. The level of micromanagement is unreal. Hourly employee's aren't supposed to work overtime, the manager is supposed to fill all vacant shifts. You still get yelled at for working 100+ hour weeks if your extremely short staffed and anything falls behind at all. They don't – more... offer help, just yell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job ever
TC manager (Former Employee), Ina,ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: not many
Cons: upper level amangement was terrible
The whole concept of Loves is awesome and I feel the corporate level folks had great intentions. I was lied to from every level. My TCDM was the worst and would tell you what you wanted to hear. After 5 weeks of 90+ hours I decided it was time to go. Hourly employees don't work overtime, I was expected to. GM of store was a complete jerk that just wanted – more... to stand in your face and cuss like a spoiled kid. If the location I was at had been managed better by GM,DM and Tire Care DM, it would have been a great place. Their inability to do their job made this a horrible location to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Restaurant Shift Leader (Former Employee), Tucumcari, NMAugust 24, 2013
Pros: people, hours, pay
Cons: scheduling, favoritism, management
The best part about this job was the people. I learned how to not be afraid to talk to people, and I can now talk in front of a group of people with out being scared
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
General Maintenance/Tire Technician (Former Employee), Falkville, ALAugust 21, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: pay wasnt great
I was nearly fired over 2 hours of over time. they expected us to stay and work off the clock!! i'll never work for a company like this
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for truckers and customers
Crew Member for Subway (Former Employee), Pueblo COAugust 16, 2013
Pros: great boss
Great place to work for. I enjoyed Working for Mario he was a great boss i look foward to working here again if given the chance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different than their stated pledge
General Manager (Former Employee), Roscoe, ILAugust 7, 2013
Pros: meeting new customers everyday
Cons: being used by upper management and a crappie v.p. of operation, and many two faced dm's and directors.
Management team is used like a dirty towel. Great hourly team members!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst training ever, poor management
former employee (Current Employee), #349 Yuma azAugust 3, 2013
Pros: fast paced.
Cons: no lunch, no raises, no overtime is paid, gm cheats inventory to get bonuses
typical day at work consists or general manager talking gossip about others causing conflicts between employees. very fast paced job with little help.

this company has not taught me much ive to learn everything pretty much on my own, the GM just throws you in blind.

The upper management is the worst, GM makes you feel if you were less than him like – more... a piece of garbage. NO training what so ever. absolutely no help from him at all! treats all his hard workers very poorly demeaning all Hispanics, there is a lot favoritism in store #349 Yuma az, the company states open door policy however that's not the case, upper management will not keep confidentially spread gossip like no joke! worst company ever!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced and very driven work environment, promotes leadership and strong work ethic.
Gas-Diesel Cashier/Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Chouteau, OKJuly 27, 2013
Pros: family atmosphere, good benefits
Cons: micro-managing
-Depending on the day of the week determines what my daily duties are. I work as a maintenance technician 3 days/week, a gas-diesel cashier 2 days/week, and also work inventory of personal assigned sections daily.
-The management has been fantastic the past two years I've spent with Love's. I have had three different GM (one of which I trained) who – more... have all gone above and beyond to promote high moral.
-My co-workers have become my family. Our store side has a very low turn-over rate so we spend an abundant amount of time together.
-The hardest part is keeping up with the very high standards that our company has in place.
-The most enjoyable part about it is becoming close to your customers; after a period of time of time you become friends with them, it never hurts your day have the opportunity of seeing a friendly face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NmJuly 22, 2013
I loved working here, at times it was annoying and frustrating, but the people become like family here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Director of Field HR (Former Employee), oklahoma city, okJuly 22, 2013
I enjoyed the people I worked with. Everyone was focused on the same goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Troy, TxMay 30, 2013
customer service, receiving, trendar, register and keeping 200.00 at all times in my safe and cash deposit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company. Poor management.
Diesel Cashier (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOMay 24, 2013
Pros: heathcare, paid vacation, good hours
Cons: poor management
Love's as a company was wonderful to work for. They had amazing benefits and is a very well organized company. The management team at store 235 on the other hand runs the store very poorly. The GM is rude, unorganized, and has terrible communication skills. Managers would never have your back if having a conflict with a customer. (For example if the – more... driver needed to be charged a fee for a cash advance, managers would just let drivers cash any amount with no fees.) Managers also do not enforce company policies equally among each employee, and does not hold each individual employee accountable for their actions. If an employee has a issue, with other co-workers or equipment for the job, GM just ignores problem and does not look into the situation or help resolve the issue. – less

About LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES

At Love's, our people have been the key to our success since our founding more than 45 years ago. During that time, we have grown – Read more

LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES Photos