Find companies:
LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: met many people from several states
Cons: limited hours
Loved working for the company and customers were fun, loved having the chance to meet truck drivers and their families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible & Horrible
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond Hill Ford Aveneue GAJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything
I was never train for Diesel only Gas. But had to leave my gas register to clean the diesel showers cause shift manager & diesel cashier were too lazy to do so. 7,25$hr Cashier. Clean bathrooms, play room, deli area, backroom, cooler, changer the trash at the pumps Gas & Diesel. restock cooler, do inventory sign in vendors everything that management – more... and other people are supposed to do. u do. If u were good with the manager or worked there for a long time got treated better. if u new u everybodys B also no chance of advancement ..... worst job ever 7,25 aint worth it for all the dutys u have to do & all the attitudes u have to take from different ppl ( mainly managers & shift managers. not worth it. Manager also stole money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Arby's Line Cook (Former Employee), Green, ORDecember 27, 2012
Its a place you work if you need a job, what you make of it is what you get out of it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of flexibility and good benefits available for FT.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 7, 2012
Pros: ability to make own schedule, workout room, ticket giveaways
Cons: it was a small department, so it was impossible to get help with some things.
This was a great place to work because of the flexibility of my schedule. Most people in operations can work their eight hours whenever they want to in the day. If you want to be home when your kid gets home, you can be. You just go into work earlier. There are nice perks, too- there is a workout room on site and they give away tickets to sporting and – more... arts events pretty much every week. The benefits for FT employees are excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Cashier (Former Employee), Jackson, GAOctober 30, 2012
Pros: pros?
Cons: better not want to be apriciated.
Not even worth the time. Management is terrible with the exception of one lady. They never want to help in anyway. Their thought is if you are management then you are allowed to just push the crew employees around. No matter how often you clean the bathrooms it's never enough. You can work to exhaustion the whole time your there and they will still – more... find the one little thing that wasn't done correctly because you had no help the whole time. Pretty much over all it's not even worth the time as a get by job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work!
Cashier (Former Employee), Comfort, TexasOctober 23, 2012
Pros: customers
Cons: heavy work load for little pay, not enough people staffed, managers were there only when it was convenient for them
I worked here for a couple months. I absolutely hated working there! I was left on the "gas side" by myself 90% of the time. If I had to use the bathroom it would take someone forever to come cover so I could. When they did come to cover they would rush me. The managers were nice but when it came to needing help, they weren't there. My co workers were – more... amazing and just as miserable as I was. They never had enough people working in a night. The gas pumps always went down and it made it unbearable with the customers yelling at you for something that wasn't your fault and the managers... weren't there to help with the mad customers.
The only thing enjoyable about working here was the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BIG PROMISES.....little Delivery
Marketing Manager (Former Employee), TennesseeOctober 22, 2012
The ABSOLUTE WORST DM I have ever worked for in my entire life. He is 28 years old with absolutely no concept on proper employee relations. While they compensate well, you are nothing more than a workhorse and most of the time you are treated as such
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company/ Small Benefits for Employees
Store Shift Leader (Former Employee), ILOctober 16, 2012
Pros: 4 day work week
Cons: no breaks, poor pay
I worked at Loves for 1 1/2 years. I can honestly say I loved what I did but I did not like how the store was ran. Poor Management was a problem. I was stuck training new Managers and I was only a shift leader. They got promoted and moved to new stores and I got nothing..... Worked 42+ hours a week and was making less than others....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work vs. Home
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Whitestown, IndianaOctober 2, 2012
Pros: good customer service
Cons: no communication or respect for the family
It would usually be busy there, but being a shift lead was hard. I liked working there, but if someone on the following shift would not come in; I had to stay. There were times when I was working a fifteen hour shift and then had to turn around and come in eight hours later. The store manager would not come in when I needed him nor would he come in – more... on the weekends. I was only getting paid to be a shift lead when I was doing the job of a Marketing Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loves
Crew Member (Former Employee), Barstow, CAOctober 1, 2012
worked for loves for three years was alright at first then got stressful but what job doesn't met alot of good people and worked with real hard workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there for 9 days. It was horrible and filthy.
Asst. manager (Former Employee), ShephersdsvilleSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: free soft drinks
Cons: everything, food safty!!:(
This place has no training procedure in place. Extremely under staffed and under managed, people who do work there tend to play or do What they want. Very poor customer service poor cleaning efforts and food safety issues. Managers over worked with NO breaks what so ever. I would never eat at this place.
If you are considering this job I would highly – more... suggest that you do a shadow shift and get a real look at how bad things are. Everyday I worked there were call offs and employee issues. The manager pay is very mis leading. Don't fool yourself and stay at your current job:( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment! More that "Just a Truck Stop!"
Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Ina, ILSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: 4 day workweek, benefits and bonuses
Cons: extra days, extra hrs and no bench for call-ins youre it
A quick drive around the store, quick check of the pumps and lot and then a quick quick of the cooler and restrooms starts everday! Then a shift change and some reports to review and then the entire rest of the shift is hustle hustle hustle! In a good way though. Restock cooler and shelves and work any freight that came in help cashier, check laundry – more... help cashier. Help maintenance with showers help cashiers, run a break run a report work somw freight and help a cashier. check bathrooms and cooler help cashier check lot and pumps and trash cans then help cashier. Run lunches and make sure maint. is caught up then check bathrooms and cooler and help cashiers. Restock cooler check laundry and showers then help cashiers. There is a pattern here if you didn't notice, but it helps to pass time and helps eith overall customer perception. I learned how to be patient all over agian. Someone always needs your help as a manager and sometimes your help is actually needed. I learned that people very much responded better to me once I showed them I do everything I ask of them and I am thankful that they are there to help me. The managment was not the best in the world when I was there but I was fortunate enough to have good districk and divisional managers which did get things under control after a little while. My coworkers were another manager and several FT employees. Some were good some great and some needed a lot of mentoring and training. Hardest part was dealing with call-ins that the store manager did nothing about. Ten hour shifts turned into 20 hours and several times 24 hrs. And the surprise visits that came on you day off, you might have plans with the family but if they want ya there and you don't come in then you aren't a team player which was reflected in you review. I didn't like those terms but I was available to come in for almost all visits. The most enjoyable part of the job was the extreme turnover of products. All of my retail experience upto that point had been in big box retail and medium box retail managment. sometimes I would have a feature produce for two weeks before I even thought about taking it down and sometimes a month. at Loves a weekend was really pushing the life of a strong feature. Sales moved that fast! I took me a little while longer than it should have to grasp that idea. I can remember changes 4-5 encaps per shift everyday during the holiday season and that sometimes still wasn't good enough. Never a dull momment. And the bonuses were nice too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad work environment
marketing manager (Former Employee), dwight, ilSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: half off food at hardees
Cons: short staffed, work ur a off
Employees call off almost every shift nothing ever done about it they just expect the manager to work over who has already worked 12hrs. Never enough people working except first shift when general manager there. Sad for a company with so much money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and very clean work environment.
Shift leader (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHAugust 27, 2012
I loved working here, the management team was very helpful and friendly. A typical day at work I would get to work, write down what needed to be done while I was there. My co workers were friendly and we got along good. The hardest part was to learn how to close and make sure everything was done before I leave at night. The most enjoyable was when everyone – more... brought food in for thanksgiving and we had a little feast of our own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Shift Manger (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 25, 2012
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: treat staff as slaves and do not hold the proper people accountable for thier action.
Friendly staff, and management was nice most of the time. This company expects so much from their help while others stand arround and bark orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Restaurant General Manager (Former Employee), Evergreen, ALAugust 9, 2012
Pros: you get to meet the owners quarterly and they remeber who you are.
Cons: not very competive with wages both hourly and salary.
Good place to work. I worked there for 5 years and enjoyed it most of the five years I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs help
Team Member (Current Employee), Dwight, ILJuly 28, 2012
There's a good job here, but the place is terribly understaffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total junk
Screwed (Former Employee), Heck FLJuly 22, 2012
Pros: pay check, customers
Cons: everything else
There is so much bad to say
In a nut shell if you are not related and party with the GM don't expect to get hired there. If you already work there will drive you to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Marlow, OKJuly 8, 2012
long hours
friendly
managment is great
people friendly
typical day is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible boss
peon (Current Employee), Barstow, CaMay 3, 2012
Pros: 1/2 off lunch in restraunt, medical and dental after 6 months
Cons: management, 1/2 hour lunches
Get yelled at for not doing someting the day before even though management assigned you a specific task to get done instead.

About LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES

At Love's, our people have been the key to our success since our founding more than 45 years ago. During that time, we have grown – Read more

LOVE'S TRAVEL STOPS & COUNTRY STORES Photos